We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Holiday Highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected Holiday Highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Grindlewald for 4 days while travelling between Venice and Paris. The hotel is a beautiful family run hotel run by the 4th generation with some of their 5th generation children helping out. The hotel is situated with great views of the mountains, rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel has many facilities such as bar, restaurant and games room etc. The real highlight of the stay is the warmth and friendliness of the family and staff . They genuinely go out of their way to ensure that your stay, not only at the hotel but in Grindlewald is as memorable as possible. The hotel offers great advice on the best areas of the mountains to visit each day inline with up to date weather forecasts and also offers the facilities to buy tickets for all the trains and cable cars to get you there which is really convenient.

The breakfast provided each morning is beautiful and the dinners are a must. The 4 course meals change nightly and are the best we'd had in all of town. We left early in the morning to go to Paris and were provided with a pre packed breakfast for our travels which was unexpected but a truly lovely touch.

We have stayed in many top hotels all over the world but I can truly say this hotel is one of our most memorable, this is definitely a place you must experience if you are travelling to the Grindlewald or even to Switzerland.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andym1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    90
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
221
374
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in July & whilst not the greatest weather, the Gletschergarten team ensured it was an enjoyable visit. The couple that own the hotel seem to always be on hand, advising about trips & overseeing proceedings in the restaurant.
We had been a bit uneasy about the lack of choice for dinner but it was quite clear that a great deal of thought goes into the menu & the owners are always happy to substitute courses if asked - we didn't do & enjoyed most of the courses we had. Our room was a super traditional swiss chalet room with great views of the eiger & glacier. To be honest, we probably enjoyed the holiday more than when we stayed in may in a 5* luxury hotel on the amalfi coast in Italy - which cost three times as much ! Would have been great to have coffee & tea making facilities in room.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank XS-Baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The views from the hotel are stunning of the mountains and meadows surrounding hotel. We were at the hotel with our two teenage children that really enjoyed the game room with ping pong, pool, and football every night. The restaurant served a delicious breakfast and dinner. Dinner was an excellent value compared to restaurants in the area. What makes the hotel are the owners. Daniella and her husband are so welcoming and helpful. They will recommend tours, restaurants and book whatever you need. The other staff is also very friendly, helpful, and efficient . Another positive is it's location in the northern part of the city away from the tourist shops and crowds. We definitely will come back .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just spent a couple of nights at the Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald. What a nice property. It is within an easy walk to restaurants, shops and the Grindelwald First gondola. Gerhard and Gabriela were gracious hosts and really helped out with suggestions of things to do during our rainy stay. They were able to print tickets for the gondola and busses and add the price to our room account, so it was very convenient.
Gerhard checked us in on arrival and showed us to our room. It was on the second floor with a beautiful balcony view of the mountain and glacier. The room was spacious and clean with a couch and chair, desk, and wardrobe. The bed was comfortable. There were several outlets for charging our cameras and phones. They offer free Wi-Fi that worked well, plus there is a computer in the TV room just off the lobby that guests can access until 10:30pm. The breakfast was included with a selection of cereals, fruit, breads, meats and cheeses, coffee and juices. In the same dining room, they offer a set dinner menu in the evening. We didn't eat there, but it looked good. There is also a small bar off the lobby.
We were taking an early train to Zurich airport our last morning and Gerhard was up, got us a bit of breakfast and gave us a ride to the train station.
Overall great stay and I would recommend this property. I want to go back when it is sunny now!

Room Tip: I would definitely get a room with a balcony in front to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this family run hotel. They were super friendly, helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious and we had a fabulous dinner there as well. The hotel is very close to everything and there is a bus stop right in front of it. My only suggestion would be to upgrade from a standard room as we found the standard room pretty small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights and had a memorable experience.
This hotel is absolutely wonderful with its owners taking special care.
They provide all the tickets,pickup and drop off and also provide help in planning the trip.
Truly amazing experience here....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie0773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menzingen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would highly recommend Hotel Gletschergarten to you. The location is great. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast is good. The owner provided execellent hospitality. We are a group of six and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the end of May 2014. Gabriela gave us the best service I have ever had. On arrival day Gabriela gave me all info i need to start my trip on the next day. She also arranged rooms that were adjacent to each other so that my friends (a family) could stay close to each other. The employees also welcomed us with smiles and greetings everyday. it is a wonderful stay in Hotel Gletschergarten.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baarhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing