We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Hosts in a wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming Hosts in a wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed in this Swiss Chalet style hotel for Christmas as a family of five. Up the hill from the train station we we were picked up from the station and settled into our rooms. Wonderful food, warm cosy lounges with open fires and delightful hosts made this a Christmas to remember. Easy access to ski grounds, good ski storage areas in the hotel, free wifi, house discounts for ski rentals at local ski shops etc all added to the experience. If you want to stay in a traditional lodge with wonderful Swiss hospitality this is the one for you.
Wal G

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    95
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
229
399
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uttoxeter
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and must say the owners were very helpful they knew the answer to any question we had.
It was great to come in from the cold and go into the cosy lounge with real fire roaring in the corner,we will return to this Hotel and suggest anyone who needs a hotel in Grindelwald chooses this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkosteph28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very friendly, helpful people. At the far end of Grindelwald from the train station, very close to the bottom of the main ski run. Quiet part of town, but a walk or free bus ride to the main shopping and restaurants. Hotel has a large, comfortable lounge and sauna, nicely appointed for skiers and others who want to enjoy the beautiful outdoors in Grindelwald.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days during the Christmas. The hosts were very helpful and accomodating. They helped to arrange skiing rental for us even when we informed them at the very last minute. The dinner was really good, the best food we have ever had! Furthermore, we were treated like family there. It is something special and unique to gletschergarten. We really enjoyed ourselves and it is pleasure to stay there.

From Geraldine

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gerald1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purmerend, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A great family hotel at a wonderful location that is operated by the same family already for over one century. They are doing fine, are courteous and helpful, and provide good service. Even 20% discount is obtained at the ski rental, while the hotel can issue the ski passes. The breakfast and dinners were excellent throughout the whole week we stayed, served by friendly and competent personnel. We had a cosy spacious room with renovated facilities and large balcony. You can really feel at home within this hotel with the several rooms, open fire room, bar, restaurant, gaming and billiard room. Further good facilities to store the ski's and ski-boots. The only minor point were the extremely soft pillows, but new ones had been ordered and can arrive any moment.
We stayed for the first time in this region during the change of the year. A great and extended skiing area, with enough fresh snow and skiing pistes for beginners to the more challenged ones. Especially attractive are the long descents for toboggan, separate from the skiing pistes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

What an introduction to our first holiday in Switzerland! This family run hotel has set the standard for the rest. The room we had was smallish but comfortable. Even though the snow was falling the home is so well insulated we didn't need to turn the heating on ... and I am not joking. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always ready to assist. We happily recommend this lovely family run hotel. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room. The single rooms are a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel has an amazing history but it needs to update a few things. Firstly the pillows made it impossible for us to get a good night sleep which is vitally important. The plumbing needs a rework as we could hear everyone upstairs flush their toilet.
The food and service was excellent but the wine list was all $$$ and there was no coffee available in the room. They also made us sit at the same table everytime we ate. Why couldn't we sit where we wanted? The location is at the end of town so definitely not ski in and out. The bus is free but in peak hour it is packed with people and their dogs!
It was nice but they should really improve some basics.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRaphMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing