We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gletschergarten
Nearby Hotels
US$401
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$363
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eigerblick(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$268
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$138
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Berghaus Bort(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
761
103
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
103
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichel breitensteintrain stationfourth generationbuy ticketswonderful hostsping pong tableowners and staffwasher and dryerset menucourse dinnerfamily run hotelauthentic swisshome away from homecharming hotelswiss chaletincredible viewsroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would highly recommend Hotel Gletschergarten to you. The location is great. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast is good. The owner provided execellent hospitality. We are a group of six and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the end of May 2014. Gabriela gave us the best service I have ever had. On arrival day Gabriela gave me all info i need to start my trip on the next day. She also arranged rooms that were adjacent to each other so that my friends (a family) could stay close to each other. The employees also welcomed us with smiles and greetings everyday. it is a wonderful stay in Hotel Gletschergarten.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank baarhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent three nights here in July. The hotel is full of charm. The family that owns and manages the hotel are the hardest working couple in the hospitality industry. They are also the warmest, most welcoming couple in the industry. We felt like we were visiting family. Situated in the heart of the alps, it's easy to simply sit on the hotel's front porch or your own balcony and take in the surrounding beauty. If you want to venture out, there are plenty of activities in the area and the owners will provide suggestions and can nearly always coordinate tickets for your activity. The breakfast is wonderful. The evening meal they offer was also terrific. The hotel basement has many games and activities for kids and on rainy afternoons, our kids really enjoyed this feature. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PabloEBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent our 40th wedding anniversary at the Gletschergarten and had a marvelous time. This was our third stay there. When visiting the Lauterbrunnen Valley we had previously stayed once in Wengen and once at another Grindelwald hotel. Since discovering the Gletschergarten, this is the only place for us!

This is a true, family run Swiss chalet hotel that has been in the family for generations. Therefore, Gabriela and Gery take personal pride in the way their hotel is run. They are friendly, multi-lingual (quite fluent in English), and very knowledgable about the area so that they can help you plan your day most efficiently.

The Gletschergarten is located in the quieter end of town, away from the rail station so you’ll get a good night’s sleep, but still an easy walk to everything. Upon registration you receive a guest card that, among other things, provides free bus rides on the local transit system; very helpful. Beds are comfortable, breakfast is delicious and plentiful. Great view of the mountains from the breakfast room. There’s a nice lounge you can sit in on a rainy afternoon. Our favorite room is 37, a large corner room on the top with a marvelous balcony and view of the Eiger.

If you choose to have dinner at the hotel you won’t be disappointed. They serve a wonderful meal and are very flexible, willing to make dietary substitutions, etc. When we came down to breakfast on the morning of our anniversary, we found our table decorated with rose petals, Swiss flags, and a gift of lovely Swiss napkins. This is a place to feel comfortable and spoiled; I recommend it very highly. It’s a treasure.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the mountain side for a fantastic view. We love room 37 -- on the top with a wrap around balcony. But we've stayed in other rooms and think they are all good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BB707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We just stayed at the hotel and had a wonderful time. The owners are wonderful people and made our stay even better. It rained during our entire visit and they could not have done more to help us find activities. The hotel is convenient to the train station but they will pick you up if you give them a call. The hotel is an easy walk to town or there is a bus stop next door.
The rooms are nice and large! Comfy beds and comforters too! Great breakfast in the morning and good coffee. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again when the weather is sunny!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonrev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed for a week at the hotel a few weeks ago and had a great stay. The hotel is well managed and maintained and the family are friendly and helpful and clearly take pride in the business they run. The hotel is clean and comfortable and well situated - close enough to town to easily walk in and enjoy what it has to offer but comfortably away from the centre when it is busy.
I was well looked after as a solo traveller and a vegetarian - the family and other staff made a point of trying to ensure they accommodated my culinary requirements and were very flexible in doing that. A relaxing environment in a wonderful town and locale which is a great centre for walking.
A good sized hotel without being too large, with a comfortable atmosphere. Having a balcolny was great to enjoy the evenings as was having a nice drink on the outside terrace.
I put the guest card to good use with free use of the swimming pool in Grindelwald. Easily enough to do in Grindelwald alone for the week, but also the train access is great for travel in the valleys and out to Interlaken (recommend the Swiss Pass - good value for money, especially if catching the train from Zurich airport as I did PS don't worry about the tight train connection timings on some train travel - it all runs like clockwork so very relaxing way to travel)
The pick up from the station was very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews