We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Powder Holidays”
Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alte Post
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Hotel is perfectly situated just next to the Gondola. Rooms are big and got a nice mountains views.
No comments about the resorts, only incredible, slopes are long and nice. I was lucky to have perfect weather conditions.
I will recommand this Hotel since all staff are really friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIANLUIGI D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Grindelwald a few days before New Years Eve to find the accommodation we had booked had told us a white lie and was in fact 30 mins out of the ski resort. A miracle that there was a vacancy and how lucky we were. This hotel is very cosy and the owner very lovely. Conveniently situated right next to the Grindelwald to First gondola, the location couldn't be better. The price was also very reasonable with breakfast included. Would come back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

People at the reception and in the restaurant were extremely rude and unpolite. We will never go again there. Hotel is fine, but it is expensive and the service is very bad. The lady at the reception is a joke, you would never believe someone running a business can be so unfriendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heinz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June and it was absolutely lovely. Easy walking distance to the train station and right next to a gondola. Lots of beautiful wood throughout this hotel. We stayed in room 32 and it was spacious with nightstands on either side of the bed, a nice table with upholstered chairs, a desk and a large closet. The bathroom was a comfortable size with a large bathtub and shower. The water pressure on the shower was the best we'd had in our month-long trip. We also had a balcony with a lovely view of the mountains. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, several very nice breads, cheeses, meats, jams, 2 kinds of yogurt, fresh fruit, and scrambled eggs. Met a lot of nice people staying at this hotel who had all stayed here several times before. There is an exercise room, a sitting room off the reception area, a bar, a sauna, and a small collection of books. There is also a restaurant and the food was very good. The room was 150 Swiss Francs per nite. Everything in Grindelwald is pricey, but we knew that going in and it was worth it as it is so beautiful there.

Room Tip: Room 32 has a balcony that has a good view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sac2Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gentas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank おんぷちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bodmi
Hotel Bodmi
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Address: Dorfstrasse 175, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £146 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alte Post 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Hotel Alte Post is a cosy family hotel with tradition, quiet and yet centrally located, close to First Gondola Station. Parking available. Rustic-style rooms with cosy comfort and balcony with mountain views. The hit is the daily breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing