We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"but we didn't say it was free......."” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"but we didn't say it was free......."”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

We chose this hotel so that my partner could ski and I could have a pleasant time while he was donig this. It advertises spa, pool, steam room etc. It was important to him to be able to use internet 24 hours a day due to international business needs. Well, pool was fine but steam room only available from 2pm - 6pm and for anything else (gym, sauna etc) you had to pay extra by the session. This seemed like a cheek and was not clear from their web page. The manager rather snootily pointed out that they hadn't said it was free either.
Internet access is via a card that you buy. The first three didn't work; we were told to take it up with the providers Swisscom as "all the other customers could use it". (We only spoke to one other guest who had also had great difficulty!)
Room was fne but not really 4* standard. Good to have soft drinks daily in complimentary mini bar but no tea or coffee making facilities so hot drinks had to be bought downstairs.
Evening entertainment was embarrassing. We played "guess the tune" a the resident pianist made this nearly impossible.
the catering was magnificent and the New Year's Eve Gala Dinner well worht the extra we paid. Food of exceptional quality throughout. Shame that there was nothing for a non-skiier and that management so mealy mouthed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    133
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
113
120
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sunstar Hotel for 4 nights in late June. The room and bathroom were large but the decor was terribly dated and the bed was not so comfortable. Our room had a nice-sized balcony as well but one couldn't really enjoy it because it had not been cleaned for quite some time (I am not talking about being swept, more in the area of power clean to get rid of mildew and such).

The hotel is situated in an ideal location for skiers and hikers. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station or if one so chooses a short bus ride.

The breakfast buffet is of okay quality and offers a decent variety. There were a couple of mornings that the eggs, bacon and sausages smelt and tasted old (perhaps that was simply my taste buds, I don't know). The same can be said for dinner, a couple of evening the meal was quite wonderful but on others, it simply tasted to me as if we were having leftovers.

The wellness area was above average and the staff in all their efforts was quite outstanding.

However, given its age, the Sunstar Grindelwald currently is a three star hotel. It is the type of one that is comfortable enough for a couple nights, especially if you plan to be out and about.

In the end, if you are looking for a place to sleep, this might be your place but if you are looking for a relaxation, hangout on the balcony, and enjoy the view sort of place, this is not it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisurebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and the hotel was much more than expected! The staff was very friendly and helpful when needed, always greeting us as we went by the front desk. We booked tickets to 'Top of Europe' and a paragliding (thrill of a lifetime!) trip at the desk. The in room mini bar was great, with local beer, water and sodas at no charge and refilled everyday. This was great because those are an easy $2-4 each at most shops. We stayed on the half-board plan and were not sure what to expect. Dinner was 38CHF and after eating at other restaurants in Switzerland, we knew this was a fair price. The service and food exceeded all expectation! A 4 course meal with 2-3 entrees to chose from each night, absolutely the best veal I have ever had. Beef and lamb on other nights. We looked forward to seeing the menu posted everyday. Nice pool and lobby, about an 8 minute walk to the train station. The weather was great when we were there, and the mountains behind the hotel seemed so close. We still miss sitting on the balcony, listening to the goat and cow bells in the distance! We highly recommend and want to go back one day ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bat9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

Great hotel to stay in for the skiing season. Right opposite the ski lift up to the top of the mountain and the bus stop to the nursery slopes is right outside. Good ski hire shop iin the hotel and good store facilities for boots, skis etc. Right in the centre of town with excellent restaurants opposite. Fabulous lobby area just perfect for a drink and playing cards in the evening by the fire after a days skiing! Rooms lovely with fantastic views of the mountains. Good half board food and buffet breakfast! Free mini bar in the room!!! My only complaint was that you had to pay to use the gym and to pay £8 just to go on the running machine for 40 mins (as there was nowhere to run outside due to heavy snow) seemed a bit extravagant! Staff helpful too!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

We stayed here during a car club trip. There were 25 of us in the group and we all found the hotel to be very good with a high standard of accommodation. Even the minibar if free! We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff were helpful and the food was very good. Prices were reasonable too considering that the Pound has dropped so much against the Euro recently. Breakfast was the usual help yourself BUT the food choice was vast. We will be going back again as Grindelwald has so much to offer and the hotel is fab.

  • Liked — Comfortable and Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain_G_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

We spent four nights at the Sunstar Hotel,Grindelwald during August 2008. The “superior” category room was uninspiring and rather shabby. The main door and bathroom door were both finished in dark imitation-wood Formica and the room décor included a wall-mounted plastic plant. The curtains were not wide enough to cover the main window, the carpet was stained and there was a dire shortage of power points. The room did, though, have an impressive view towards the Grindelwald glacier. The food was generally good (although the feature Swiss evening was a little chaotic) and the restaurant staff very efficient and friendly, as were the staff throughout the hotel. The sauna facilities were not included in the room rate and the cost of Internet access was high.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel given other reviews on this site. We were met by the hotel minibus at the railway station, but chose to walk up instead, to get a feel for the town and to enjoy the beautiful weather. We were greeted with a welcome soft drink and an introductory talk by the owner. The public rooms were attractive and spacious. The rooms to the rear of the hotel had stunning views of the Eiger and the Wetterhorn, and at the front, the view of the gondola ride up to First. The rooms have a free mini bar replenished daily with the local beer and soft drinks. Athough well equipped, the rooms are tired and the furnishings a little grubby. Bathrooms are functional, but the shower is sited for guests of short stature. The food was good and at this hotel there was a choice on the menu. (Yes - we were on a tour). The bonus was that, for the only time, we were allowed to eat at a table for two. But the time of 19:30, was still non-negotiable. (Yes, Kuoni again, how did you guess). We also liked the mock-up of the main dishes outside the dining room so we could see what we would be ordering. Wonderful choice for breakfast, even the hot choices were properly warmed. Nice touch on one evening was a candle on each table. A shame that ours set fire to our menu before we got to the table. The Restaurant Manager, however, was punctilious in making sure things ran smoothly, but was let down by some of his staff, who visibly and volubly did not take kindly to being asked twice to bring things they'd forgotten. The pool and leisure facilities were well spoken of by other guests. Grindelwald is ideal for trips to the surrounding areas and the transport links are excellent

  • Liked — Its location and the views, the personal welcome, the choice at breakfast and the free mini-bar
  • Disliked — The slightly down-at-heel feel of the rooms were a let down.
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trotterinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing