We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family run hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gletschergarten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Positives:
- Very friendly folks running the hotel.
- Hotel restaurant was one of the better values in town.
- Rooms are cleaned very efficiently. We went out to have breakfast and by the time we got back the room was invariably clean.
- Breakfast is excellent.
- Views from balcony are gorgeous
- Property has washer and dryer at a reasonable cost.

Negatives:
Nothing huge but
- Foosball/pool in the basement are not free.
- Our room shows signs of age.
- The hotel is a bit off the center (there is a free bus that stops next to it)

Room Tip: higher floors are better as there is noise coming off the street
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yk13_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    87
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
219
368
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights in the apartment across the road. My husband, our two children, and I were very comfortable in the apartment (and had a great view of the Eiger), but it was the level of help and customer service that really elevated our stay. We are somewhat quiet and don't typically ask much of hotel owners or staff, but since we hadn't had time to do much research, we relied on Gabriela and Gerhard for their advice about what to do each day. Their guidance was wonderful, particularly the recommendations about what our children would like to do and what would be too much for them. The first day, we went up to First on the cable car, hiked most of the way to the lake, back down to Bort for lunch and playground and then Trotti bikes back down to Grindelwald. Perfect day! The second day we went to Mannlichen, up to the lookout, had lunch, and then back to Grindelwald. We also stopped in Interlaken for the Heimwehfluh which the kids loved. Such wonderful advice and service can't be beat!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABurnsThomas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is run by a friendly and helpful family of its 4th generation since their ancestor started business more than 140 years ago. The building is seasoned but is clean and well-maintained, and moreover, it has class and style and historic atmosphere. A bit far from the Grindelwalt train station, but is still very convenient and is reasonably within the walking distance and very close to a ropeway gondola leading to First where you should be able to enjoy fantastic and very typical - exactly what you'd expect of - Swiss mountain views. Dinner at the restaurant offers a fixed menu, but is flexible as much as they can. We had a very comfortable stay, and would come back again next time we visit Grindelwalt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokyotravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

From the moment we walked in we felt like honored guests. Family owned - their dedication shows in the wonderful service they provide. Clean rooms, nice breakfast and perfect location for touring Grindelwald and the nearby sights. I will definitely stay here on my next visit. Try to get a balcony room if you can- the balconies are big and the view is magical.

Room Tip: Ask for front balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggylouH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deephaven, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

You will not be disappointed with Hotel Gletchergarten (glacier garden). This is our second stay and we will come back again. Gabriela and Gerhard give the best service in all areas...hiking advice, printing customized train and tram tickets, changing currency, The view of Eiger, Wetterhorn is wonderful and the setting is quiet and away from bus and train station. They have a washer and dryer and a ping pong table! The staff here is friendly and competent....gracious and not pretentious. We also appreciate their good quality dinners. When they discovered it was our anniversary the staff put out the Swiss flag, rose petals, etc.

Gletschergarten should be your hiking headquarters if you are going to the Alps.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

i booked this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor - it was even better than expected. It was the prettiest hotel I have ever seen in the prettiest village. The owners and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Before our visit I emailed Gabriela (owner) and she advised against buying tickets before arriving to visit the Jungfraujoch as it is no good unless the weather is good. We walked from the train station to the hotel (they will pick you up if arranged in advance, or if you phone from the station) but it was a beautiful sunny day and the village is straight out of a storybook so it was a pleasure to walk through, it took about 20 mins and it is slightly uphill. We stayed in the apartment opposite the hotel and it was lovely with the most fantastic view of the Eiger from our balcony (the apartment is within Gabriela and her family's house, but the only shared part is the entrance then you have a door and you are in a private 3 bedroom apartment, which was spotless and the bed linen was snow white. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night, it was absolutely delicious, we had 4 courses and couldn't fault any of the meal or service. We had breakfast both mornings in the hotel and again it was really really good, the dining room has a fantastic view of the Eiger. Jungraujoch was very expensive but worth every penny, we had a perfect day weather wise and saw for miles, we bought the tickets from Gabriela, We also ate in Onkle Toms Hutte which do fantastic pizza all hand made to order and again very friendly service. Gerhard drove us to the train station when we were leaving, I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Hohturnen apartment which suited us our son was with us aged 22 and we more room he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CTScotland91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Excellent 3Star facility, the managing couple shall do everything to meet your needs and to make your stay a pleasant one. We were celebrating a family event, special attention was given to the dinner settings and the rooms.
Our rooms were very comfortable, excellent beds, big terrasse, nice view.
Within walking distance to the "center" of town, hotel provides voucher for free bus transportation, therefore you won't need your car.
You'll get value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing