We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunstar Grindelwald”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

great spot - probably the best in Grindelwald as it is on the downhill side of the street so your view of the Eiger and Monch are not degraded by passing traffic - its expensive though as are all things in Switzerland - we used this hotel as a base for 5 days of hiking and touring the Berner Oberland area (Grindelwald, Wengen, Murren, Latterbrunen, Interlaken) - its a 5 minute walk to the train (to Interlaken) or a 10 minute walk to Grund (for Kliene Sheidigg and Jungfrau) or 20 minutes to Mannlichen gondola (Wengen, Latterbrunen and Murren) - we ate each night in the hotel under their "half board" meal plan - the food was excellent - very swiss - though the dining room was a bit sterile - however the view of the mountains is unsurpassed for any restaruant i have ever been to - we took a junior suite and it was exceptionally good - very spacious with exposed pine boards and beams - the view again is unsurpassed - pay the extra for the mountain view - pay the extra for the suite - pay the half board to sit for hours in their dining room staring at mountians that climb 6000 ft right in front of you

Room Tip: any room facing the mountains - suite preferably
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat_G_Pitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Nice location. Great view. Normal ser. Avg cleaness. Supported staff. Big hotel. Over price but this is swiss.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms in top for better view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohammed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a very expensive hotel and I'm not sure it lives up to its expense.
There is a massive lounge where we went most evenings which has a piano player (nightlife in Grindlewald is pretty quiet). Every night we had to look for someone to serve us a drink (which took ages) - even if there were a few people waiting for a drink. On Friday night, the last drink was served at 10pm!
The hotel caters for large parties from India and Japan. When these arrive you can forget about using the lifts for at least an hour, as there are massive queue's for them.
The hotel caters for business seminars and these can be quite disruptive when you are sitting on the veranda hoping for a bit of quiet time looking at the stunning views. All of a sudden 30 business people will come out for a break, chatting and making mobile calls. This lasts for about 30 minutes and is right behind you.
Also, on some afternoons we found fruit,coffee and cakes left out in the main lounge. Thinking these were for guests (We were paying a lot of money after all), we had some fruit. Only to be told not to touch it as it was for the business seminar. This is in the main hotel lounge - there was no notce or sign to say this.
If you are looking for a topclass and better customer-focussed hotel in Grindelwald I would strongly consider the Regina, just 2 minutes down the road. The views are as good, and the focus of the hotel is much more towards the paying holiday guest.

Room Tip: If you are going to this hotel I would suggest the only rooms worth having are those facing the Eige...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have been to Grindelwald before and know what a beautiful setting it is, with stunning mountains all around and the formidable North wall of the Eiger towering into the sky.
The Sunstar hotel sits in a very good location immediately opposite the lift to the First ski area, and with a bus stop outside making travel to the Mannlichen lift and train station very easy. The availability of ski hire and the buying of ski passes in the hotel added to convenience.
Our hotel room was excellent, as was the choice and quality of food on half-board (special mention for Jessica in the restaurant who was first class).
Overall, we just enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. The lounge area is big and comfortable, very relaxing. The staff are extremely helpful. We expected something good but it exceeded our expectations and we would return for sure.

Room Tip: By booking direct rather than through some packages we discovered the suites, which for a family of...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjmc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at the Sunstar for 2 nights with a friend. We were there for a ski weekend so were never going to spend much time at the hotel - and for that purpose it is perfect. I don't think you could stay any closer to the Firstbahn and the ski bus to Männlichen or the bahnhof (to get a train to Kleine Scheidegg) stops right outside the hotel. First is a great area for easy skiing and Männlichen/Kleine Scheidegg is a much bigger ski area with more variety and more challenging skiing.

The hotel itself is fine - nothing special and the decor is a bit old fashioned. The ski room is a bit small and poky and the ski racks seem to have been designed before carving skis. Feels like it is time to refresh this sort of thing.

The free minibar is a nice touch even if it is not that generously stocked. Breakfast is pretty decent and the views of the mountains from the dining room are great, although the dining room itself is functional and nothing more. We chose not to eat dinner there as we thought the dining room was a bit depressing - there are plenty of other options in town.

Parking is OK - the car park was jam packed when we were there and we got one of the last free spaces which involved some complex manoeuvring to get into it.

Service was pretty friendly and helpful and the receptionists were kind enough to go and find the sunglasses I forgot in the ski room and keep them safe till I got back.

The pool is a decent size for swimming a few lengths. Our only real complaint about the hotel was that you have to pay for access to the sauna - surely in a ski hotel charging these sort of prices, sauna access should be free?

Overall, if you are just there for the skiing (or other outdoor activity) then this hotel is a great choice. But if you are looking to spend some time in the hotel, then you might be able to find better options which are a bit more up-to-date/stylish.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed two days at Sunstar Grindelwald and enjoyed the nice location and friendly staff. The hotel is easy to find and offers convenient parking in the basement. The room was nice and spacious offering a great view of the mountains. Breakfast and dinner was very good. Gym all okay and massage was brilliant!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoAOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

•Excellent.
•Friendly helpful staff.
•Good breakfast, pleasant dining room but hot and tables close together.
•Very good dinner and good service.
•Lovely spacious room with superb view of Eiger, free mini bar a real bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £164 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing