We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with generous hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkhotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel with generous hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked on the basis of excellentTrip Advisor reviews but even then the hotel exceeded our expectations. This family-run hotel is comfortably furnished, spotlessly clean throughout and beautifully decorated, with a spacious lounge and dining room and a delightful terrace with stunning views of the Eiger and Wetterhorn. Our family suite with balcony was spacious, modern and comfortable with all the necessary storage space. The hospitality of Herr Stettler and all his staff - reception, room cleaning and restaurant - was warm and generous without exception. Always helpful and ensuring all was well, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was also generous and especially delicious when enjoyed on the delightful terrace at breakfast and dinner. The pool and adjacent outdoor sun terrace are amazing - also immaculately clean with wonderful views. The ultimate place to relax! Hotel Schoenegg is a very special place to stay in Grindelwald.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    61
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
133
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a lovely time at this hotel!! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was really good and the view was amazing! We will go again and would recommend it to anyone! Amazing!
The rooms were clean and the view was stunning. The manager would make sure everyone was ok and was there if you needed help with anything. It is the only place we would stay in Grindelwald and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anono186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We reserved this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, but it was only after we arrived and began chatting with other patrons and the personable proprieter Herr Stetler that we realized how special a place the Schoenegg is and how lucky we were to have stayed there. For 3 nights we marveled at the views of the Wetterhorn, Schreckhorn and of course the Eiger just off of our large balcony on the second floor. The first night at dinner we talked with a British couple who asked us how we had selected this hotel - they have been coming here for years, and it turns out that it is a favorite in that way. The history of the hotel that has been at that location and run by the same family for decades is quite amazing and is described in a book found in every room. Herr Stetler, the current proprieter is a gracious host with many stories and routinely greets everyone on the patio at breakfast. All the staff was very helpful, especially in helping us decide which transportation package would be the best for us as we traveled around the Grindelwald-Kleine Scheidegg-Wengen-Lauterbrunnen-Murren area. The breakfast buffet was delightful and extensive and the one night we ate at the hotel was delicious. The Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View was large, modern and very comfortable. And we have to mention the pool - this is the only completely stainless steel pool we have ever seen, and it is incredible. We had a great time in this hotel and in the Grindelwald area in general - we would highly recommend staying here and if we ever make it back again, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay whatever you need to to get a room with mountain view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

From the first minute you drive into the parking lot and see the Eiger standing majestically in front of you and the beautiful hotel with its original art pieces on the patio, you know you have landed someplace special. But what really makes this hotel is the people. Herr Stetler and his wife run, what has to be, the friendliest, aesthetically pleasing and clean hotel with fabulous amenities. The food is terrific - there is no leaving the table hungry - and Manuel and the Dining Staff are so much fun. The first time you meet this intimate group of people, you become part of their family. They will bend over backwards to accommodate your every need - including printing out your boarding passes and allowing you to shutdown the Dining Room every evening! Do not miss this hotel when you are in Grindelwald - your trip will be the best when you include this hotel family.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the Eiger. Every morning and evening you will be treated to a magni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Revlwhitmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hotel is set in its own grounds and a little away from the village centre so is quiet. The gardens and terrace are lovely and the views are tremendous.
It has been in the Stettlar family for 4 generations and the current owner Thomas is a charming host. He gets to know every visitor and comes to chat to everyone at breakfast, which can be taken inside or on the terrace. All the staff are friendly and helpful.
Nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel has really comfy rooms. They are super clean, and there are plenty of clean towels and a robe for the pool. The pool and spa complex is total luxury. Where else can you lie in the jacuzzi and see the Eiger?!
Breakfast and dinner were fantastic every day.
We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The views are so amazing- it is nice to look at the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoubyLouBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

My 3rd stay and each one better than the next. Rooms comfortable with lots of storage room and with great views of the Eiger from spacious balcony. Excellent breakfasts and dinners all freshly cooked and catering for special diets in unobtrusive manner. Helpful guidance on planning hikes from host wandering round tables at breakfast and fantastic pool to relax in on return. Large well lit lounge. Above all, all staff are very friendly.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edwina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

For this visit I traveleld with my wife and some friends, and all four of us found the hotal and its location to be excellent, all our needs were met with real care and courtesy. We felt welcome from the moment we were collected at the station until the owner personally returned us there a week later.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRunningClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Schoenegg

Property: Parkhotel Schoenegg
Address: Dorfstrasse 161, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Parkhotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Schoenegg Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing