We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to my heart”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kreuz & Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to my heart”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I've been going to Hotel Kreuz since I was a little girl and though the facilities have been updated and it continues to evolve, the tradition and charm that make this place so lovely remains! It has been a family run hotel for as long as I remember and each generation brings something special to creating the warm atmosphere. You can see the owners Helen and Martin daily, always keeping a close eye on the comfort of their visitors.

The hotel is very clean and located right in town, with direct access to all buses (for sledding and skiing) and the train up to Juangfrau.

The food is absolutely delicious, bringing elegance to heart warming food.
Try the Kreuz Curry for something truly special!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyJourneZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    112
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
66
154
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a smart, modern (but fairly traditional inside) 4* hotel right by the train station and the bus station. Perfectly located for winter sports and summer hiking.

The single room I stayed in was more than adequate - very clean and comfortable. The decor was dated, but pleasant and cosy. The hotel has a number of options for dining and drinking and all we tried were very good. The service was friendly and attentive, particularly the reception staff and the barman in the Apero bar.

It goes without saying this is one of the most beautiful mountain landscapes in the world. I've previously stayed in both Wengen and Murren so was interested to stay in Grindelwald for the first time. It was a very different experience - more of a town (with cars !) and a few more shops etc. I would also say the nightlife is fairly quiet - mainly centred around the hotels rather than standalone bars.

The only small gripe the skiers had was it was a bit of an uphill/downhill (gritted) walk to the ski room which is accessed from outside the hotel. The best option might be to store kit next door at the rental shop, which they did for free.

I would happily stay here again - preferably when the Swiss France is not quite so strong against other currencies (which is the only reason for the average mark for value) !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Kreuz + Post Hotel in Grindelwald during the 30th World Snow Festival. The hotel room was very comfortable, warm, and spotless. Our room overlooked the spectacular Eiger. Helena and Martin were wonderful hosts and the hotel staff was very professional and friendly. Desk clerks happily provided any information that was needed about sk rentals, train departures, or summer events.
The food prepared by Martin was the best I've ever had in Switzerland. We have stayed at this hotel three times and hope to return again and again.
The downstairs bar provided us with great entertainment and we made many new friends each time we went in for drinks and dancing.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a spectacular view of the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prangins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Hotel personnel makes you feel cozy and warm even in the deepest snow of the season. Hotel is right in the center of a charming village, next to the train station, sport center. The room was spacious, very clean and warm. Comfortable beds. Quiet and rustic-way-charming. We had a half-board package: good food and excellent wine list.
Area good not only for skiing, but for winter hiking as well. Beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiklaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmar, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Likes:
- very friendly staff
- bar with live music (no noise in the room though) and an cozy sitting room where you can have drinks too
- breakfast
- location
- antique room interior was ok
- price was ok (booked on hotels.com)

Dislikes:
- no fancy bath products (just shampoo and soap)
- tricky to reach car park if there's snow/ice
- both bedside lamps didn't work

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roomservice99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Kreuz & Post for six nights and what six nights they were!
The hotel is located across the train station and in the heart of the Grindelwald village, surrounded by small shops, restaurants and mountains. I was welcomed by very friendly staff and I was delighted to be offered a double room instead of the booked single one for the same price! My only requirement of a quiet room was completely fulfilled as my room was facing mountains away from the street noise.
It was a modern double warm bedroom with an extremely clean and beautiful bathroom and most comfortable duvets I experienced in a long time.
The big plus of the hotel is the food. Always beautifly presented and very very tasty, I felt spoilt with choice both for breakfast and dinner.
The owner of the hotel made an effort and came to meet all her guests every evening to make sure they were all happy and she organized the evening of traditional music during my stay which I found very entertaining. In addition I would like to mention very friendly staff, particularly the waitress Jelena who wasalways very professional and ready to assist with the advice.
Overall despite the hotel belonging to the top range of hotels, it welcomed me with homely pleasant atmosphere and I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucia_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKreuzPost, Manager at Hotel Kreuz & Post, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Mrs Borovickova

Thank you for these kind lines and for the feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Family Konzett and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palisade, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

There's easy access to the trains, buses and everything you'll need in Grindelwald. The views off the balcony are breathtaking, and the staff very kind and professional. The upper floors house a relaxing sauna and steam room. All meals were delightful. The chef is fabulous, the wait staff treated us wonderfully. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms have deep tubs and plentiful hot clean water, and the cleaning staff was efficient and respectful. Thank you for a wonderful week in Grindelwald!

Room Tip: the balcony rooms overlooking the Eiger and World Snow Festival were splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKreuzPost, Manager at Hotel Kreuz & Post, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Tim

Thank you very very much for this wonderful review.

Regards from Grindelwald

Family Konzett and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz & Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz & Post

Property: Hotel Kreuz & Post
Address: Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kreuz & Post 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schones Hotel an bester Lage im Zentrum von Grindelwald neben der kleinen Jungfraubahnstation. 42 Zimmer und Suiten mit traumhafter Bergsicht. Rustikale und elegante Restaurants und Panoramasaal. Intern. Kuche. Verschiedene Aufenthaltsraume und Seminarraum. Wellness. Fitness. Dachterrasse. Gratis WIFI und Parkplatze ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kreuz & Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kreuz And Post
Hotel Kreuz Post
Kreuz Post Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing