We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My son and I just returned from another stay in Grindelwald and the Gletschergarten. We had a great time there three years ago and wanted to stay there again. The hotel is extremely comfortable and the hospitality was again unmatched, from the owners/managers, Gery and Gabriella, to the dining staff. They could not be more friendly or helpful throughout our stay. The food was outstanding, from the daily breakfast to the special evening meals. There is a beautiful sitting area with warm Swiss style and warmth, a nice sauna area, and even a game room with ping pong and pool table. Our stay was just as nice as before and I hope we can come again some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in a south facing room with a beautiful view of the mountains. Last time we had an east fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed for the second year at the Gletschergarten, and everything was again above expectations. We loved the warm homey welcome and atmosphere...the excellent food served quickly and efficiently by the whole team as well as respectful of our dietary requirements. No bill signing for drinks and extras makes life so much easier...' Our kids used extensively the ping pong table and enjoyed a family friendly atmosphere. So yes...next year in Geindelwald in our home there, the Gletschergarten. Its natural, its us!

Stayed: February 2013
4  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in Grindelwald with another couple. We LOVED this hotel - the owners were extremely friendly and helpful - before and during our trip. We loved the location of the hotel as it was a few minutes walk from a main town area, but also a bit quieter. We had a great room which shared a large terrasse with our friends' room ( I think it was room 17 and 18) and overlooked the alps and a charming church. This is the perfect ski holiday location and we would definitely go back. The owners make the place - and everything about the hotel suits the perfect alpine charm of Grindelwald!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have a terrace and an amazing view of the alps so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We chose this hotel due to the tripadvisor ratings and it exceeded our expectations. This is a family owned/operated hotel that has been in business since 1899. The staff was very hospitable, friendly, helpful, and accommodating. They personally ensured all our needs were met and that we were comfortable. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and the hotel has a very home-like feel. The restaurant serves delicious meals, the menu changes daily and offers a 5 course dinner. The staff offered to make us something different if we didn't want what was on the menu and they graciously took special meal orders for our 3 children. The breakfast consisted of fresh baked goods, fruit, yogurt, cheeses, meats, juices, and cereals. The servers were very attentive and friendly. The food was delicious, fresh, and the presentation was superb. The location is ideal, it is right in town and within minutes of the restaurants and shops. We skied down from one of the ski resorts and ended right in front of the hotel. We would definitely stay here again and will highly recommend it to our family and friends. This is one of our best family vacations we've had and a large part of it was staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarvay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We were married 25 years ago in Grindelwald and returned for our anniversary. It could not have been more perfect. The family run hotel is run with love and attention. Roaring fires lit every night in the living room. High quality, four course dinners in the evening (with a very nice and reasonable wine list) and a substantial spread of breads, yogurt, cheese, meats and fruit for breakfast. The location is ideal. The free bus stops just in front of the hotel, but 90% of the time we started walking because it was simply lovely to walk (even in Feb snow) and found ourselves in the center of town. But the true spirit of Gletschergarten is Gary, Gabriella and her charming, witty mother. Our anniversary was made very special and will be a life long treasured memory with the help of Gletschergarten.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dickensd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is not our first visit to the hotel which we found four years ago. It is a hotel of traditional charm near the Church in Grindelwald, approximately half a mile from the railway station.
The family owners provide a very warm welcome and service for a comfortable and stress free stay is paramount throughout at the hotel. Buffet breakfast and four course dinner is served in a comfortable dining room and there is a separate traditional bar area. Coffee can be taken in large and well furnished lounge with log fire in the winter. Bedrooms are well equipped and comfortable with a modern TV system providing coverage in several languages.
An adequate ski room is provided with a separate warm room for ski boot storage. Approximately ten yards from the outer ski room door is the local ski bus stop which is well served with regular transport to the Firstbahn lift or the railway station if visiting the Kleine Scheidegg ski area.

2  Thank Lesley700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Grindenwald ski resort is the starting point for probably one of Switzerland most beautiful ski resorts with a unique panorama including the big summits that are Eiger, Jungfrau, Schwarzmönsch, Schilthorn. This includes also the downhill race course "Lauberhorn" for those willing to test their confidence! Tickets availabel at the reception of the hotel.
This hotel is family run since 1899 and is most welcoming. Parking is available, as is a ski room.
The rooms are simple but clean and practical. The bus stops right in front to enable you to reach all sklifts (either First just behind the hotel or Männlichen on the otherside of the village).
The breakfast is simple but sufficient to please anyone on a sports trip.
The Hotel has a sauna and a hammam, both available after 5, with direct access with the lift (which is very convenient).
There also is a ping pong table for those willing to challenge other abilities!
Finally an old fashion living room, at the back of the hotel welcomes all guests in a mix of furniture probably there since the opening, and in fine renovated condition.
The top of the village is at a walking distance (even in the snow!) of approx 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Borloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £153 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing