We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again. Friendly, clean and good breakfast.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Basel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would stay here again. Friendly, clean and good breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here early September 2011. Was a last minute booking and a place to ease back into civilisiation after staying in a mountain hut the previous night.

STAFF: The staff were friendly and helpful.

ROOM: Room was very clean and well appointed. Not sure if we got upgrade as it has a magnificent 4 poster bed in it.
Bed was very comfortable.

BATHROOM: Also very clean, plus a powerful shower however the shower mounting was
such that it was not possible to stand under it, but this was manageable.

LOCATION: Hotel is well located.

RESTAURANT: Only used the restaurant for breakfast and instead ate else where for dinner (plenty of places to choose from, with a 2 minute walk) as it was cheaper.

BREAKFAST: Really liked the breakfast, in particular the ability to cook your own eggs, so that you can decided on how runny/hard you like them, plus there was a good choice of cereals and breads.

Would we stay here again ... yes we would.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMorgan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    43
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The seven nights I spent at the Hirschen in the last week of August was the fourth time that I have stayed at this hotel and it was another great stay. The rooms are spottlessly clean and well maintained. The larger south facing rooms with balconies in the main hotel building provide what I consider to be some of the best views of the Eiger to be found in Grindelwald. The individuals manning the front desk were both professional and friendly, as were the majority of the waiting staff in the restaurant . The breakfast selection was excellent and the breakfast waiting staff were attentive and friendly. The set evening meals (which were included in the package) were somewhat disappointing and I would not include them in any future stays (opting for bed and breakfast instead); however, the general menu served in the restaurant did look good. The evening service was also a little hit and miss, with some of the staff friendly and attentive and others less so...though never unpleasant. Overall this is a great little hotel and I would not hestiate to stay again or to recommend it to anyone who is looking for a clean and efficiently run hotel ideally located at the centre of town with rooms with great views.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystravelling67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Wished I could have stayed more than one night. We arrived as they were finishing up some carpentry remodeling work on the very small lobby. The staff were very welcoming and they proved useful information about local activities. The room was somewhat small but our room on the back corner of the thrid floor had a gorgeous mountain view. the bathroom was modern and clean, not fancy. There is a small wall mounted safe in the rooms. The elevator is old and small but usuable. The decor in the staiwells and upstairs library was dated. Breakfast was buffet style and included the usual Swiss breakfast items: croissants, jams, cheese, meats, yogurts, juices and coffee. The fruit cocktail was the canned variety. Half way through breakfast, the hotel owner arrived with fresh bread and introduced himself. I had read the previous review which negatively commented on the owner. He seemed pleasant enough, as well as invested in the hotel being run well and explained that he was installing LED lights to reduce electrical use. He accomodated our request to leave our bags there after check out so we might take a hike and then pick them up later in the afternoon.
Also Wi fi is available, but only on the first 2 floors, which meant we couldn't use it in our room.
Overall it was a nice clean place in a good location. With remodeling it has a fresh appearance in the lobby and dining area. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We've brought numerous tour groups to stay here over the last 20 years and always have looked forward to our return, but had never thought about staying here for ourselves after a tour is over. We did this time, and immediately thought of no other hotel.

The Hirschen is in the heart of Grindelwald, Switzerland, although the town is set up for walking everywhere you need. The Co-op (grocery store) is just 5 minute walk from the hotel, as is the sportzentrum, and shopping is immediately nearby. if you want to go up the First ski lift for unparalleled hiking, that's just up the street about 5-8 minutes. There is a small laundry facility ("waschsalon") 5 minutes walk up the street that has been there for at least 30 years (as long as I've been coming there) - just get coins ahead of time.

It is a family-owned and run property and as such, has that personal touch we prefer. We decided to spend a little extra for a Superior room with a view of the mountains (there is absolutely NOTHING like waking up to the Swiss Alps), and the view was truly spectacular. Our room was larger than an average room (you pay for it), but it was quite comfortable, and the decor is typically Swiss. Nothing wrong with that at all.

In Switzerland, it is quite rare that you find something does not work and the Hirschen is no exception. Everything in the room worked perfectly, immaculately clean, and if you have never been here, the dinners are outstanding. The breakfasts are very good as well.

Parking was included in the rate, and located across the street next to the mini-golf. Everything is fairly safe, no real worries about security.

My only issue is the cost. Everything in Switzerland is horribly expensive (typical), so unless you are looking for a budget motel and are prepared to find a small pension with very little amenities, be prepared to pay a lot.

We love Grindelwald dearly, but unless we win the lottery, I don't think we'll be going back unless it's with another tour group we lead.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cm632000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a terrific stay at this hotel. The hotel is conveniently located to the train station and the room was very clean and comfortable. Everyone was very helpful and polite and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deliot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

We were a party of 17, 8 adults and 9 teenagers. We didn't stay at the hotel but booked and had an evening meal there.
The food was fine, if I were the chef I'd leave as I would not want to tarnish him with the same brush as I apply to the rest of the 'experience'.
Out of 4 main courses ordered only 1 was available. This was 8pm on a Tuesday!
We had one of our party with a nut allergy, which was explained very carefully. So it was a surprise when the steak arrived with almonds sprinkled on it! When this was returned we were then told that it had been cooked with peanut oil.
Salmon, no sauce and rice on arrival became salmon, swimming in sauce with potatoes.
Drinks and side dishes ordered never appeared.
This list goes on, so I'll stop - you get the picture!!
Oh! by the way it was the most expensive meal we had while in Grindelwald.
Try Barry's its far better.

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We were in the party of 10 who had to pay for the tap water. Wehad become a bit suspicious that the house wine we `d ordered on the first night was unavailable on the next 2 nights. We were told we could have more expensive wine though!

The incident with the owner was quite unpleasant & he was extremely rude to us. He seemed to have an issue around his contract with Inghams our tour operator & was taking it out on us, insisting he was giving us free tea & cake. This was part of our package! It was always provided very begrudgingly, the same cake everyday & taking ages to bring it.

The situation created an atmosphere in the dining room at mealtimes for us, if we saw the owner he mostly ignored us .Very unprofessional!

Despite the good food, central location & the rest of the staff very nice, I would not recommend this hotel.


I

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaletschool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Property: Hotel Hirschen
Address: Dorfstrasse 135, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A *** hotel full of tradition, centrally located. The station, sports centre and First Cableway are reachable by foot in 3-5 minutes. In winter the skibus stop is situated in front of the hotel, in summer the hotel is an ideal starting point for hikes and excursions. All rooms are comfortaby equipped, with bath/WC, TV, radio, telephone and safe, some of them with balcony and mountain view. Breakfast buffet. Parking lots free of charge. Bowling. Conference room for max. 30 persons. Free W-LAN at the public area. Free entrance to the sport center (swimming pool and ice rink). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirschen Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing