We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Excellent location with stunning views of the surrounding mountains.

Rooms were well appointed and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle15780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    148
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
120
135
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Had a lovely stay in grindelwald, this is a lovely hotel with good facilities and for a fair price given the area. Though for us it was definitely all about the view! We could happily have spent hours on the balcony enjoying the views of the Eiger and surrounding mountains. We would definitely return here. The jungfraujoch although not the cheapest trip is definitely a must see while you are in grindelwald.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Well I feel like I hit the jackpot with the Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald. My wife and I stayed there 3 nights and wished it was 7.
The hotel is big as it has incorporated the hotel next to it but don't be put off by its size as it still feels intimate and welcoming. It has a fantastic swimming pool and health spar and on a sunny day you can sit outside on the loungers and lake in the view as the location of the Sunstar is stunning with the Eiger massif practically in its garden.
Across the road is the First Bahn gondola which I would recommend taking just for the views at the top. We had a junior suite overlooking the front of the hotel and the First gondola station. The room was huge with a separate lounge and bedroom. The big bonus with this hotel is the free bar fridge in the rooms. Each day it would be stocked up with beer, coke, water and orange juice. It was perfect at the end of the day to come back to the room and have a drink on the balcony and watch the world go by and at last a hotel with tea and coffee in the room, Hotel Nirvana!!
The staff are all very helpful and with a choice of menu the food was first class.
Grindelwald is not a big resort so I would recommend getting out and about by using the various cable cars and buses to see the area. Of particular note is the Männlichen Cable Car ( the longest in the world) up to the top station and then walk to Kleine Scheidegg and get the train back to Grindelwald. it is a very easy walk and the views of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau are stunning.
I have never found a hotel that has impressed me enough to want to return but the Sunstar at Grindelwald has and I look forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefamilyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Our party of three (myself, my husband and teenage son) stayed here for 3 nights during the summer. I had booked a Junior Suite and we were extremely pleased with it - plenty of room with a double bedroom, separate seating area, and probably the most wonderful bathroom I have ever experienced in a hotel - dual sinks, large bath and luxury shower, lovely fluffy towels, robes and everything spotlessly clean. We had a really comfortable stay. Our Junior Suite had absolutely stunning views towards the north face of the Eiger, and we really couldn't have been more pleased.

The breakfasts featured plenty of choice - something for everyone and all very well presented. Spacious lounge and bar areas. The staff are courteous, helpful and unfailingly polite. We spent a few hours in the Spa area and pool which was very relaxing (and deserted when we used it).

Would definitely return to this hotel, and possibly try others in the Sunstar range.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the tradtional part of the hotel. The rooms at the rear overlook the beautiful gree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RushHourSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Spent 11 nights here on a half-board basis and were more than happy with it all. Very comfortable in the rooms although rather on the warm side at night due to the lovely weather and the 'winter' duvet!
The food was absolutely wonderful; well prepared, cooked and a great variety. Couldn't have asked for a better selection at breakfast and the 5 courses we had on an evening were often too much for us. Particularly enjoyed the Sunday night fondue meal. A logistical nightmare I can imagine but it didn't show. Staff were on the whole helpful and efficient and there was only one evening they fell short! Unfortunately, it happened to be our Silver wedding anniversary so was rather disappointing. Interesting to read that in another review someone was treated on their birthday but although they had been told by our travel agent, we got no recognition and had one of our most expensive meals in the hotel. We decided to treat ourselves to a bottle of wine which, at the current rate of the pound cost us 45 pounds!!
I would love to go back, both to the hotel and Grindelwald, but at the moment, with the Swiss franc so strong, we most definitely wouldn't, as everything is about twice the price of what it is in UK. On our way back to the airport in Zurich, we stopped off in Lucern where we had 2 pizzas and 2 cold drinks and that was the equivalent of 50 pounds!!! Grindelwald is one of the loveliest places I have ever been to and, if I could go back, I would certainly go back to the Sunstar hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room to get the views of the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights and enjoe every minute!
we had the suit up at the 5th floor with the amazing view to the EIgger. the suit was comfortabble for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers) and allowed us to rest, nap, play card, have snacks in the living room, etc...
The only thing that need to be improved isb Breakfast which sufferd with poor selection of vegetables, breads, and did not vary from day to day.
Go for it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice123075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at the Sunstar Hotel for 3 nights as part of a Swiss Tour. On check in we were upgraded to a suite free of charge. A lovely surprise. The suites are very roomy and tastefully furnished. They have a large balcony overlooking the First Ski Run and cable cars. There is a free minibar of soft drinks and beer in the rooms which is replenished daily. The hotel lounge is very spacious and comfortable and has a beautiful outdoor sitting area overlooking the north face of the Eiger. The hotel is well situated for the train station. We stayed half board and breakfast buffet had a very good selection of food. Each main course of the evening meal is displayed outside the dining room which is a great idea, so you can see what each course looks like before ordering. The food is lovely and very well presented. The dining staff very pleasant and efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and rate this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing