We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly setting and better rooms!!”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Where do I begin? This apartment is tailor made for you if you are travelling in a group of 4-5 people. Let me begin with the kitchen. Very. very well stocked. The living rooms has a large and comfy couch on which two people could sleep comfortably, and on the other side is a family dining table, not to mention the 60 inch 3D TV. The apartment has artistic wooden furniture. The balcony, like everything else in the apartment, is King-size, and connected to both the master bedroom and the living room. it is nestled in the mountains and offers a good view of the snow capped mountains. In close proximity to the hotel is a coop (supermarket) and also the first mountain peak, a fun destination, and also is located in the middle of the market there. The hotel has a table tennis table, and also offers free coupons to the excellent village sports complex, also at a short walk's distance from the hotel and a bus pass. Coming back to the apartment, all three bedrooms have comfy beds. Also, very importantly, the hotel is only a 2-3 minute walk from the train station and the post office. As is the case with most apartments in Switzerland, there is only one bathroom but there are washbasins in every room. Overall, a highly enjoyable experience,and one you will be keen to replicate.

Room Tip: Be sure to pick the the 3 bedroom apartment. It comes with a great view and with a 60 inch 3d tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muditgoel304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We selected this hotel for our New Years ski trip based on the trip advisor reviews touting its excellent location and great value. Once again, trip advisor did not lead us astray. The location is fantastic! Extremely central. The bus stop is just one building away and the gondola for First couldn't be more than a three-minute walk. Very easy to do in ski gear.

The hotel rooms are spotlessly clean. The bathrooms are very nice with a great shower with excellent water pressure. Beds and bedding are comfortable. We stayed in a comfort room with a view of the mountains, which were stunning. Our friends stayed in the non-view room which they were also quite pleased with if you wanted to save some additional $$$ and weren't as concerned with the view. The rooms are on the more basic side, without extra amenities like shampoos and lotions or an in room fridge, but we knew this when we booked the hotel and it was worth is for the savings vs. similarly located hotels. This hotel is a bargain in all the best ways.

The breakfast was the highlight of our stay. A fine selection of fresh breads, wonderful cheeses, and eggs prepared as you wish, stellar coffee (a must for me), and a juicer, which was a nice little treat. Everyone in our group looked forward to the breakfast (which was included) each day.

The staff was helpful offering to help us park the car in the small (but free) parking lot when we arrived which was nice after a long day of travel (and in the snow no less). They also were able to give us great advice on itineraries for our two ski days in which we wanted to incorporate a trip to the "Top of Europe." They were also able to sell us our ski passes at the desk was a nice convenience.

The only thing we were slightly disappointed in was the lack of a hot tub, but again, knowing that we were booking the hotel based on location and bargain and had expected more basic accommodations we were quite pleased overall. It exceeded our expectations, which is always a nice treat. I would certainly recommend this hotel for the same reasons we selected it, based on location and relative value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norlanderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed one night here in September. Easy to get to. Small parking lot across the street. Room was clean and neat. Staff speaks English and is helpful about area. Some tickets can be bought at front desk, but not special rates. (Senior rates available at cable car sites only!) Interesting elevator...2 persons, no inside door so watch your arms and hands. Nice small library to read or exchange books. Free WiFi in the library. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBT133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was a ver large room with queen bed and two proper single beds, had room for our suitcases and still had room to walk around! Beautiful decor! Large bath and bathroom. Top restaurant downstairs. Breakfast was included and was good! Perfectly situated in town close to shops and the mountains!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBehncken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had arrived by a van in the evening. The parking is just opposite the hotel, it has about 7 space but FREE OF CHARGE. Small reception area and lift which can lift only 2 people with 2 suitcases. A room (I have corner room with mountain view) very good view but my friend room was not. NO WIFI in room, only at the reception and library area. It's FREE. Very clean room and bathroom. The reception is closed on 8 pm everything goes dark. They will come again on 8 am, if you planned to go up to Jungfraujoch in the early morning, you should checkout before and drop the key when leave.
โดยทั่วๆ ไปก็สะดวกสบายดีครับ อาจจะไม่เหมือนพวกโรงแรม 4 ดาวที่ทุกอย่างดูอลังการกว่านี้ Reception ก็กลับบ้านไปตอนสองทุ่ม จะมาอีกทีก็แปดโมงเช้า ถ้าจะขึ้น Jungfrau ตอนเช้า ควรจะทำ Checkout ไปเลยตั้งแต่หัวค่ำ แล้วค่อยคืนกุญแจตอนเช้า แนะนำสำหรับผู้ที่ไม่อยากจะควักกระเป๋าจ่ายแพงๆ ห้องก็ไม่มีอะไรนอกจาก ​LCD TV เดินไปสถานนีรถไฟก็ประมาณ 5 นาที วิวอาจจะถูกโรงแรม Spinne บังมิดครับ

Room Tip: You should ask for the infront hotel room for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charntat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Booked in as a drive by having arrived late in Grindelwald. Just a one night sleepover stay. The hotel is right on the High Street and we did indeed suffer extremely bad late night noise from outside but whether this is an every night thing or a one off I don't know. The parking was opposite in an open air gravel car park - free but kind of cramped. The young lady on Reception was very friendly and got us checked in nice and fast considering we didn't have a reservation. Beware the lobby area is small and if the hotel is busy be prepared to suffer abit of hustle bustle. There was a small lift up to the rooms and our one was quite spacious with twin beds pushed together - not super comfy but not terrible either. The redeeming factor was a really great shower in a super clean bathroom (shower on cord over bath tub). My partner had breakfast, I didn't but he reported it 'ok', basic - cute dining room but very limited selection of foods. Overall, a great place to stay for someone young who's on a budget, wants to be in the centre of things and easily get to the ski places. Not luxurious but perfectly clean and functional.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Great place. I stayed here for 6 nights in total. The rooms are beautiful, the hotel is very cute and in great shape. They serve a very nice breakfast, and have a great restaurant for dinner. The staff and Mr. Bleuer are extremely nice, and very accomodating. Definitely recommended

Room Tip: Eiger view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Berghaus Bort
Berghaus Bort
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#36 of 41 in Grindelwald
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
528 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Dorfstrasse 135, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £133 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A *** hotel full of tradition, centrally located. The station, sports centre and First Cableway are reachable by foot in 3-5 minutes. In winter the skibus stop is situated in front of the hotel, in summer the hotel is an ideal starting point for hikes and excursions. All rooms are comfortaby equipped, with bath/WC, TV, radio, telephone and safe, some of them with balcony and mountain view. Breakfast buffet. Parking lots free of charge. Bowling. Conference room for max. 30 persons. Free W-LAN at the public area. Free entrance to the sport center (swimming pool and ice rink). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirschen Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing