We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay - would definitely return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good stay - would definitely return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Sunstar for a week (the penultimate week of the ski season) and booked through UK tour operator Inghams. On arrival at the station the hotel’s mini bus was waiting and it took only a couple of minutes to get to the hotel which is at the opposite end of the town to the train station opposite the First gondola.

We were warmly welcomed and was given a short tour of the hotel prior to being shown to our room which was on the fourth floor overlooking the First gondola. The room was a nice size with plenty of cupboard/hanging space. The mini bar was filled and replenished daily with 2 x beers, still and sparling water, orange and apple juice, coca-cola and sprite. There was still room in the fridge for our own soft drinks and milk as we had brought along our travel kettle as we do love a cup of tea! The only downside for us is that the TV only had one English channel – CNN (no world service) - but after chatting with friends in the resort, it seems that this was the case in their hotel as well.

All the staff in the hotel were always very friendly and helpful and Jasper the golden retriever dog is very cute! There is a lovely large lounge area which has a view overlooking the mountains, which is nice for reading and relaxing. The hotel has a well-equipped gym (although no treadmill) and a swimming pool, towels are available and there is a bathrobe and slippers in your room. There are also small lockers outside the gym area where you can store your wallet, ipod etc.

The restaurant is nice and spacious, again overlooking the mountains – you could never tire of the view. Breakfast was buffet style and you could choose where to sit. There was a small selection of hot food (egg (scrambled and hard boiled) bacon and sausages) along with a wide selection of cereal, breads, croissants, pastries, fruit, cheese etc. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate were available.

For dinner, we were assigned a table which we kept for the week and it was a 5 course meal. The first couple of nights there was a salad bar which you could help yourself to but the remainder of the week a “set” salad was on the menu. As it was almost at the end of the season there was very few people in for dinner each night – approx. 12 people! The staff were happy to supply tap water free of charge and there was a wide range of drinks and wines available for purchase. The meals were a bit rich for our tastes but we did love the Swiss special which was pasta, potato, bacon and cheese that they offered several nights.

I think the only negative point regarding the hotel is the ski/boot room which I think was very poor for a hotel of this size and rating. It was a very small room with one plastic poolside chair. When we first arrived the room was packed and I struggled to find space for my skis/boots. However, within a couple of days the room was pretty much empty so that was fine but I would imagine that during peak season it would be quite challenging to store and retrieve your equipment each day, unless there was an alternative room that we were not made aware of.

As mentioned the hotel is opposite the First gondola so if you are skiing that area it is ideally located. For the other ski areas, you need to get to the train station which is either a 10 minute walk (downhill) or use the free ski bus (the bus stop is outside the hotel). Unfortunately there are no ski lockers available for rent at the train station.

When we arrived it was raining hard, the hotel receptionist offered an additional umbrella (there was one in the room) to borrow. Fortunately the rain turned to snow overnight and it continued to snow throughout the next day. This gave us perfect skiing conditions for the week (after the previous weeks’ extremely mild temperatures). I would not hesitate to return to Grindelwald for skiing and would certainly look at staying at the Sunstar again. I would recommend to friends (it was recommended to me by a friend).

I would also recommend the Swiss rail baggage transfer – we hadn’t used it on our outward journey and it was a bit of a challenge getting our cases on/off all the trains. On the morning of our return journey the Sunstar took us to the station and waited for us. The staff at the train station checked us in for our flight (Swiss Air), issued boarding passes and took our cases – the next time we saw them was at London Heathrow – well worth the 22 Swiss Francs. We then had the rest of the day free before our flight to enjoy Grindelwald and a stress free train journey back to Zurich.

Apologies that this review is so long, but hopefully it will help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank UKTravellerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    133
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
113
120
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just spent there the week-end, the hotel is right in the centre of the village, opposite the cable cars station, can't be better located. The check-in and check-out processes were smooth and quick. The room was very nice, spacious, with a very big balcony offering an amazing view on the mountains and the village (we were on the 4th floor). We used the spa, but were not very satisfied with it: the pool, as per their indication, is supposed to be 26-28 degrees but it was definitely colder. Also there is no staff supervising it, and when we went there were two girls making a lot of noise and splashing continuously in the water, despite the sign of diving being forbidden (with a careless father). It would have been good to have someone from the hotel looking after the premises, it was definitely not a relaxing experience as it should be, very annoying actually. Also we discovered the "silent" part of the spa at the last minute, not very straight-forward to find, as there is no staff at the entrance to explain (the desk was always unattended).
Apart from the spa, we tried the restaurant for dinner, and we were delighted. Beautiful chalet style, delicious food, kind efficient service, we recommend it.
Overall, apart from the spa, we were extremely pleased about our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federica_C_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here the night before we visited Jungfrau. It's really amazing. Hotel room has a cottage feel which is a good experience for tourists like us. A pity that we only get to stay here for a night. Hope to visit Switzerland again in the near future :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

There is only one thing that is worse than an unstaffed hotel: a very large poorly staffed hotel with lots of snow outside. Suddenly you feel like you are reenacting The Shining. Eerie!
On a more serious note, the Sunstar Hotel in Grindelwald is an excellent property. It is located across the road from the ski-lift,15 mins walk from the train station. The guest is welcomed by a spacious reception - from which, oddly, you can peek at the swimmers in the hotel's pool. The rooms are also quite ample: don't expect much from the decor though. The toilet basin is made out of some plastic and the beautiful mountains outside are in stark contrast with the cheap interiors. Nothing negative to report about the cleanliness.
After a day on the slopes, what is more reinvigorating than a warm drink in front of the fireplace? Too bad that spotting a waiter is as arduous as finding a snowboarding camel. Also, the restaurant is closed at lunch time and there is no room service.
We couldn't enjoy the Spa facilities, because there wasn't anyone around. The hotel receptionist wasn't very helpful either: she blabbered something but she acted as if the Spa was part of a different universe (this happened at 10Am).
We were only able to swim in the pool, which was well kept, but we couldn't help feeling that we were somehow sneaking inside furtively.

In conclusion, I would not recommend this hotel: the price is too high for what you get in return, unless, of course, you are a fan of Stephen King or Kubrick.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank koevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel is quite large, but the owners are never far and always check in to make sure that everything is OK so it still has the feel of a small, family-run hotel. Easy to get to from the train station (the hotel picked us up) and very easy check in. Easy to get to the first lift uptowards 'First'. We purchased our lift tickets through the hotel with a discout and they were ready & waiting for us! The food was great, there was enough for a hungry vegetarian like me and they always had several options for meat eaters & veg. Breakfast was, indeed, as they advertised 'lavish'. The dining room staff were very freindly & polite. There was always live music at dinner, including an accordion player and horn player on our last night.
My favourite part was the 'Roman baths'! I went every day after skiing and felt great, even my asthma improved. It was refreshing & relaxing at the same time and as wonderful as it is, never busy. A staff member gave me a quick tour on day 1 which is necessary to figure out the labyrinth of many wonderful things in the spa/pool area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadaleineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

After our first trip in 2009, we left hoping we could return one day. We were able to visit again in August 2013, and the hotel met or exceeded our expectations. The food is our favorite, dinners were outstanding, and even the items we were hesitant to try, were delicious. The half board is the way to go since food is expensive in Switzerland. Every morning, we would look forward to see the posted menu. The town had major construction down the street, but never heard it in the room or on the balcony. Easy walking distance to transportation, restaurants and expensive shopping, but we were there for scenery and sightseeing. The staff were always helpful and pleasant. The managers were very visible and approachable throughout the day and in the restaurants. Wish we could visit every year!

Room Tip: South facing rooms are preferred!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bat9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in September 2012

Good hotel but be prepared to pay a premium price, but then again, it seems that everything in Grindelwald and Interlaken is expensive. Very conveniently located in the town near the First gondola. We had a front facing room, and the outlook into the town was charming. We quite often sat on the balcony and enjoyed the vista with our drinks. It is not far from the railway station, but the hotel provides a courtesy van for arrival and departure. This was very good for us on leaving, as it had just started to rain. The free wifi worked well.

We stayed here on an timeshare exchange but there were considerable extra fees charged, including compulsory breakfast. (In fairness, these were itemised prior to booking, but still came to quite a large sum at the end of the stay). The room was serviced daily including a turndown service (and sometimes a chocolate or lolly left on the pillow - which was a nice touch), and the fridge is restocked with water, orange juice & beer. Although there is no specific charge for the minibar, there were extra charges for the daily service of CHF10 per person (plus hotel taxes of CHF3.20 per person) and the daily charge of CHF 24.00 per person for breakfast. This added an extra CHF520.00 to our weekly bill.

No tea or coffee making facility in the room and no iron – but there was a laundry service for an extra fee. The buffet breakfast was very good withaq wide selection of hot and cold foods and even included champagne on Sundays.

We had a light airy room and the beds were comfortable. On the whole it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing