We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
361
88
14
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
361
88
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park hotel cable car half board every evening salad bar fabulous hotel the hotel staff convenient location indoor pool the bus buffet breakfast large balcony jungfrau region north face sauna gondola mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Just returned from yet another memorable stay at Parkhotel Schoenegg in Grindelwald. It is difficult to identify one particular element that provides that exceptional ‘feel good factor’ but I think it is the combination of the hotel and its amenities, its location and the amazing staff team that makes this such a special place to stay. The hotel itself is situated just slightly above the main street, with spectacular views towards the mountains. These views are seen from the front facing rooms, the lounge, dining room and outside terrace as well as the Jacuzzi in the swimming pool area! When the weather is fine, both breakfast and dinner can be taken outside on the terrace. There are not many places where you can enjoy great meals whilst gazing onto mountains and glaciers. The hotel has a ‘Wellness’ Centre with a swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, a relaxing option after a day exploring the area. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
No review of the Parkhotel Schoenegg would be complete without a mention of the staff team, now led by Manager, Ingo Schmoll, they provide a first class service to their guests. The reception staff, led by Anja, are really helpful for any queries you may have, whilst the dining room team, led by Manuel, is friendly and efficient and take care of any dietary requirements. Sandra, the head chef, goes from strength to strength in the meals being provided. All in all, a very special place.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tschingel P, Host/Manager at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Kerrmit99
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We don't take for granted, that you take your time to write this comment!
It is with pleasure, that I forward this to the team. And you are right, this is a very special place. Not only for the guests, as well for us.
We are looking forward welcoming you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

I arrived again at the Railway Station at Grindelwald and was met by Jose, Head Porter, in the Hotel Minibus, the checkin was flawless and from then I was able to relax in comfort. My room was clean and spacious with a balcony, there is a large comfortable lounge where I enjoyed a regular pot of tea, and occasionally wine or beer; the swimming pool and jacuzzi was inviting after a long days walking. The breakfast buffet offered everything I could imagine, the evening meal, under new Head Chef Sandra, was varied and enjoyable, always perfectly cooked, with a choice from the menu which changed daily; the friendly restaurant staff Maria, Eva and Kristina, and Marek and Ivana, marshalled as ever by the excellent Manuel, ensured I had everything I needed. The Hotel, still owned by the Stettler family, has a new Host/ Manager in Ingo Schmoll, he too was attentive and friendly, and makes a great addition to the Schoenegg team

Room tip: Choose a room facing the mountains, with a balcony; the back of hotel rooms have no view.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tschingel P, Host/Manager at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear TheRunningClub

Thank you very much - hope you enjoyed "endless river" on your balcony during SND.
Have a great summer, looking forward welcoming you again next year!

Best regards
Ingo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located in a good location close to some shops and to the train station. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and we got the dinner for 30.00 CHF per person which was a good value considering how expensive is Switzerland. Nice views of the mountains while dinning and the service was impeccable. It was a 5 course dinner. Everyone in the hotel is very nice and helpful especially Helen in the front desk. Parking was free and we were very happy about this, since we had paid 40.00 per night for parking in our previous hotel in Lucerne. We got a room on the 5th floor with balcony and beautiful mountain views. The only negative was that the room didn’t have AC and some nights was kind of hot but we couldn’t open the windows because the bugs came inside. Also the beds were very noise. Even a single turn was very disruptive. Overall it was a wonderful experience and we highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dreamer054
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tschingel P, Host at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear dreamer054

Thank you for this review. We will certainly forward your compliments to Helen and of course to the chef and his crew and Manuel in the Restaurant. We are going to check the remark concerning the bed. It is the first time we take notice of it. Sorry for that.

Best regards and hope to see you again in Grindelwald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The hotel is quite old, a bit worn out and outdated design, decoration, not well maintained. We had theroom in the back with no view. It is an ok hotel for a three star comparing to other countries, we have travelled. The staff is ok, not impressive. The room was very simple, cleanliness is 7/10. The bathroom drainage is slow and clogged for a few minutes but we can manage. We booked because of the review but disappointed... not coming back. We did not mentioned anything during stay because we were unhappy with the physical outdated decoration, old building, not well maintained; those are nothing they can do to fix. It is what it is. Just to share with others on our experience in the review. We hope the hotel take it for improvement and not blame on other factors.

Date of stay: September 2017
2  Thank tatumdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tschingel P, Host at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear tatumdesk

Thank you for the review. A pity you didn't like our hotel and even more, you didn't mention.
I am sure you deserved your holidays after hard work. To spend them in a hotel you do not like is sad. We could have found a solution for you. I am sure. We take your comments in consideration and hope, that you take the chance to talk to the management earlier next time. As we say: speaking gets people together!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Most helpful staff of any hotel we've visited. Nice room with balcony and mountain views. Best internet of any hotel I've stayed in. Two minutes walk from First gondola lift. Great value restaurant with 5 course evening meals. Nice bar and lounge. Third visit so far - hope to return again next year.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank davidatfoscote
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tschingel P, Host at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear davidatforscote

Thank you for that outstanding review! It is always a great pleasure for us to welcome you at Parkhotel Schoenegg. We will forward your commendation to our staff! Looking forward welcoming you again next year.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews