We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous view, Good Restaurant, So So Lodgings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, Good Restaurant, So So Lodgings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The room was OK/adequate but I/we have a couple suggestions: 1) Buy drapes that are wide enough to cover the window. Ours were a good 2 feet too small. 2)Check the two soap dispensers in the bath daily. After my husband took a shower on Day 1 of a two day stay he told the desk that there was no soap in the dispenser. She replied, "They will fill them tomorrow". They didn't. They did hand him a tiny tube of bath liquid,however. Nothing for the sink, not even a bar of soap. 3)A power plug in the bath would be nice. There was no plug but also no mirror in the bed area so I curled my hair using a compact perched on the suitcase.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ADG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
35
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our short stay at Alpina. The location is outstanding with magnificent views, close to the train station and in the center if the village. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast ample and good. The room comfortable. The entire area is picture postcard perfect, no matter where you look. Many nature hikes, cable cars, and mountains to explore. An excellent choice.

Room Tip: We splurged on a balcony room facing the Eigger....we loved sitting on our balcony till late at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellechasse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is very near to train station, less than 2 minutes walk. Room is spacious and very clean, and have a very good view of the mountain. Price is very reasonable and very worth to pay for a room with mountain view.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grace_szetokw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed elsewhere but decided to take the advice of some locals and booked a table in the Alpina's restaurant - and we're glad we did. We went with friends and truly enjoyed the evening. Hotel guests dine in an adjacent dining room whose decor has been more recently updated and was distinctly more "gemütlich" than the larger 80's era (brown and dark green tiles) restaurant/bar where we sat. That said, we were shown to a charming "rustic, chalet style" booth on the windows where the lighting was just right so as to enclose us in your own personal space. So all good. We enjoyed full courses of soups (fragrant asparagus soup beautifully decorated with dried, edible flower petals), mixed salad greens (generously dressed with boiled egg and real bacon) and competently prepared meat dishes (filet of lamb, veal steak and beef stroganoff) which were served with 4 types of steamed, fresh vegetables. We passed on dessert. The meal also began with a delicate amuse-bouche. The wine list was more than adequate and quite thorough. A wonderful evening of good food, pleasant service and a relaxed and calm ambience ended with the happy surprise that the bill was quite reasonable for Swiss standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathyk-takes-a-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We began the year with 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. The hotel is built in a very charming style and had lovely Christmas decorations. The location is great, just a few minutes from Grindelwald station where you can take trains and buses for your ski, sledging or walking trips. The center with restaurants, shops and supermarkets is also just a short walk away. The only thing which might be a bit tricky depending on snow / ice conditions is that the hotel is located on a slope so the way to get to or leave the hotel was sometimes a bit slippery. However, if you need assistance with the luggage, I'm sure the owners will be happy to help. Breakfast was very good including the typical "Zopf" on Sunday and the "Dreikönigskuchen" on Jan 6. The service was great. The hotel has a lounge room with a wide choice of games which we made use of. The dinner at the restaurant was good although we would rate the restaurant a bit lower than the hotel overall. Only 2 little imperfections from our side: The heating could be increased a bit and at nights they centrally turn off the light in the toilet downstairs and the lobby room and there is no light switch to turn it on yourself, so in case you come back to the hotel late in the evening and want to use these rooms don't be surprised and just ask for the light.
Conclusion: This is a fantastic place to stay and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in "superior rooms" which are bigger than the standard rooms and have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mieze_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wootton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location for transport to ski areas, just situated above the station so quiet. Lovely rooms, clean and fantastic views of the Eiger, Monch, Jungfrau looking towards Kleine Scheidegg. Thomas, his family and staff do a great job of looking after guests and the food is excellent. Have tried various hotels in Grindelwald over the years.....this is one of the best for service and position.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gib104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. There were a few surprises when we reached. First, it was barely 5 minutes away from the rail station. We knew it was near but didn't think it was that close.Second, it was up slope. We have 2 old folks with us. Despite it wasn't too difficult, the slope can be rather dangerous for them when ice froze over. Third, we had a free upgrade when we reached. We had booked for a family room of four but since it was a lull period and the hotel wasn't full, they were very nice to offer us a free upgrade with the rooms next to each other.

The rooms were basic and there wasn't a wardrobe for clothes but it was very clean and well organised. For me, toilets are very important and the one in the room was good, clean and the shower was working well. From the room, you can walk out to the balcony which offers a breathtaking view of the alps. Wifi is free and most importantly, stable and fast for those who finds connectivity a must even when you are travelling.

Breakfast is on the ground floor. Items were well supplied and fresh. Eggs were also offered with a good selection of ham and cheese. Fruits were also available.

5 minutes from the hotel, there are restuarants, supermarkets and shops. Very convenient. The post office is just round the corner where you can mail a postcard home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peitoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#20 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#30 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#10 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#11 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald

Property: Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
Address: Kreuzweg 9, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family owned hotel is situated in the centre of the village, on a quiet spot 3 minutes above the railway station to Kleine Scheidegg/ Jungfraujoch and Interlaken and close to Männlichen- and Firstbahnstation. Our rooms offer a wonderful view to the EIGER and other mountains. Our restaurant is known for our traditional Swiss dishes as well as a selection of specialities from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing