We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
“Good Hostel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was one of the better hostels I have ever been to. It is close to the train station and a bus makes routine trips to the center of the town. The workers are friendly and helpful. No shady people stayed with us as well. Overall, I was pleased.

Room Tip: Good, get a bus to the town for hostel patrons
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikhan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gery M, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    59
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
18
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I know it's a hostel, but still. One toilet for like 30 people (there were some more downstairs, but who wants to go Down stairs at night?)

No glasses in the room, I was bloody thirsty cause it was hot. The sink had an iffy smell that made the room stink, I swear it wasn't the 6 people in the room.

Service was friendly, place was clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frietje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gery M, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for the valuable assessment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Being in Switzerland you can expect a superb breakfast with real good cheese and chocolate. It is also close to the train station and the restaurant and one can take some great walks around there. There is a little stream close by. Houses are only allowed to be build in the same style, which really looks idyllic. The rooms on the second floor are neat and spacious, though its shared bathrooms on the first floor. And the view on the snowy Alps was priceless. They have a lounge with pool table, TV and lots of activity brochures.

Room Tip: the ones showing to the alps are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerymoser3818, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Google Translation
Guten Tag Annette
Besten Dank für ihre mühe unseren neuen Gästen das Hostel so schön zu beschreiben, das hat uns sehr gefreut:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

a very nice place to stay, very budget but quite a few add on fees for services, suc as wifi... walkin distance to some nice food establishment and also trains to jungfraujoch.. further up d slope is city center wif shoppin and sports center.. free bus voucher can be obtained from reception

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerymoser3818, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
hi aron
thanks for the description of our house, the next guests are grateful to you.
nice greetings from the swiss mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night here, had an awesome view of the Eiger north face from the room and could hear the soothing sound of the river flowing near the hotel.
It has a good atmosphere and they have a BBQ microwave and kettle to use, no kitchen unfortunately. They have table tennis, foosball and pool table. Lockers in rooms too which is handy, loved the location in grindelwald close to train station and not far from hike tracks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hostel has a good breakfast and an excellent location. However, it also has a few annoyances. Unlike most other hostels, it charges extra for blankets or duvets. So even if you arrive with your own sheets or sleeping bag liner, you will still need to pay extra for the duvet or blankets. To add insult to injury, the extra fee for the duvet or blankets is on a per night basis, so if you stay for more than one night, you will need to pay 7 francs per night for the duvet. Therefore, always remember to bring your own blankets or sleeping bag.

The beds in the room we were in were very creaky. Each time somebody rolled over, the frames of the beds would creak.

Staff were very friendly, nice, and helpful.

Room Tip: Bring a sleeping bag or blankets. Bring some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tclwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerymoser, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Vielen Dank für ihr Feedback, dank ihrer Hilfe werden wir Massnahmen ergreiffen!

Da viele Gäste die Informationen nicht richtig lesen, sind wir gezwungen unser System umzustellen. Wir werden in Zukunft nur noch Betten mit Decken/Duvets anbieten!
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for your feedback, thanks to your help, we are compelled to action!

Since many guests do not read the information correctly, we are forced to change our system. We will be offering in the future only beds with blankets!

Gery Moser
Coach Mountain Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Looking for a low cost accommodation in Grindelwald is frustrating. I was pleasantly surprised by this hostel. Beds are moderately comfortable, good breakfast.

Location is good to access Mannlichen bann up the mountain but it is a bit of a hike (or bus ride) up a steep hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerymoser, Manager at Mountain Hostel Grindelwald, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Vielen Dank für ihr Feedback!
Es freut uns dass es ihnen bei uns gefallen hat:)
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for your feedback!
We are very pleased that you liked your holydays in the mountain hostel :)

Gery Moser
Coach Mountian Hostel
Grindelwald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.3 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Hostel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hostel Grindelwald

Property: Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
Address: Grundstrasse 58, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mountain Hostel Grindelwald 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel of the Eiger North Wall With us you can overnight in either a 4 or 6 Bedroom or Private rooms are also available for booking. From cozy Double rooms to the Eiger View 4 bedroom overlooking the world famous Eiger North Wall – everything is possible, according to your wishes. With a regional breakfast buffet included you as a hiker & climber, Biker & motorcyclists or Skier and Snowboarder can start your day the right way. Situated at the first stop before the Eiger North Wall, easily accessible by train, between the stations of the Jungfrau railway (Jungfraujoch) and the Mannlichen cable car the Mountain Hostel is an ideal base for mountain tours and active programs of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Hostel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing