We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Friendly Hotel -- sending all my friends there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Hotel Gletschergarten is a wonderful hotel, and I recommend it completely! The room was great (and all made up for us with an extra bed for our preschooler), the hotel is nicely decorated and the location is superb. What sets this hotel apart in addition, is the service. The family who owns it (and their son) were friendly, helpful, warm, and all around lovely people. They gave us great advice on what to do (and not do) each day and were always around to answer questions, just chat, or to bring a drink to us on the outside patio. Loved, loved, LOVED this hotel. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 626kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gletschergarten
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

From the welcome on arrival to the time we had to reluctantly take our leave, I don't think I have ever experienced a warmer, more helpful and more personal service from any of the hundreds of hotels I must have been to in my lifetime. You feel like you are joining Gabriela and Gary's family for a few days, such is the genuine interest they show in all their guests. They couldn't be more helpful, always around to answer questions about anything. It's an extraordinary demonstration of what good hoteliers should aspire to - and it's done so naturally. Their two elder sons are following their parents into the hotel/hospitality business - and I bet they have learnt so much from Gabriela and Gary to be wonderful successes themselves.

The hotel itself is simple and clean. The views from the balcony unbeatable. The breakfasts are great, especially the various types of bread and cheese on offer. We had the evening meal in the hotel on the last night and it was excellent too, served in a professional way, with a sense of occasion - more like a restaurant than a hotel restaurant.

I won't wax lyrical about the breathtaking beauty of the countryside around Grindelwald. Suffice to say that you will return one day - as we will and it won't surprise you to hear which hotel we will be staying at.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the Eiger,
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Gabriella and Gary and their family are just fantastic. This has the benefits of a hotel but the feel of a B&B. They truly know how to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. Each day they would offer activity suggestions, and then in most cases print out our tickets for the transportation right at the front desk. The tickets were often significantly less expensive than had we bought them at the venue. For example, our passes for the cable car to First- a delightful day spent- were less than half the price of the ticket office. We had the nightly dinner here twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both for the convenience of staying on property, and the deliciousness of the food. It was just the right amount and very tasty. We met others who had been coming here for years and now we know why. We will definitely return. Even the day we left Gabriella asked where we were headed and she then gave us another great recommendation for what to do when we got there. We stayed four nights and were concerned at first in case we didnt like it, but were very glad we did.

The hotel is over 115 years old, which added to the feel of having a truly Swiss experience. It has been well maintained while still preserving the nostalgic beauty.Thanks again Gabriella, Gary and family for making our first trip to Switzerland one of our most memorable vacations. We have already recommended you to dozens of friends.

Room Tip: We had a smaller room because it was a busy weekend - but we were just as happy anyway. We had a bea...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulebwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I travel a lot for business and pleasure, and I've rarely ever experienced such a combination of great hotel, exemplary service, jaw-droppingly beautiful location and superb food and wine. This hotel is a wonderfully rustic Swiss chalet style, not a "luxury" hotel. The bathroom is very simple and old-style, and even the radio and in-room telephone are virtual antiques. However, they work just fine, and the bed, pillows, bedding and furnishings are all quite comfortable. My only complaints (very minor) are with the old-style shower hardware that changes temperature dramatically every time you move, because the huge handle sticks right out toward you, and the thin, rough bath towels. Both of these are easily remedied. Wireless connection is free and works well. The view from the room just can't be beat many places on the planet. The owners are absolutely delightful and clearly run their hotel with a passion that is rarely found in the hotel business. Excellent breakfast, superb dinner at a very fair price, and very good house wine (a Swiss pinot noir). Our only regret is that we had such a short stay (one night), but we definitely plan to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExilAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights with Gletschergarten during the first wee of June. Our experience couldn't have been greater! The owner couple and their son were very nice, warm, friendly and extremely helpful! We were lucky to be given a room with a balcony looking facing a great view of the mountain. Everyday we'd ask for advice from the hotel owner about our daily trips and were always given wonderful tips and more conveniently, we could purchase tickets from them directly! Grindelwald is indeed a nice town to stay, and could be used a hub for many day trips to Jungfraujoch, Interlaken, etc. There're so many amazing hiking trails which one can easily spend half or full day outdoors enjoying the beautiful countryside of Switzerland!

We loved the breakfast at the hotel which was fresh and filling. We tried their 4-course set menu dinner (42 CHF per person) on our last night and it was delicious! We'd encourage this hotel to anyone without reservations!!

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony and view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrakuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved the personal service and the very Swiss feel of Hotel Gletschergarten. This was one of our stops on a 3-week trip to Italy and Switzerland and this was one of our favorite stops. We loved the town and surrounding area of Grindelwald and the hotel was charming. Gabriela and Gerhard made us feel welcome the minute we arrived. They picked us up from the train station and got us into our rooms quickly. My husband and I brought our 4 kids and son-in-law so we had 3 rooms next to each other with amazing views from the balcony. The rooms were very comfortable. Bathrooms are a bit dated, but we didn't mind that at all because everything was very cute, clean and comfortable.

We ate dinner our first and last night there in the hotel dining room. I highly recommend this. The four-course set menu was wonderful! They always reserved the same table for us for breakfast and dinner which made us feel like family. Breakfast layout was great - meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, assortment of delicious breads, and the best coffee I had on our trip.

The hosts helped us with tickets to go paragliding. Wow what a thrilling experience and the highlight of our entire trip!

I highly recommend the Hotel Gletschergarten if you want a delightful Swiss hotel experience ran by a family that truly knows the meaning of customer service. Gabriela and Gerhard's son Lars was darling and very helpful also.

Our family will have many treasured memories from this trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryhks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great service! They picked us up without hesitation anytime we needed their service at Grindelwald station (when we arrived late due to the train delay, heavy luggages, etc). They allowed us to choose any type of room and gave us a free upgrade. All tickets to the attractions can be done at the hotel which minimises the hassle and time waste. Their 4-course dinner was truly remarkable and exquisite. Delicious! We went vegetarian for the trip and they had no problem catering the dinner and breakfast to suit our diet. Lots and lots of fruits, which was pleasant and great arrays of breakfast too.

The hotel is run by a family and all members were genuinely nice and pleasant to us. We will definitely consider to come back again!

Room Tip: No tip. They will gladly ask you to choose any room provided there's any availability and if you...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reikodiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £156 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing