We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic service, beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was the forth time my sister and I stayed at this family run hotel. The staff are attentive to your every need, welcoming and professional. I cannot fault this hotel. We had fantastic views and the room was clean and comfortable. The aqua spa was a was a welcome break after a long day of hiking. The hotel is close to the station and shops. We even recognized a previous guest, which I think says it all.
I would definitely recommend staying here and no doubt we will make our fifth visit here soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalPital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    62
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
136
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise on our recent 3 day family summer vacation to Grindelwald during a month long stay in Europe.
We had a Chalet-Suite with an additional connecting room for our children (age 8 & 10). The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable with the bonus of fantastic views of the surround mountains. Truly breath taking. The location was very close to the city centre. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful with hints for the surrounding activities.
The hotel restaurent food was exactly what we hoped for after big days of hiking in the mountain tops, again the Restaurent staff were very pleasant and friendly and the service was perfect.
We would not hesitate in returning to this hotel with another visit to Grindelwald.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank P0intOfView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel and had a wonderful time. The staff is great, the views are unbelievable and the food was terrific. The staff went out of their way to see to our every request. Thomas, the owner, even drove us to the train station. You won't go wrong staying at this hotel. The view from our balconies were stunning. Great Hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbteton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at the Parkhotel Schoenegg for 6 nights in early July. There were 6 adults in our party, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay at this wonderful hotel in Grindelwald. The location is excellent, with sweeping views of the surrounding mountains, countryside, town, and close proximity to the train station, shops, restaurants, bars, and the Grindelwald First lift. The owner, Thomas, and his staff are exceptional. Very helpful front desk reception, and the dining room staff are first class. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners at the hotel. Delicious food and a great variety! The clean rooms and hotel spa are the perfect place to relax after a long day of hiking. I look forward to returning to the Parkhotel Schoenegg in the years to come. You will love it here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the magnificent peaks surrounding Grindelwald, including the famous Eiger. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I can't say anything bad about this place. We stayed there for 6 nights, and had an amazing time. We went with the option of having dinner and breakfast included, which I would definitely recommend. The food is excellent, and at the end of a long day of hiking, it is nice not to have to worry about going to find a restaurant. The service is friendly and detailed. The owner, Thomas, is very friendly and helpful. He even brought us on a hike with his Border Collie. The spa area is also very relaxing after a long day of adventuring in Grindelwald. The whole building is state of the art... you can tell that the owner has invested quite a bit into the quality of the rooms and facilities. Speaking of the rooms, we had a porch with a view of the Eiger. You seriously cannot beat the views. If you stay here, you will not regret it. After staying for a week, I want to go back and live there!

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a room facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights at the end of June. It was a family holiday with three grandparents, 10 month old baby and her parents. We would all highly recommend this hotel it should be rated higher than three star. We had first class service from the owner Tom down to every member of his staff. The Spa was wonderful and relaxing, the meals were all excellent. Would most highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Grindelwald also location very good for train station and village.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186220Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel with its wonderful restaurant is not to be missed. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and their team. I have stayed at this hotel many times and it is always a pleasure to return. Each year there are improvements in the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view, although a little more cost, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labdogslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Schoenegg

Property: Parkhotel Schoenegg
Address: Dorfstrasse 161, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Parkhotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Schoenegg Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing