We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high quality Swiss dining, if you can igore the flies”
Review of Hotel Wetterhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Wetterhorn
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Menlo Park
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“high quality Swiss dining, if you can igore the flies”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Wetterhorn Hotel Restaurant ranks near the top of the local cuisine in Grindelwald ... and the setting in the dining room wins the top notch award for good atmosphere .... so why not FIVE STARS.

Easy to explain just by saying : Try and bring a fly swatter with you ..... I don't know if the doors to the trash bin out back was left open yesterday, or if this is a routine happening.

Hopefully, the good people running the Wetterhorn will read this and make "adjustments" ... it's far too good a restaurant to be "marked down" for such a nuisance.

PS the Italian house wine was very nice, and probably the best bargain on our trip to the area below the amazing TOP OF EUROPE mountain scenery.

Yesterday was a true "Bucket List" Day .... sadly ended somewhat on a lower note, but dinner was superb.

Room Tip: Sorry, came only for dinner ... hotel is just a tad bit too far out of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroCaliGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Located at the very end of where you can go by car, the hotel is still within walking distance of Grindelwald and has a bus stop right in front of it, from where you can catch a bus to the Grosse Scheidegg mountain pass, or to Grindelwald. Several beautiful mountain walks start from the hotel or a few bus stops away.
We stopped at the hotel to sit on the sunny terrace, enjoy a cup of coffee and admire the view of the glacier, but decided to stay for the rest of our holiday. The bathrooms are very nice and modern, the soundproofing is also good. The restaurant has a very tasty breakfast (included), lunch and dinner menu, with mostly local Swiss products. High chair for baby was provided without us even asking.
Even when I got a nasty strep throat (caught a bug at home) our stay was still nice, thanks to the care of the friendly staff who changed my bed more often and brought me chamomile tea on the house. Although it is not the cheapest hotel, the value is still good because it includes a free bus pass and breakfast. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eindhoven82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel is out of the town center, but has free bus service and free parking. Good value for money. Very clean. Nice restaurant for home cooking food and great view. Perfect for wolkers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoresh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, France
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel was ok and clean. breakfast was acceptable. restaurant was so so. only issue but significant one: the hotel is far from the center (5-10 minute drive) and rooms have views on a big parking lot (to be fair, the mountains in the background are gorgeous). I would recommend this hotel for people who want to hike or be away from the town center. It was probably not the best choice for my family as we would have preferred to be closer to the city as it was not convenient to go back and forth with two young children.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nico_versailles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Went up to the Hotel Wetterhorn for lunch after having visited Oberer Gletscher, and wanting to save a bit of money (and also being on a diet after all the apfelstrudels), asked for two glasses of tap water to go with our meal.

Waitress delivered the water but then told us, "Of course you know the tap water will also cost you money". When the bill arrived, we saw they had charged us 3 Francs per glass, which is roughly two POUNDS per glass...

Summarises nicely what is wrong with Switzerland - prices completely out of context with the rest of Europe...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank zzyzxUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Very picturesque setting, rooms dorm like & basic with bunk beds, but clean & probably typical fare for hikers & rock climbers. Had a good meal in restaurant. Waitress was very pleasant (from eastern Germany). It wasn't very busy as the weather was poor, so no doubt we got good service because of that. Plenty of parking as the hotel had it's own spaces plus a large public car park in front of the hotel. It was the highest hotel in Grindelwald so the view was great. Very convenient for walkers. We were motorcyclists & it suited us too.

  • Liked — waitress
  • Disliked — poorly lit room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wetterhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Residence Hotel Restaurant
Residence Hotel Restaurant
#32 of 41 in Grindelwald
63 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#33 of 41 in Grindelwald
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#20 of 41 in Grindelwald
170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#27 of 41 in Grindelwald
87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bel Air Eden
Bel Air Eden
#21 of 41 in Grindelwald
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wetterhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wetterhorn

Property: Hotel Wetterhorn
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 159, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wetterhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Wetterhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing