We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put Grindelwald On Your Bucket List”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Put Grindelwald On Your Bucket List”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Most scenic town in the world. Staff are super friendly and the location is breathtaking. We had room 245 large and comfortable with Eiger mountain view. In room Wi Fi is excellent and best shower pressure we have encountered. The pool area is a bonus after much trekking. Breakfast was adequate and the evening meals fabulous and good value. Remember this is Switzerland and everything is expensive. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deniseadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you very much for your nice comment - with great pleasure we hear that you had and enjoyable and unforgetable stay with us!

We hope we see you soon again and send you our kindest regards

your friendly SCHOENEGG-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    61
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
134
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have recently returned from the Parkhotel Schoenegg which undoubtedly deserves its award for "One of friendliest hotels in Switzerland" which they won last year. Tom and Anja Stettler went out of their way to personally welcome each guest, and to chat to us all at meal times. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and attentive. The reception was of particular help in sorting out excursions and selling train tickets and they even offered complimentary drinks when the weather was bad! Our 2nd floor balcony room had a wonderful view of the Eiger and the swimming pool and spa were warm, clean with towels, bath robes and slippers provided. Everything was just lovely and we hope to make a return visit.

Room Tip: Front rooms (south) will have a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r33spoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very nice comment - we are pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us!

See you soon? - and good health and all the best inbetween!

Yours sincerely

all of the friendly Schoenegg-TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From being collected at the rail station throughout the rest of the holiday everything about the Hotel and its staff was perfect. Maybe if they could have done something about the weather....
I had a single room with a large terrace (130) and a great view of the mountains,. Everything was spotlessly clean, the food was varied and beautifully cooked, the lounge was spacious, welcoming and and comfortable. The swimming pool was immaculately clean, with a large Jacuzzi and panoramic windows to watch the Mountains.
The owners, Thomas and Anja, came round and chatted to us all every day at dinner, and were full of good advice for things to do, walks, weather. The receptionists too were very helpful, and helped me sort out a missing boarding pass for my flight home.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRunningClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very, very nice comment - with great pleasure we hear that you have had an enjoyable and unforgetable stay with us!

We hope we see you soon again and send you our kindest regards

your friendly SCHOENEGG-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This beautiful and charming family hotel offers views of the Alps that are second to none. The staff is friendly they go the extra mile, the food selections highlight locally produced items. The spa is clean and relaxing after a full day's hiking. I can't wait to come back in the near future.

Room Tip: My room in the back offered quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 971Brian_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear SirT
Thank you very much for very nice comment. To meet you here in Grindelwald was a great pleasure for us. It would be an honour to welcome you at another time again at our modern and traditional Hotel.
Your host family Stettler and the friendly team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having spent 10 days at the Parkhotel Schoenegg we found the Stettler family to be warm, hospitable hosts and their staff to be of the highest caliber.

From the balcony of our room we had stunning views of Grindelwald and the surrounding mountains including the famous Eiger. The food at the hotel was delicious with a wide variety of dishes including good vegetarian options.

I can see why my parents have made annual visits to this gem of a hotel for the last 15 years.

Nicki and Paul Landymore

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your nice review – It is a great honour to read that enjoyed your first stay with us in the famous EIGER-Village. We look forward to welcome you again together with your parents in our modern and traditional Hotel.

Your host family Stettler and the friendly team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotels wins awards for friendliness and no wonder. Your hosts, the Stettlers, have a long family tradition in the business and their whole attitude is to make guests feel completely at home and beautifully looked after. Great location in Grindelwald village with the Eiger and Jungfrau
right on the doorstep. No doubt the ski-ing is great but we went for summer walking in Alpine meadows with wildflowers, cuckoos, and clanging cowbells. Switzerland at its best...clean, neat,
and always on time !

Room Tip: Rooms at front have great mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tschingel P, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Harry

Thank you very much for your nice comment - with great pleasure we hear that you have had an enjoyable and unforgettable stay with us in the unique EIGER-Village Grindelwald!

We hope we will see you soon again and send you our kindest regards

Your friendly SCHOENEGG-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This review is from June 2014 and broken into 2 parts: What you want to know and what you need to know.

What you want to know:
- clean hotel; kind service; magnificent views; across street from best cafe and pizzeria in town; family friendly; next to cable car up to First; 15 min walk from train station (hotel picks you up/drops off); kindest service you will find.

What you need to know:
They just won the 2014 first place award for hotels in Switzerland -- in ALL of Switzerland. That's like a Japanese restaurant winning 1st place for best sushi in ALL of Japan.

Yanis and Alina at front desk are trustworthy and like your nicest cousins. Trust whatever they recommend, such as buying the 3-day Bernese Oberland VIP pass even if you have Swiss Pass since it gets you up to Jungfraujoch (included) and pretty much anywhere in the entire region.

Owner Thomas is the kindest and most fun person to be around. His family has owned the property for over 100 years so he has an interest in taking good care of it.

If you are thinking of staying in Interlaken instead, consider that you have to add 30 minutes to the train ride up to Jungfrau; you save money and time by staying in Grindelwald. Also Interlaken has become a sewer -- okay that's an exaggeration but compared to the pristine beauty and service of Grindelwald.... you get the idea.

Grindelwald too has changed immensely. In 5 years it may be over-developed and look/feel like Internlaken. Even now you have the big tour buses staying at the bigger hotels. But for now - with the help of Thomas, Yanis, and Alina (and family dog Jingles) - Grindelwald is what you seek in a dream trip to Switzerland.

Go. Go now.

Room Tip: Ask for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoenegg, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Family

Thank you very much for your nice and extensive comment - it was a great pleasure to meet and accommodate you in the EIGER-Village, also would it be a honour for us to welcome you at another time agian here in Grindelwald!

Kindest regards

all of the friendly Schoenegg-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Schoenegg

Property: Parkhotel Schoenegg
Address: Dorfstrasse 161, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Parkhotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Schoenegg Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing