We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not go there again, even if it's affortable”
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #1 of 22 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Positive:
located in the center, affortable for Grindelwald price level. Paqrking spaces available at the hotel (not all hotels in grindelwald have that)

Negative:
Unfreindly stuff, very hectic, wanted to charge the kid extra after the booking, room small and old fashioned. Overall not very comfortable, bed was breaking down during the night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank defMunichCanyonRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

My husband and I took a trip to Switzerland with my mum and dad last week and on our 3rd day we arrived in Grindelwald and to this hotel.
We got great service from the moment we checked in. Room was spacious and comfortable, only complaint was the noise from the roadworks outside-through no fault of the hotel. We all stayed on the 5th floor, my parents in a beautiful room with a balcony with a LCD TV and us in another room with a smaller TV but a nice and comfortable room. Rooms were clean and tidy and cleaned everyday. There is a reasonably priced (for Swiss standards) minibar in the rooms.
We had free internet access. Reception prints off a receipt with a username and password and it expires every 6 hours but they were more than happy to top it up daily. We asked for three at a time and there was no moaning.
Breakfast was free with our stay and served daily from 7-10. I would advise going in at 7 as all the food goes by the time you get there even at 8. They do however top it up if busy. They serve tea and coffee as many times as you like. Food was delicious and fresh.
You can use the swimming pool down the road for free.

Restaurants are quite expensive so we went to the Co-op down the road and bought breads, cheeses, hams and food for dinner to save money. We bought loads of beer and put it in our mini bar to cool (we'd emptied their drinks out and put our food/drinks in)

I need to mention Amy, one of the hotel staff who was absolutely lovely, my mother got talking to her and she went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. We asked her for plates, knives and forks to eat our dinner with and she gave it to us, along with constantly filling up an ice bucket for us for our drinks. One night my husband was unwell and we asked for painkillers, she gave us some along with some tea that my mum asked for and two cups. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was brilliant!!! would recommend this hotel to anybody and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashii24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Our room was on the fourth floor with a mountain view. The room was on the small side and ours had the sink in the main bedroom which was a bit weird. As stated, the bed was two singles pushed together, but not uncommon in this part of the world. The view from the balcony was fantastic and it was great to sit outside at the end of the afternoon with a drink looking at the mountain and the activity on the street below.
Breakfast was good with a good choice of mostly cold food. There's no restaurant, but there are plenty in the village including one in the hotels adjacent to the Bernerhof
A minor negatives was that the soundproofing between the rooms wasn't too good and there's no tea/coffee making in the room although you can get get hot drinks in the lounge till 10:00pm. The internet access was free and in our room there was a good signal and speed - ask reception for a free access code.
I can't imagine why other reviewers have rated this hotel so badly. It's not the best hotel in Grindelwald, but it's friendly, cosy, good value and in a great location. We will certainly plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

This was the most expensive place on our travels and for what we paid, our room was not up to scratch, however travelling at christmas everything is so expensive and this was cheapest we could find. However, we did have a great stay here, breakfast was excellent, views are amazing, it's right at the start of the shops and restaurants and when travelling with backpacks, it's only 2 minutes, if that, from train. The guy at reception was super friendly. I would stay here again, Grindelwald is AMAZING! Computers can be used for free internet in dining room. Very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72aok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

My partner and I had a great experience with this hotel. We asked for (and got) an 'Eiger view' room, which had a lovely sun-drenched balcony. The room was very clean and bright; my only complaint is that, as with many hotels in Europe it seems, they have the "All-in-One" liquid soap dispenser in the shower; no bar soap or shampoo.
The front desk staff were very friendly and personable, especially one of the desk staff (we unfortunately didn't get his name) who gave us all the information we needed to have an amazing time. He was extremely helpful.
We really liked the free coffee/tea all day, and also made use of the computer/internet in the dining area.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coco7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed at the Bernerhof Hotel Grindelwald for 7 nights over Christmas 2009.
The room was tiny. Hardly any room for our bags. We had to put a side table in the cupboard to make room for our baggage.
We were pretty disappointed in the room.
It was also quite noisy. The hallway was floorboards which made it echo a lot when people were talking in the hallway.
The TV in the room was really small.
We found the staff a bit hit and miss. Some days they were really friendly and would answers questions and recommend things, other days they would just ignore you or not be all that helpful.
Plenty to choose from for breakfast.
Great view if you are facing the mountain and if you're not there is a lounge area where you can sit and drink the free coffee or water and enjoy the view.
Next time we would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cass and Age
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Benerhof. First off, it is super close to the train station. It's literally a 5 minute walk. We were greeted by Ilias who was wonderful. He made us feel totally welcomed and had awesome recommendations on things to do and see around Grindelwald. The room was nice, clean and we had our own private balcony. The breakfast in the morning was great as well and they had a lot of different options (although a toaster would have been nice). They didn't have any shampoo in the room which normally isn't a big deal, but we ran out by the time we reached this hotel and didn't want to buy any since we wouldn't be able to bring it home in our carry-on. It's close to everything in town so its easy to get to the trails, restaurants, fitness centre, etc. Definately take advantage of the free entry to the fitness centre. The pool is fantastic after a long day of hiking and has breath-taking views of the mountains. There is also a cinema very close by, but is a little pricey (was around $16 USD/per person when we went)

There were a few bummers for us is during the time we stayed here. First, they were doing road construction, so in the morning it was really loud. However the view of Eiger made up for the noise and I'm sure it was just a temporary thing. I would also recommend getting a room that is not by the elevator as it can be pretty loud at times (our room was right next to it). The internet connection is also not very good. Not sure if this is an important factor, but for us it would have helped to have a faster connection. Overall though, it was a great experince and I would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishfirebyh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
616 reviews
0 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#34 of 41 in Grindelwald
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Dorfstrasse 89, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price Range: £119 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with a cosy bar, directly at the station and sport-center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing