We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly and helpful, with super food”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We came home with very warm feelings about this hotel where we spent eleven nights, and we have sampled quite a number of nice hotels, mostly (but not entirely) in Austria.

We were met, and warmly welcomed, at Grindelwald Station by the hotel manager with a people carrier, and taken what would have been a five minute walk to the hotel. The receptionist was efficient, and very kindly.

Without exception, all of the staff we came across were friendly. We gained the distinct impression that this was a happy workplace, and that was reflected in the cheerful and relaxed way in which the staff engaged with residents.

There was no choice in the menu. That said, the food was always first class, very varied, imaginatively and attractively presented, and nicely cooked. This made the evening meal always something to be looked forward to in mouth-watering anticipation.

Breakfast, also, offered a great variety - various cereals, breads, croissants, rolls, meats, cheeses, yoghurt, prunes (to which I am nearly addicted) - with many sorts of tea to choose from, or a pot of coffee. I found that I was eating so much breakfast that it pretty well lasted me the day! That was as well, for packed lunch could be ordered, but was not particularly cheap.

There were some families with (well behaved !) children, and the staff were very kind to the children.

These were some of the plusses.

On the down side, when we were shown to our room, we were taken across a sort of back yard into a chalet. That just did not feel right for the beginning of a holiday. The room was a bit dark and there were only six coat hangers for the two of us in the wardrobe. Our view was of some flats at the back of the hotel.

But the room was very quiet, and we were never disturbed at night. There were two easy chairs in the room - which meant we could both sit and read there if we were not, for some reason, going out. But they seem to specialise in 40W bulbs, and do not seem to have heard of 20W low energy bulbs which would have made it so much eaier to read - or to plan the next day's walking route.

The bed was very comfortable, though, and bed linen, towels, etc. were always scrupulosly clean (towels - un-necessarily, I thought, - were changed every day).

The bathroom was super! Brilliantly lit, so that I could see every blemish on my ageing countenance. The shower was the best behaved I have ever encountered: powerful, with an easily controlled temperature.

When we finally left, the duty receptionist left her desk and came out on to the pavement to wave goodbye. That made us feel special.

If we go back to Grindelwald, we shall stay here again because the one thing that counts above all else is the warmth and friendliness with which one is treated. Full marks for that.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank megapics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Hirschen for 2 nights (6/28-6/29). The stay began fine but ended terribly. At 0630, we were going to check out and no one was at the reception. A women taking care of the breakfast area told me the check out was between 8am and 8pm, but called a man to come check us out. The man (owner) arrived and was not just disgruntled, but began yelling at me for waking him up. He showed me a small sign in 4 languages stating the reception times and that he was a 3 star hotel and he did not have early hours and he yelled at me "only a stupid American would not see the sign". He did not stop there... I became a stupid idiot American. At that I yelled back that I would do my best for no American to come to his hotel and at this he told me that was just fine with him and then he asked me to pay my nearly $800 bill and get out.

So, fellow Americans... I forgot to tell you that he threw the sign down as I tried to explain that perhaps this could be emphsized upon signing into the hotel...., so the sign is broken. There is no telling what he will do next. It did cross my mind to call the police, but he is the owner and this would just make him that much more violent. I just got out while I could.

I have never been treated so with such hostility from anyone, much less a hotel owner. He will not be a welcoming host to any American, no matter what. There were some disgruntled people from England that said the restaurant food was terrible and as overpriced as it comes.

So, we (mom and 3 daughters) were on an 8 day road trip and all hotels we stayed in and all the folks we encountered were great, with this one exception. Don't give him our American business or any business at all. This is from an American expat that travels Europe and writes about it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Expat_in_Paris_Fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

I was planning to visit Berner Oberland over Pfingsten and it so happened to be low season in the alps and most hotels and guesthouses were closed for their holidays. I stumbled across this hotel over the official Grindelwald Tourist Information Page (www.grindelwald.travel/en/welcome.cfm) and I booked a double superior room for 6 days. I wasn't expecting more from a 3-star hotel, honestly speaking, but this was one of the best 3-star hotels I've ever stayed in. The hotel is located along Dorfstrasse and it's very close to the bus and train station (150 meters) with lots of shops and restaurants along the way. The rooms face either the Eiger Nordwand or the carpark at the back. There is also ample free carpark for guests at the back yard or across the road.

My room was located on the corner of the 4th floor with views of the magnificent Eiger Nordwand, Schreckhorn and partial views of the Jungfrau and Moench. The rooms were newly renovated with new carpets, wooden furniture, falt-screen tv, huge south-facing balcony and a huge bathroom with bathtub and shower. The rooms are considered very large for Swiss standards and it was very clean. Housekeeping came every morning to tidy up and to change towels. Buffet breakfast was served in their restraurant downstairs from 7:30 am onwards with a selection of cheeses, breads, marmalades, sausages, eggs, yogurts and muesli. I had to leave early one morning and they kindly offered to leave breakfast outside my room early in the morning. The receptionist was very helpful and told me that some of the hiking paths above 1800m were still closed for winter. The hotel also offered dinner ala carte with their famouse Flammkuechen, fondue and roesti. I also tried dinner at the Eiger hotel next door (very dissapointting, slow service, bad food), the Derby hotel (better food) and the Italian restaurant near the First station (highly reccomended!). The shops and restaurants (Intersport, Jack Wolfskin, Sport Berner) were all surprisingly open throughout the public holidays and Sundays.

My verdict - Stay here. Most people would choose the horribly over-priced and over-crowded with Asians Hotel Eiger next door but the Hirschen just beats the Eiger down. Prices are great (Sfr 180 per night with buffet breakfast, per superior double room with bath, balcony) and you can't beat the location. The views are to die for and though this is a small family-ran hotel, the service is exceptional and the food if just great!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Global_traveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2005

An excellent hotel in this great skiing town - though a bit of walk to the Gondola and the Railway station in your ski boots.

The single rooms are excellent for the price - ask for one at the front for a balcony and bath.

Don't walk through reception in your ski boots - they don't like it!

Highly recommended

5  Thank ChasColq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2003

Nice hotel in a perfect little Swiss town. Spend the extra $8 and get a room with a deck to enjoy the great views of the Alps. This hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the train station. We were suprised that they charged $3 for a toll-free call (the only hotel that did this during our vacation)

7  Thank mitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Andi5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer im "Chalet" sind etwas ruhiger als diejenigen im Haupthaus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rubinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#22 of 41 in Grindelwald
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#19 of 41 in Grindelwald
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Dorfstrasse 135, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £86 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A *** hotel full of tradition, centrally located. The station, sports centre and First Cableway are reachable by foot in 3-5 minutes. In winter the skibus stop is situated in front of the hotel, in summer the hotel is an ideal starting point for hikes and excursions. All rooms are comfortaby equipped, with bath/WC, TV, radio, telephone and safe, some of them with balcony and mountain view. Breakfast buffet. Parking lots free of charge. Bowling. Conference room for max. 30 persons. Free W-LAN at the public area. Free entrance to the sport center (swimming pool and ice rink). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirschen Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing