We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this what I was Sold??”
Review of Hotel Kreuz & Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Is this what I was Sold??”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for 02 nights, to avoid ''touristy'' interlaken. Just stones throw from the grindelwald station.
I had booked well in advance and on the day of arrival, it was told that the restaurant was closed on that particular day and would open only the next evening. I mean c'mon, you could have told that earlier while i was getting the bookings done. The reception guy really had no clue of the things around, when we asked for things like where can we eat, places which would be open etc. Had to self naviage (though was easier being a small hill town).You may be tempted by the look of things on their website, but that's how it goes. The rooms are very dull and corridors are too tight, its a very very basic kinda hotel and far too pricey. The restaurant is still better than the hotel but nothing outstanding either.

If you plan to just sleep, probably get yourself a cheaper hotel than this and a better nights sleep.
Avoid it if you really want to enjoy your stay in this beautiful land.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe_traveller_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKreuzPost, Inhaber at Hotel Kreuz & Post, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear „global_traveller_20“

we always welcome constructive feedback of our guests. However, it makes us sad that you didn’t try to speak with us personally about your dissatisfaction. Further it is extremely surprising that you publish such negative reviews almost 1 year after your stay with us and this even twice and as an anonymous person.

In the low season “November” our restaurant is closed on Monday. Just 5 of 50 hotels/restaurants are opened in the low season in Grindelwald. We are one of this 5, just with 1 day of rest on Mondays. This doesn’t mean that our hotel guests have to go out to find a restaurant, because our house guest can always eat the half board- Menu in our dining room which is open 7 days a week.
As you wrote in your review our Restaurant has a very good reputation. We wouldn’t & we never described the restaurant as “chic”. Our guests like the typical Swiss rustic style and the traditional good food.
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

As our first priority is to satisfy all our guests. We always appreciate if guests give us their
feedback directly as in that way we can react and find a solution or explain directly. If you come back to our hotel and restaurant I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

We hope that one of our happy guests will read this and they may answer you as well

Kind regards from Grindelwald, from the beautiful Berner Oberland

Hotel Kreuz & Post
Helena Konzett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    114
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
67
156
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated to allow you to enjoy Grindelwald and the area fully. The staff were very helpful, the room we had was spacious and the breakfast very good. The south facing rooms with balcony are great with views out to the Eiger.

Room Tip: South facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rousesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and I wished I had stayed longer. From the moment we arrived we where greeted in a friendly and welcoming way, Lena was very helpful and started our stay of on the right note. The only small thing is the beds are firm but I didn't mark the hotel down for this as they exceeded my expectations in all the other ways. The breakfast was good. The hotel is less than 100m from the station so its easy to get to when dragging along suitcases.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had booked two nights, through Travel Republic, at the Jungfrau Lodge in Grindelwald. We, there were two couples, arrived at the hotel, took our six bags from the car and went to reception. We were met by an embarrassed Receptionist who told us that we could not stay at the Jungfrau Lodge as our rooms had been double booked. Instead they had paid themselves for a transfer to the 4* Hotel Kreuz & Post in the town centre.

WHAT A RESULT!!

An upgrade and a far better location, right next to the Railway station in the heart of the town.

The rooms were amazing, directly facing Mt Eiger, with a super balcony to use to take in the extraordinary mountain views. Excellent room size, with the room in very good condition, plenty of towels, toiletries. Lovely comfy chairs to sit on and a very good quality bed. We had two days breakfasts and two nights dinner at the Hotel all of which were of super quality and very well cooked and presented. It was nice to see one of the Hotel owners going round the dining room asking if all was well. Lovely, helpful reception staff who were informative and understanding of the travellers needs.

Hotels in Switzerland are not cheap but I felt that the tariff for the Kreuz & Post was fair and represented good value.

We took the train ride to the top of the Jungfrau--it just has to be done. Jaw dropping scenery that just takes your breath away (it was -3c when we were there!!!).

One of the best days of my life---period.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porscheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Nice looking hotel almost on the station compound overlooking the bus-stand. The receptionist gave us a room with a balcony- that was so superb! Room was very spacious and beautiful. They also issued us a city-pass for our whole stay which allowed us traveling by bus to kill time, that is if you are left with any! We were slightly disappointed with the breakfast- but may be it was our fault that we thought Swiss breakfasts are similar to German ones! Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: If booking through internet, call them afterwards and ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Beautiful village, scenic just like a chocolate box, we stayed over Christmas and New year. They know how to enjoy the festive celebrations. They do everything for you we went full board for our holiday and had a great time. The food is 4* plus the rooms top end ski chalet and we went for views looking over the eiger and jungfrau mountains and it's is just incredible to wake to that view every morning. Fantastic time, lovely skiing you'll enjoy it.

Skiing wise it's limited for experienced skiers, you'll ski it out in 3 days that's includes Wengen, but go for the downhill and try it out, it's a thrill.

Down side, evening parties and après ski being enjoyed till 4 am and they seem to settle in the car park outside the hotel, otherwise it's a great place, wonderful you got to go once in your life if you ski..

We went twice in Dec 06/07 & 08/09...it's that nice a place...

Room Tip: If you a view go eiger/jungfrau side to view the mountains, downside you may hear the night time cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fryertuck100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed for three nights in June 2013 and really enjoyed this hotel. The owners and staff are SO helpful and the location is right next to the train station to go to Jungfrau (Top of Europe). The hotel rooms have modern, upgraded bathrooms while still keeping the authentic Swiss charm of the property. The on-site resturant and patio are very good, too. Breakfast (eggs, fruits, breads, yogurt, etc) was included.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz & Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz & Post

Property: Hotel Kreuz & Post
Address: Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kreuz & Post 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schones Hotel an bester Lage im Zentrum von Grindelwald neben der kleinen Jungfraubahnstation. 42 Zimmer und Suiten mit traumhafter Bergsicht. Rustikale und elegante Restaurants und Panoramasaal. Intern. Kuche. Verschiedene Aufenthaltsraume und Seminarraum. Wellness. Fitness. Dachterrasse. Gratis WIFI und Parkplatze ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kreuz & Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kreuz And Post
Hotel Kreuz Post
Kreuz Post Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing