We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveller rating
1,071
125
12
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,071
125
12
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station fourth generation game room gracious hosts family run authentic swiss family owned hotel charming hotel swiss chalet cable car amazing views large balcony our room was spacious wonderful stay yogurt bernese oberland hiking trails
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2019

Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald is the perfect place to stay in the magical Swiss town of Grindelwald. This chalet-style hotel is bedecked with beautiful flowers. Owners and hosts Gabriela and Gerhard are welcoming and throughout our stay offered extraordinary hospitality. The rooms are lovely, beds exceptionally comfortable, bathroom modern and nice, huge windows opening on a lovely terrace. The magnificent Swiss Alps seem so close you can reach out and almost touch them. The hotel provides every service. A fine restaurant that offers a beautiful breakfast (included in our daily rate); a warm bar area, and a living room/parlor with beautiful chairs. The hotel is family owned and been in the same family for five generations. Everything about the hotel is charming. Hosts Gabriela and Gerhard brim with knowledge of Grindelwald and the region, their suggestions for hiking and other activities were invaluable. They meet guests at the train station, drive them the short distance to the hotel, and on departure day, drive guests back to the station. We felt at home the moment we walked into the hotel and their presence. The Hotel Gletschergarten was a highlight of our time in Switzerland. We will never forget the kindness of Gabriela and Gerhard, the charm of the hotel, and the stunning beauty of Grindelwald. We give the hotel our highest recommendation. We hope to return there many times in years ahead.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2019

Where else are you awakened by cow bells? This was our 2nd stay at the Gletchergarten, our 6th time in Grindelwald. We love this place and the town, despite the hoards of selfie taking tourists. Gabby and Gerry are attentive hosts, ready to assist with any queries we threw at them. We stayed in one of their apartments across the street and loved the independence and the stunning views to the mountains (see pic). Dont worry about the tourists. Once you leave the main street and the First lift, it's still a magical place.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2019

Gabriela and Gerhard (Greg?) and knowledgeable hosts that help with your stay. The hotel is well situated, the rooms are very nice to stay in, the breakfast is very good. Everybody at the hotel wants you to have a great time in Grindelwald. Then there's the mountains....right outside your room. One can't go wrong staying here.

Room tip: Ask for a room with mountain view.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2019

We stayed here for 2 nights, our first in Switzerland. The hotel is beautiful and spotlessly clean. Rooms are updated, beds are comfortable and the balcony was a nice touch. The people at the front desk were very helpful, and the restaurant food was excellent. Would definitely stay here again. Only downside is that the hotel is close to the road, so you do hear cars going by. However, this makes the location very convenient.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ds9501
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

We loved the quaint hotel run by Gabriela and Gary, who are the fourth generation family to run this place. We had a wrap around room looking out to the Eiger mountains which are breath taking. Our hosts helped us with mountain passes and made suggestions of daily hikes. We ate at the hotel for dinner every night. The chef has been with them for 30 years and each dinner was superb. The wine list is plentiful and great selections for the evening menu. This is a great find in the town of Grindelwald and we will return!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank traveltoofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews