We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derby Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

After being in Europe over the past month - staying in hotels at all various stars - this hotel was a standout. The staff and the ownerrs were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I felt at home in this hotel. The room itself and bathroom were spacious and clean.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Alps are obviously better - but come at an extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fats75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    169
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
110
217
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights in July 2011, although from our room the Eiger was in full view a lot of our friends had views over the railway station along with the assocciated noise. Our room was clean and tidy with no complaints.
The food however was bland even for two nights, the meat was tough and dry and everything tasted the same. I understand that they have to cater for all tastes however it would have been nice for even a small selection of different food.
The whole area is very clean and tidy and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russ999rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This was a very poor 3 star hotel more like a 2 star at 4 star prices. We booked a standard room for 3 nights, the room wasn't too bad but the bathroom was very small & very dated with a coloured toilet seat & sink. We did complain & told the only rooms with more uptodate bathrooms were the Junior Suites. None were available on the first night but we were shown one the next morning which was slightly better but not much & not worth another 78 Euros per night which we were told we would have to pay for it. The entrance from the garage was dark & gloomly as was the lift & corridors. Needless to say we won't be booking it again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tanznoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I went with a party of 13 other people and one person booked the hotel on our behalf. She had been there before and all that she said about it was absolutely true. We couldn't find fault with anything. If I had seen it in a brochure and had read it was right on the station platform I might have been put off, but don't be. It is an ideal situation, so easy for travelling and we had a room overlooking the station and we couldn't hear the trains at all. All we could hear in the mornings were the sound of cow bells. The breakfasts were help yourself buffet with plenty of choice and we had five courses every night. We were out each day on different trips and we even found two places that one of our party, who had been to that area of Switzerland many times, had never been before. The staff in the hotel were also extremely friendly and helpful. I would love to go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hils12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Our ski holiday was even more successful by staying in this hotel. Everything was perfect. The staff were very helpful and all worked well as a team.
The food was amazing, a 5 course experience after skiing was very welcome and somehow we ate it all...because it was very good! There is also an excellent fondue restaurant in the hotel.
The hotel has been in the same family for 119 years - amazing - the owners were on hand all the time and very helpful with ski excursion trips and details about the area.
We plan to return one summer to experience the walking in the area, taking the rack and pinion trains up the mountains to experience the wonderful scenery. The train station is situated literally outside the hotel - all very quiet as electric train system.
All in all a great find and certainly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The Derby Hotel made our ski holiday to Grindelwald, at the begining of March. The location is ideal, being on the train station (electirc trains so no noise), means you can get to Kleine Schedigg ski area without walking anywhere. You can also get the train to Grindelwald Grund and a 3 minute walk to the gondolas takes you to the Manlichen ski area. Or you can take the trian(s) and cable cars to Murren ski area. The only ski area you cannot access by train is First, but this is also easy to access from the hotel, as the bus station is just accross the road, and a 3 minute bus journey takes you to the First gondola station. There is no better location in town than the Derby. The hotel itself is lovely, and very friendly. The food was amazing, and myself and my husband enjoyed every 5 course meal for the whole week, inlcuding the Swiss speaciality night and the fondue evening in the Cava restaurant - all included. The breakfast buffet was great, with lots of choice, and the service provided was really good. The views from the balconys of the rooms is amazing, and there is a lovely quiet seating area on the top floor with views to the front and back of the hotel. There are ski lockers and boot warmers in the basement. The lesiure facitlites are nothing to shout home about, the sauna is small - but there if you want it. There is a fridge in the room (though no kettle), a safe, a tv, built in radio and alarm clock, with daily maid service. Staff are very helpful and there is a mountain of information available at reception. I really enjoyed our stay here, and have already recommended it to family members who are looking to book a walking holiday at this hotel next year based on my rave reviews and holiday snaps.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Our room was comfortable and very clean (especially important to us), the staff were most courteous at all times and very helpful with all our requests. The food was consistently first class. All we could have asked for.
The rooms facing south (and thus with views of the Eiger) face on to the main road. We had a room on the north side - do not be put off by any photos that shows that this overlooks a railway station. The trains are very quiet and do not run at night!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reithat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Property: Derby Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very walls that greet you as you approach the Hotel Derby are steeped in history. The "Hotel de la Gare" was built here by the legendary Captain Gsteiger at the end of the 19th century. The same underlying principle applied then as it does now: we want to offer our guests a holiday that will long remain with them as a happy memory. Just travelling to the Derby is a pleasure in itself. The journey by rail could hardly be easier. We are passionate about hospitality and welcome you with a very special combination of attention to details and unobtrusive service. Stylish rooms and suites offer you plenty of space to unwind, relax and take in the splendid Mountain View. All rooms offer view to the surrounding mountains and are equipped with shower or bath/toilet, satellite TV, minibar and safe. The junior suites additionally provide a separate sitting corner. Most of the rooms have a balcony. In total 4 restaurants are at your choice. Either for an elegant dining experience, a tasteful 5-course-menu, a hearty Swiss dish or one of the various fondue specialities, our knowledgeable staff will be happy to advise you and to complete your stay by an attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing