We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone from younger to older populations. Our hotel hosts, Gabby and Gary, were very gracious, warm and welcoming and speak several languages. This hotel has been family owned and run for over 100 years. We are of retirement age and our purpose for visiting Grindelwald was to go hiking. We found many hiking maps for several of the trails, however, one of the benefits of staying with this family hotel is that they are thoroughly knowledgeable about the trails and provided excellent advice for our daily hikes including the degree of difficulty. Webcams are set up on many of the trails and we were able to view each hiking area in the morning to assess weather conditions prior deciding which hike to take. We visited at the end of September so the weather conditions can change from day to day or morning to afternoon. The hotel offers a prix fixe meal (4 courses) nightly and we ate at the hotel two nights and thought it was delicious. In general, we found restaurants very expensive in Switzerland and thought the meals at this hotel were not overly priced, especially for what we were served. Overall, we thought this place was a very warm, wonderful place to stay and the owners anxious to make our stay a fantastic experience. Mission accomplished!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. The front rooms face a beautiful view of the mountains while the rear r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

Our room was large, with a balcony and a stunning view of the Alps; the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful; and the buffet breakfast was plentiful and good, if somewhat standard. This would be a five-star hotel, except that it seemed a little pricey compared to other Swiss hotels on our trip. We would recommend it, though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayhawk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days and had one of the most memorable experience of our trip. We reached Grindelwald in the evening and Gabrielle was at the train station to pick us up. The hotel was just a 5 minute ride from the train station and Gabrielle made arrangements for the dinner despite our delayed arrival.
The first thing you will notice about the place are the welcome hosts. They gave us several vegetarian options for dinner for our entire stay and suggested what all to visit. The dinner served is the best food we had in Grindelwald.
We had a room with a balcony with the view of mountains and the sound of the clock tower lends the place the old village feel. The hotel has a beautiful exterior decorated with flowers and you can sit in the balcony watching the majestic mountains as the last rays of the sun fall on those peaks. The hotel is the perfect place to stay in Grindelwald as they have done an excellent job of preserving the heritage of the place while offering all the modern amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arpit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were sad to only spend two nights in this lovely hotel and are already making plans to return. We had a balcony view of the mountains. We arrived back to our the hotel after an exhausting, yet exhilarating hike late for the dinner we had reserved. The owner was kind enough to check with kitchen and they served a delicious, traditional swiss meal. We were so grateful! The rooms were big, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. The view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knittingbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two days and thought the view was breathtaking. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the trio of the peaks Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. A wonderful place to sit and just look. The hikes around Grindelwald are numerous and the owners can direct you to some special ones. The owners are forth generation of this family run hotel and go totally out of their way to make your stay special. They can book tickets for attractions there at the hotel and really make your stay special. Our room and bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean and decorated very nicely.

The owner, Gary, has some great stories to tell of climbers who have stayed with them and made the "Eiger Climb" including the first man to have climbed the northwest "White Spider" side of Eiger in 1938. This same climber wrote the book, 7 Years In Tibet, which was later made into a movie based on his adventures in Tibet
Gary recommended a local restaurant which we went to the first night that was fine but also mentioned that they serve dinner and we found it to be the best meal we had in Switzerland.
Right across the street is a bakery which serves lunch and it is very good also.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the front of the hotel with a balcony facing Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights (Sept 27,28) and have just wonderful things to say about this charming jewel of a hotel. We arrived late in the evening for checkin and were greeted by tbuilding covered in beautiful flowers and swiss charm! The owners (wonderful couple) of the hotel who were the nicest and pleasant hosts greeted us personally and took care of our quick check-in process. They upgraded our room to a suite and the private balcony of our room had the most magnificient views situated right under the Alps. The hospitality and service of this charming hotel can compare to ANY 5 star hotel!! The next morning, the owners helped us plan our hikes and actually printed out our lift tickets so that we wouldn't have to wait in any lines...not that there were any. Late Sept, the entire area is practically empty. After a long day of hikes, we had dinner at the hotel and the sevice and food were great! Again, the owners made sure everything was perfect and went out of their way to accomodate anything we needed. On our last day, they even drove us to the train station so that we wouldn't miss our train! I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Grindelwald. Kudos to the owners for their hospitality and service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMLAshburn_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We made a nostalgia trip to one of our favorite places in the world - Grindelwald. We'd been there several times over the years but had not been back for some time and I know, it's said you can't go home again but for six days we did. Wonderful experiences all over again starting with this great hotel. The current fourth generation family members expertly managing the place are the best innkeepers I've ever encountered. No question was asked that they didn't know the answer to and always responded with enthusiam and good humor no matter how repititious or mundane. The place is immaculate throughout and the rooms reflect the expert carpentry and architechture of Swiss artisans. And outside, it's the quintissential chalet that one always thinks of - window boxes full of glorious flowers, peaked steep rooflines, wide overhangs and the color of aged pine. The dining room looks out to a glacier and the Eiger so the breakfast is a feast for the eyes as well. Then they offer a set price menu for a four course dinner at CHF40 - about 42 USD. In my opinion you just can't go wrong here.

One very important tip - if you're going to be there for five or more days BE SURE AND BUY THE TRANSPORTATION PASS. It will make your moving around so much easier and save you plenty. There's also a three day that doesn't cover quite as much. This and all tickets can be bought at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomskoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £146 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 118 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing