We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and caring, top quality hotel - I'll definitely return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkhotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly and caring, top quality hotel - I'll definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

From the welcome at the station when I arrived to the personal farewell from the owner when I left, the staff at the Schoenegg really looked after me on my first solo walking holiday. Good advice on walks and the local weather, and a friendly welcome at all times, lovely clean rooms and top quality food, in a wonderful setting. I couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a balcony facing the Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRunningClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    61
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
133
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My wife, I and two friends spent 2 weeks at this unique hotel. It more than delivered on its claim to be a 3 star hotel with 4 star service. Its a third generation family hotel where the staff and guests seem part of the family. The head chef, head waiter and head porter have averaged 20 years service each and for them to want to stay and the owners to be able to keep them demonstrates how unusual this hotel is. Rooms are spacious and immacuately kept, The food is varied and of consistently high standard, there is a large modern swimming pool, most of the staff are multilingual, service has been turned into an art form, views and location are near perfect, and attention to tiny details makes the difference between very good and excellent.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardener41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

My husband, some friends and I had the pleasure of staying at the Parkhotel for a wedding in Grindelwald. It was by far our favorite place we stayed on our two week journey through Europe.

The facilities are most impressive: hot tub, wonderful pool, saunas. Room was comfy and bright, and the bathroom was very nice and spacious. The breakfast was delicious.

The location is perfect, situated right in the middle of town. A short walk to anything you need to go to, including hiking up the mountain, taking the gondola up, or going to restaurants right downtown (many are on the same block as hotel).

The view is absolutely STUNNING. It's what sold me on the hotel, and in person it is even more spectacular than you can imagine!

The owner was the friendliest, and he has the sweetest dog that kept us entertained while sipping drinks on the patio. Made us feel right at home.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat if I ever have the chance (and funds) to make it back to Grindelwald! I will never forget the beauty of this magical little place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julesofthenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The hotel is located a little bit off the center of the town but Grindelwald is a small town, so it takes 5-10 minutes to get to the town center and to the train. The hotel staff was very welcoming, very efficient and helpful. We stayed in room # 212 which is called a garden room. It looks like it was recently renovated, the room and everything inside looks brand new. Small cookies in the room were a nice welcome. The room is very nice, very clean, spacious, has a parquet floor, no air condition, two windows with a very nice view of the mountains and a garden. The room had closet, new flat TV, big desk+ big comfortable chair, bathrobes, and slippers. The bed is not one double bed but two single beds joined together with at least 1 cm gap between the mattresses, so it’s not comfortable for couples that like to sleep hugged, etc. The breakfast was very good, with breads, croissants, cheeses, meats, jams, fruit salad, eggs, butter, cereals, juices, hot beverages, and a wonderful mountain view from the dining room’s windows.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zvikahalevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We are all VERY LUCKY the Parkhotel Schoenegg exists in this day and age.

it is a TRULY FAMILY OWNED hotel for four generations. It has the BEST location in Grindelwald. it has the BEST views of the Eiger.

It has the BEST, definitely THE BEST, swimming pool - an astonishing stainless steel engineering feat with amazing views.

It has the BEST staff -- how does the family find so many fantastic staff? It has the BEST cleanliness - even by Swiss standards it is ridiculously clean.

The Schoenegg is fantastic value: it is actually "just" a three star hotel. If you want marble bathrooms, choose another hotel that will cost perhaps three times the price... The rooms are everyday ordinary three-star hotel rooms, perfect quality and perfectly maintained. However the PUBLIC areas are four-star all the way - fantastic.

This incredible combination gives you a really stupendous holiday, at an amazingly reasonable price for Switzerland.

Everything is genuinely built to last, which made me so happy in this era of throwaway franchise idiocy. The hotel has absolutely everything you need from a fine billiard room to a high quality outdoor ping pong table, every sort of sauna, etc etc.

Make sure you ask for the Eiger side if that view is important to you - don't forget it is usually foggy in the Alps anyway!

You are going to have a great holiday, we are all so lucky the Schoenegg exists! Plus you get to meet Tschingel the alpine dog.

Basically this is the reference three-star hotel -- small resort really -- completely family owned. Bravo!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

This hotel caters for a range of traveller, from singles, couples to families. The owners make every effort to ensure that you are happy with both your accommodation and your meals and staff are always happy to help with queries. The morning buffet breakfast has everything you might want to set you up for a day in the mountains. The evening meals offer five courses and are of a good standard. As a vegetarian, the main courses weren't terribly creative, but there was plenty to eat if I didn't fancy what was on offer. The swimming pool was big enough to swim lengths and the sauna/steam rooms were a great place to relax away from kids. The rooms are clean and our triple was quite spacious, with great views of the Eiger, with the only downside that soap and shampoo were not provided. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneTicipation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosforth Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

I've never found a hotel quite like this one - a wonderful welcome from the staff who will come and collect you and your luggage from the station, personal greeting from the owners, excellent accommodation albeit the hotel isn't the prettiest from outside - pink's not my colour! The food is varied and tasty, lots of small courses so not overfacing, and there's a very comfortable lounge with picture windows to watch the mountains from when you're not walking on them. I would go back more often if I could afford it, but try to go at least every second year. Nothing's too much trouble. Mel

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Schoenegg

Property: Parkhotel Schoenegg
Address: Dorfstrasse 161, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Parkhotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Schoenegg Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing