We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far away from town center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Suisse
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Far away from town center”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Clean, functional, good breakfast, nice room if you compare to a youth hostel. 15 minutes walk from Grindelwald center so have a car or be ready to walk. We came from 8 hours hiking over Grosse Scheidegg and we were dreaming about a beer, so the choice was limited to the restaurant above the nearby bahnhof. A good hostel if you can leave with that.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norber44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    62
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
19
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

For skiiers the location of this hostel is brilliant, close to the train station to get to Kleine Scheidegg and close to the cable car to get to Männlichen. The rooms were ok, bunk beds and a sink which was handy, unfortunately we had problems with the heating, we just could not get it to work, so that was a problem as it was cold. The annoying thing was the toilets and showers were downstairs, non on the level our room was. The showers themselves were painful, the pressure was so strong it hurt. The lounge, reception area was very nice and modern. There was internet access although ridiculously priced. Breakfast was included which was nice. Good price for the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Showers
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sbev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltern am See
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We booked the group hostel wing ("Selbstversorgerhaus") of the Mountain Hostel with about 40 persons, 0 to 65 years old. Overall it was a great stay. The hostel is directly located at the main parking area of the valley station "Männlichenbahn". Moreover, the train station "Grindelwald-Grund" is about 100 m to go. The train to the "Kleine Scheidegg" is free with the ticket of the skiing area of Grindelwald and Wengen. From "Kleine Scheidegg" you can buy an additional ticket to the "Top of Europe" at the Jungfrau Joch with an exciting panorama, but this ticket is quite expensive. The skiing area is large and well equipped. It includes tracks of all levels of difficulty and the famous FIS downhill track "Lauberhorn".
The hostel was clean, silent (the only noise at night is the floating river behind the house) and fairly comfortable. You need your own sleeping bag. The group wing of the house includes a separate lunch room, a kitchen and a lounge, but only two bathrooms and showers. Much more capacities of showers and WC are provided in the other wing of the house. So, there was no problem for our group at any time of our stay.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cars are recommended to run errands as the city of Grindelwald is about 20 min by feet on a stressful track. Buns were directly delivered to the hostel and ordered via the reception. Rental skis and equipment are available at the other side of the road at a reasonable price.
It was the third vacation of our group with such an accomodation. The Mountain Hostel in Grindelwald definitely was the best location up to now.

  • Liked — The wonderful location
  • Disliked — Missing security at the top of loft beds
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Breiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Nice, clean hostel in pretty location on river. Rooms and bathrooms are very basic though, and price is still kind of high.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGS217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We booked a hostel in Grindelwald to try and save money on our big trip. What a wonderful, pleasant surprise! I expected creepy and noisy and what we got was clean, helpful and a delightful experience! The front desk help was exactly that, HELPFUL! Madelyn answered questions, gave us suggestions, did our laundry -- they even had stamps for postcards. The breakfast was very nice and the lady who ran the kitchen was very efficient and ran the cleanest kitchen I've seen in a long time! The coffee was great, they even had local alpenkäse. I would go back there in a heartbeat! The views are fantastic -- you can't believe it. And the location for getting to the Jungfrau via the Männlichenbahn can't be beat (just walk through the parking lot to the ticket booth).

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank speedyfrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2007

I had a great time in Grindelwald; fantastic hiking and the Mountain Hostel was terrific. Rooms were clean and equipped with lockers. Good shared showers and bathroom facilities. Outdoor kitchen was great: hot plate, sink, fridge, and all kinds of plates/cups/pots/pans/utensils makes it easy to buy food at the Coop in town and cook with the other guests -- a nice way to meet people. The hostel's right on the river with a superb view of the Eiger Nordwand.

Breakfast at the Mountain Hostel is well worth it. You get all kinds of bread, cheese, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. There is an internet computer but it's a bit on the expensive side and you can't upload pictures. If you don't like walking up and down hills you should make sure to get off at the GRUND train station (but hey, this is hilly hiking country, walking is good exercise).

The real selling point here is the staff. I had an unfortunate mishap where I lost a significant personal item on an extended venture away from the hostel, and the owner himself went well above and beyond the call of duty helping me get it back. Everyone in the reception area was super helpful and I had no trouble here despite my two-word German vocabulary.

Danke Mountain Hostel!

  • Liked — staff, breakfast, cooking facilities
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderwegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2006

Such a nice place to stay! Train picks up about 500 ft from front door. Ski and snow rentals across the street! Great deals on lift tickets and the Ski Train. Great restaurant acoss the street above the Train station. Bathrooms available on your floor, showers are on first floor (Stalls and Gym-Style). They also have a wing just for groups with a dining room and everything.
Breakfast every morning was really good!
Down the hill from town and GREAT restaurants. The people in town are SO NICE and the staff at Mountain Hostel was awesome to say the least.
Facts to remember:
* Bring sleeping bags because they don't have free blankets (minimal charge)
*Call if you're going to check in late b/c they go to sleep

  • Liked — Location to the slopes, attractions, and beautiful picture opportunities
  • Disliked — There's a big hill to get to town (whimpy reason...I know)
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BentleyTravelFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.3 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
799 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Hostel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hostel Grindelwald

Property: Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
Address: Grundstrasse 58, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mountain Hostel Grindelwald 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel of the Eiger North Wall With us you can overnight in either a 4 or 6 Bedroom or Private rooms are also available for booking. From cozy Double rooms to the Eiger View 4 bedroom overlooking the world famous Eiger North Wall – everything is possible, according to your wishes. With a regional breakfast buffet included you as a hiker & climber, Biker & motorcyclists or Skier and Snowboarder can start your day the right way. Situated at the first stop before the Eiger North Wall, easily accessible by train, between the stations of the Jungfrau railway (Jungfraujoch) and the Mannlichen cable car the Mountain Hostel is an ideal base for mountain tours and active programs of all kinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Hostel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing