We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELIEST HOTEL IN GRINDELWALD!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights and enjoe every minute!
we had the suit up at the 5th floor with the amazing view to the EIgger. the suit was comfortabble for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers) and allowed us to rest, nap, play card, have snacks in the living room, etc...
The only thing that need to be improved isb Breakfast which sufferd with poor selection of vegetables, breads, and did not vary from day to day.
Go for it!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice123075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at the Sunstar Hotel for 3 nights as part of a Swiss Tour. On check in we were upgraded to a suite free of charge. A lovely surprise. The suites are very roomy and tastefully furnished. They have a large balcony overlooking the First Ski Run and cable cars. There is a free minibar of soft drinks and beer in the rooms which is replenished daily. The hotel lounge is very spacious and comfortable and has a beautiful outdoor sitting area overlooking the north face of the Eiger. The hotel is well situated for the train station. We stayed half board and breakfast buffet had a very good selection of food. Each main course of the evening meal is displayed outside the dining room which is a great idea, so you can see what each course looks like before ordering. The food is lovely and very well presented. The dining staff very pleasant and efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and rate this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald. Great hotel with excellent staff!
They have noted from the registration card that my birthday is during our stay and the manager sent me a nice card and some chocolates which was a very nice touch. Thank you! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We were on half board basis and the dinner was superb every evening.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Fantastic hosts and staff. Visited in Feb 2010 on my own and found the hotel friendly, clean, great food and the spa facilities a bonus. Especially like the free mini bar replenished daily and its location directly opposite the First ski lift and with a ski bus stop directly outside the front door with direct buses to and from the Mannlichen Gondola and station. As a guest you get a 30% discount off the hire cost from Intersport shop in the hotel. So this Xmas went back with my partner and mother. We went skiing and my mother was booked into the spa for 2 days of pampering. She was happy and so were we, Christmas food and entertainment were excellent, we even got a Christmas gift from the hotel. Returned this last week, February half term with a good friend. Both had a great time. Each time I have had a room overlooking the road but well sound proofed and I have never been woken by traffic or people noise. We also took advantage of the back stage tour, the fondue by torchlight evening and cocktail making demo, all included. We stayed half board taking out the hassle of going out and finding good food, also cost effective considering each meal was 4 courses. (5 on Sunday). Had a fantastic time and after your second stay you get a 5% discount. Stay 5 nights and get a deal price, stay 7 and get free rail transport to the hotel from the Swiss border or airport. Great value and great service. Room very clean and bathrooms spotless. Slippers and robe provided in room. Pool has a steam room on the side. Spa and treatments at additional cost. Breakfast is fantastic. Hotel staff always obliging and helpful. Will collect and take you and your luggage to the rail station saving the 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S_Forder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This hotel is very well located in the middle of town, has store to rent skying equipment, bus stop at the door, and 3 min walk to cable car.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfromportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Sunstar in almost every aspect except the sleep quality. The beds were so hard that my hips were bruised the next morning from sleeping on my side. Other than that, everything else was great. We had a wonderful view from our room. The staff was friendly & helpful and the location was wonderful (downtown Grindelwald). It is directly across from the First Gondola, one of the main lifts on that part of the mountain. Only thing is, we did not like the skiing on this part of the mountain at all. There were many flat spots where we had to take off our skis/snowboard & walk. Also, there were so many people it was just a bit over-crowded. So if you want to ski this part of the mountain, the Sunstar is the perfect location. Otherwise, you may want to find something closer to another lift, like Mannlichen (much better skiing). But the bus also stops right in front of the hotel if you need to get to another lift as well via bus or train. Breakfast & dinner was included in our rate and the food was just alright. Out of 3 dinner nights, only 1 night did we really enjoy our entire meal. But that may just be because we're not used to their style of cooking. One thing the staff did that was great was they brought us up our dinner to our room (since my husband broke his ankle & couldn't walk). I would recommend this hotel to someone but precaution them about our experience. I think if we were to go back, we would probably try out a different place. For what we paid, we didn't feel like the price matched the value we got.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfoolsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This was a lovely hotel, smart, stylish, comfortable. The public areas were spacious and smart. Food was excellent, varied, beautifully prepared and presented. The breakfast buffet was very extensive and dinner was imaginative and delicious. Wine at dinner was very expensive. Our room was large and comfortable, with a free mini-bar containing water, soft drinks and beer. The view from our bedroom window of the Eiger was dramatic and wonderful. The only slight disappointment with this hotel was staff service, particularly at reception, which was quite frankly a bit unhelpful and disinterested. Grindelwald was both a lovely destination in itself and also a great base for visiting other places. A trip up to First on the cable cars is a must!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £163 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing