We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Visit, 2013”
Review of Gletscherschlucht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gletscherschlucht
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with our wonderful experience at Gletscherschlucht. We called late in the evening to arrange a room and they waited for our 10:45 pm arrival. We hadn't eaten and they were kind enough to provide a small snack and tea for us. They were very welcoming and warm in receiving us.

The breakfast is excellent. Dinner is also good and shop owners in town actually recommend our own hotel when we asked about good places to eat.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable, well equipped. Internet is decent but signal strength is not as strong upstairs.

It can be tricky to find at night, but our gps got us there without a hitch and, if you have a keen eye, you can find your way here by following yellow hotel street signs that point toward the hotel as you enter town. We enjoyed being just outside town. And there are good skate and cross country tracks at the end of the driveway. Buses come hourly to the hotel, so getting into town is easy with a little planning.

Overall, we thought this place was great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

Me and my wife and another couple arrived to Gridelwald after a lond day in the near villages and decided to sleep at grindelwald beacuse it was snowing and the views were outstanding.
in spite of the previous reviews here. we found this boutique hotel excellent in its wooden new structure, spacious room with a clean bathroon and heating and also an oustanding view from the mountains and gridelwald.
Sleeping in the hotel which is belt from wood makes the hotel a romantic experience as if you are living in a real house in swizerland surrounded with Alps view.
The only disadvantage is that breakfast has poor variety of food.
The owners by the way were very kind.
and free wifi

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazmouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We arrived with an extra traveler that we met along our travels and was given a super hard time about her staying with us even though the website said that extra cots were available upon request. We were told that "well she can stay at another hotel." while traveling through Switzerland for 2-weeks I have never run across someone do rude!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kulovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I booked 2 rooms at this hotel for my family who were visiting my husband and I from the states. My husband is Swiss and has never experienced such rude and unprofessional service that he did at this hotel. From the time we checked in to the time we left it seemed like the majority of the staff hate their job and don't want to be bothered with tourist. Don't expect good customer service at the restaurant for breakfast or even at night for a late night drink. My husband ordered a cappuccino for breakfast and the lady forgot to bring it. When he asked for the cappuccino she said it was the same thing as the pot of coffee sitting in front of us. She just didn't want to make him a cappuccino. The mother of the owner of the hotel lives at the hotel and watches your every move too. Also, make sure you are charged correctly. My mom was charged 9 CHF for a small bottle of water that should have cost 3.50CHF. Thankfully my husband resolved the issue.

On a positive note, the hotel is very clean and the rooms are large. The price is good too, but the hotel is located outside of the village so you either need a car or be prepared to take the bus that only comes once an hour.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lam3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campagnol07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: la chambre 12 possède une mezzanine pour les enfants et une vue sur la montagne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 mi away
Gasthof Panorama
Gasthof Panorama
#36 of 41 in Grindelwald
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Hotel & Apartments
Residence Hotel & Apartments
#31 of 41 in Grindelwald
65 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#34 of 41 in Grindelwald
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Wetterhorn
Hotel Wetterhorn
#28 of 41 in Grindelwald
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellary
Hotel Bellary
#30 of 41 in Grindelwald
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#23 of 41 in Grindelwald
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gletscherschlucht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gletscherschlucht

Address: Mettenbergstrasse 11, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £83 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gletscherschlucht 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gletscherschlucht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing