We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derby Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a pretty typical European 3 star hotel. Shoebox rooms, no AC, but clean. If you expect the Intercontinental, look for a hotel with more stars. Traveling solo and on a Swissrail pass package voucher, I expected to be given the worst room. And I was.
The good: the location right on the rail station was outstanding, especially since I arrived at 1 AM. The hotel was very clean, and the bed was fairly comfortable. If you are lucky enough to get a larger room with terrace under the Eiger face, you will have a great view. My train station view was surprisingly quiet - slept with window open but not awakened by noise..
The cons: my room was dark and depressing. It looked like a man purchased the cheapest carpet and fixtures he could find, then told a woman to try to dress it up on the tiniest budget. Yes, the toilet and sink are avacado green. But they look fairly new, and I spent very little time in the room anyway - I came here to hike and be outdoors in the glorious Alps, The Eiger facing rooms (seen during check-out cleaning) looked much brighter and cheerier

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesspuppymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We arrived in Grindelwald around noon time and wanted to go hiking right away as we had only that afternoon to spend in Grindelwald. The location was more than perfect! It is right on the platform. So if you are busy traveller like us, this is definetely a plus. The receptionist was so kind and she gave us the first room which opened even it was way before the check-in time. So we could change our clothe for hiking and caught the next train to Grund which came in 10 minutes after check in!

The guidebook recommended to ask for a Aiger-side room. We got a platform-side room. But it was fun to watch trains and many tourists come and go from the balcony. Since there is no announcement at the statin in Switzerland, it was very quiet! View is still nice.

The room is clean and has everything you need. Breakfast is very good too (especially soft boiled eggs!).

Room Tip: It is nice if you can have a view of Aiger, but If you like to watch trains, the room facing platfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeQueue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Hotel Derby has also some beautiful apartments in typical wooden Swiss chalets.
We stayed for a week in a lovely apartment named "First" by the name of a local mountain.
The apartment was clean and comfortable. We had a beautiful view from the window of our bedroom on the three famous Grindelwald mountains (the Moench, the Eiger and the Jungfrau) and we could also see several little waterfalls getting down. The chalet has a nice little garden full of flowers and a typical wooden fountain. A free parking is available. The chalet is only five minutes' steps from the centre of Grindelwald. Besides apartment "First", there are three more apartments in the same chalet: "Eiger", "Moench" and "Jungfrau", each one with own entrance (see their website http://www.derby-grindelwald.ch/ in German and English and click on "Chalets"). They all can be rented for a minimum of 7 days' stay. You can decide to rent only the apartment or to have half-board (in this second case, you have to walk to the hotel - only 5 minutes - to have breakfast and lunch or dinner). Price is very good, if you consider the high Swiss standard of prices.
The staff is very polite and can speak several languages; on our arrival they gave us some good typical Swiss food (local cheese and more) and the same thing happened when we paid before going away.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supermarcaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for a weekend at the hotel, and had a family room (sleeping 2 adults and 3 kids) and another room for two adults on the same floor. The family room was perfect for our needs and slept the children in an adjoining (but not closed off room) but there was enough space for them to sleep and us still be able to go on the balcony or be in our room without disturbing them. There was also a roof terrace and small indoor lounge on the fourth floor with books and games for the children to play with which was a help. Parking was behind the hotel, just off the train station platform but was right next to the hotel reception so secure. We had a great stay and thought the staff were lovely and Grindelwald was a beautiful place to visit. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This Hotel is delightful! I went with my sister and Gran and they made sure we had rooms next to each other with stunning views of the Eiger. The staff in the Hotel were fabulous. They were really helpful giving us advice about when it was a good day to go up the Jungfraujoch. We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel each day which were all really nice. Excellent variety and again the staff were always really attentive. The hotel is so convenient. After a long trip to Grindelwald from the airport or if you've been out for a day trip its such a relief to fall into the hotel (especially if the mountain weather is taking it's toll!)

Room Tip: You can get Eiger views or station views. The station is not very loud. They dont provide Tea and Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalikesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

After being in Europe over the past month - staying in hotels at all various stars - this hotel was a standout. The staff and the ownerrs were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I felt at home in this hotel. The room itself and bathroom were spacious and clean.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Alps are obviously better - but come at an extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fats75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights in July 2011, although from our room the Eiger was in full view a lot of our friends had views over the railway station along with the assocciated noise. Our room was clean and tidy with no complaints.
The food however was bland even for two nights, the meat was tough and dry and everything tasted the same. I understand that they have to cater for all tastes however it would have been nice for even a small selection of different food.
The whole area is very clean and tidy and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ999rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £113 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very walls that greet you as you approach the Hotel Derby are steeped in history. The "Hotel de la Gare" was built here by the legendary Captain Gsteiger at the end of the 19th century. The same underlying principle applied then as it does now: we want to offer our guests a holiday that will long remain with them as a happy memory. Just travelling to the Derby is a pleasure in itself. The journey by rail could hardly be easier. We are passionate about hospitality and welcome you with a very special combination of attention to details and unobtrusive service. Stylish rooms and suites offer you plenty of space to unwind, relax and take in the splendid Mountain View. All rooms offer view to the surrounding mountains and are equipped with shower or bath/toilet, satellite TV, minibar and safe. The junior suites additionally provide a separate sitting corner. Most of the rooms have a balcony. In total 4 restaurants are at your choice. Either for an elegant dining experience, a tasteful 5-course-menu, a hearty Swiss dish or one of the various fondue specialities, our knowledgeable staff will be happy to advise you and to complete your stay by an attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing