We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place To Stay”
Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Derby Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Bridge Of Earn
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place To Stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This is the first time my Wife and I have stayed here,it certainly wont be the last.The room was clean and comfortable the view from the Balcony was just what we wanted (looking over the railwat station and up the main street) The food was excellent and plenty of it(i like my food and decent size servings) Your hosts are delightful and make sure you are looked after.The staff are polite and look after your every need. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the Eiger you need a south facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scampBridgeOfEarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    174
    38
    6
    3
See reviews for
114
225
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were taken aback by how dated the rooms were when we first stepped in and mind you it was the most expensive hotel of our honeymoon. Once we settled down we discovered that the tv and the mini fridge did not work as well. The staff managed to fix the tv but could do nothing about the mini fridge. We were glad to leave this overpriced hotel and town.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extacy2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The hotel has a convenient central location next to the train station and close to the bus station. Notwithstanding, it is a relatively quiet location at night. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed.

The food is good and half board is recommended, particularly as it is expensive to eat out in Switzerland. Dinner comprised a five course set menu with plenty of variation during our stay. Normally an alternative course can be arranged if it were to be necessary. The menu is in French and German, but the staff are keen to explain in English.

The hotel provides a free bus pass for local buses that is most useful for exploring the immediate area for a couple of days.

Hotel staff are helpful and friendly. We had a very enjoyable time.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a superior room - these are lighter and face The Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a pretty typical European 3 star hotel. Shoebox rooms, no AC, but clean. If you expect the Intercontinental, look for a hotel with more stars. Traveling solo and on a Swissrail pass package voucher, I expected to be given the worst room. And I was.
The good: the location right on the rail station was outstanding, especially since I arrived at 1 AM. The hotel was very clean, and the bed was fairly comfortable. If you are lucky enough to get a larger room with terrace under the Eiger face, you will have a great view. My train station view was surprisingly quiet - slept with window open but not awakened by noise..
The cons: my room was dark and depressing. It looked like a man purchased the cheapest carpet and fixtures he could find, then told a woman to try to dress it up on the tiniest budget. Yes, the toilet and sink are avacado green. But they look fairly new, and I spent very little time in the room anyway - I came here to hike and be outdoors in the glorious Alps, The Eiger facing rooms (seen during check-out cleaning) looked much brighter and cheerier

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesspuppymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We arrived in Grindelwald around noon time and wanted to go hiking right away as we had only that afternoon to spend in Grindelwald. The location was more than perfect! It is right on the platform. So if you are busy traveller like us, this is definetely a plus. The receptionist was so kind and she gave us the first room which opened even it was way before the check-in time. So we could change our clothe for hiking and caught the next train to Grund which came in 10 minutes after check in!

The guidebook recommended to ask for a Aiger-side room. We got a platform-side room. But it was fun to watch trains and many tourists come and go from the balcony. Since there is no announcement at the statin in Switzerland, it was very quiet! View is still nice.

The room is clean and has everything you need. Breakfast is very good too (especially soft boiled eggs!).

Room Tip: It is nice if you can have a view of Aiger, but If you like to watch trains, the room facing platfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeQueue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranto, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Hotel Derby has also some beautiful apartments in typical wooden Swiss chalets.
We stayed for a week in a lovely apartment named "First" by the name of a local mountain.
The apartment was clean and comfortable. We had a beautiful view from the window of our bedroom on the three famous Grindelwald mountains (the Moench, the Eiger and the Jungfrau) and we could also see several little waterfalls getting down. The chalet has a nice little garden full of flowers and a typical wooden fountain. A free parking is available. The chalet is only five minutes' steps from the centre of Grindelwald. Besides apartment "First", there are three more apartments in the same chalet: "Eiger", "Moench" and "Jungfrau", each one with own entrance (see their website http://www.derby-grindelwald.ch/ in German and English and click on "Chalets"). They all can be rented for a minimum of 7 days' stay. You can decide to rent only the apartment or to have half-board (in this second case, you have to walk to the hotel - only 5 minutes - to have breakfast and lunch or dinner). Price is very good, if you consider the high Swiss standard of prices.
The staff is very polite and can speak several languages; on our arrival they gave us some good typical Swiss food (local cheese and more) and the same thing happened when we paid before going away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supermarcaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for a weekend at the hotel, and had a family room (sleeping 2 adults and 3 kids) and another room for two adults on the same floor. The family room was perfect for our needs and slept the children in an adjoining (but not closed off room) but there was enough space for them to sleep and us still be able to go on the balcony or be in our room without disturbing them. There was also a roof terrace and small indoor lounge on the fourth floor with books and games for the children to play with which was a help. Parking was behind the hotel, just off the train station platform but was right next to the hotel reception so secure. We had a great stay and thought the staff were lovely and Grindelwald was a beautiful place to visit. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Property: Derby Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very walls that greet you as you approach the Hotel Derby are steeped in history. The "Hotel de la Gare" was built here by the legendary Captain Gsteiger at the end of the 19th century. The same underlying principle applied then as it does now: we want to offer our guests a holiday that will long remain with them as a happy memory. Just travelling to the Derby is a pleasure in itself. The journey by rail could hardly be easier. We are passionate about hospitality and welcome you with a very special combination of attention to details and unobtrusive service. Stylish rooms and suites offer you plenty of space to unwind, relax and take in the splendid Mountain View. All rooms offer view to the surrounding mountains and are equipped with shower or bath/toilet, satellite TV, minibar and safe. The junior suites additionally provide a separate sitting corner. Most of the rooms have a balcony. In total 4 restaurants are at your choice. Either for an elegant dining experience, a tasteful 5-course-menu, a hearty Swiss dish or one of the various fondue specialities, our knowledgeable staff will be happy to advise you and to complete your stay by an attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing