We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great family owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great family owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We just stayed at the hotel and had a wonderful time. The owners are wonderful people and made our stay even better. It rained during our entire visit and they could not have done more to help us find activities. The hotel is convenient to the train station but they will pick you up if you give them a call. The hotel is an easy walk to town or there is a bus stop next door.
The rooms are nice and large! Comfy beds and comforters too! Great breakfast in the morning and good coffee. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again when the weather is sunny!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonrev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    90
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
221
374
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wotton-Under-Edge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed for a week at the hotel a few weeks ago and had a great stay. The hotel is well managed and maintained and the family are friendly and helpful and clearly take pride in the business they run. The hotel is clean and comfortable and well situated - close enough to town to easily walk in and enjoy what it has to offer but comfortably away from the centre when it is busy.
I was well looked after as a solo traveller and a vegetarian - the family and other staff made a point of trying to ensure they accommodated my culinary requirements and were very flexible in doing that. A relaxing environment in a wonderful town and locale which is a great centre for walking.
A good sized hotel without being too large, with a comfortable atmosphere. Having a balcolny was great to enjoy the evenings as was having a nice drink on the outside terrace.
I put the guest card to good use with free use of the swimming pool in Grindelwald. Easily enough to do in Grindelwald alone for the week, but also the train access is great for travel in the valleys and out to Interlaken (recommend the Swiss Pass - good value for money, especially if catching the train from Zurich airport as I did PS don't worry about the tight train connection timings on some train travel - it all runs like clockwork so very relaxing way to travel)
The pick up from the station was very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver co
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a self-guided tour with Alpenwild. We were delighted with the owners of this small hotel; Gabriella was great at giving us advice on where to hike given the weather (cloudy, drizzly) and went out of her way to give us a ride to the bus station at the last moment. Our room looked out over the valley / mountains and was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ts was the friendliest hotel we stayed at our entire trip. The family run hotel went out oif their way to accommodate us. On our anniversary they decorated our dinner table with rose petals and flags. Their food was wonderful and they were glad to adjust their menu to fit our needs. Our room and dining room were lovely with beautiful views of the snow capped mountains and green hillsides. They helped us with bus and train schedules. Everything was close by and convenient for us to travel to towns nearby. Their hotel was full of beautiful antique furniture. We met many friendly patrons who said they come here every year and stay a couple weeks because it is so easy to visit the areas around and because of the friendly owners who make their guests feel like family.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms,both had balconies. One room was small with a gorgeous view of the snow c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Just left the Gletschergarten yesterday after 3 perfect nights.
It started from Grindelwald station where we were met by Gary which is how he introduced himself to us Aussies.
Our room was also perfect with the most beautiful view and the most comfortable beds.
Gary was also kind enough to collect our bags from the station as we used fast baggage from Lucerne, so when we got back after strolling around lovely Grindelwald village our bags were in our room.
Gabriel was most welcoming and it was lovely talking to her, they made us very welcome. It felt like a home rather than a hotel.
Our only regret is we didn't stay longer.
Thank you for my cow present!!! I will treasure this forever.
Glenys and Nick Stieger

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyGlennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We came only for a single night so that we could do some hiking. We greatly appreciated the warm welcome we received by the owners and the overall family atmosphere. We had a superior double room that was spacious, comfortable and had a lot of charm. The breakfasts were good, and the evening meal was excellent, with great service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side that overlooks the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triz324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is family owned and the owners are very friendly and attentive. Like most Grindelwald hotels it is situated on the main road, however the Gletschergarten is just outside the busy section of the road, so it feels very quiet and peaceful. It is within a short walking distance to the First and Pfingstegg cable cars, and just 10 minutes walk from the Grindelwald train station. The rooms are fine - all have large balconies with views to the mountains - and very clean, but perhaps could use a bit of updating. Internet is free and very fast.
We've had our meals at the hotel - breakfast and dinner. The Breakfast buffet had a smaller selection than in other comparable Swiss hotels where we've stayed, and most of the fruit served were canned. Dinners were OK - four courses including selections from the salad bar and desert - but at 42 CHF a person perhaps a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank se9834a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing