We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing view, close to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prevessin Moens, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, amazing view, close to the city”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Great service, personnalized welcome, nice spa, close to city restaurant &bars, direct access to train to go skiing

Room Tip: Floor 3 or 4, front rooms on the left corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocognet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Dear Belvedere guest from France. Thank you so much for your short and precise review. We hope to see you soon again, eventually also in summer, as Grindelwald offers wonderful active holidays in summer too. All the best. Urs-B. Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    134
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
264
487
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, VA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Outstanding hotel. Run by the Hauser family for over 100 years. Urs and Silvia Hauser are top notch hosts and the staff are all helpful and gracious. They bend over backwards to make your stay pleasant..
Six course gourmet dinners are outstanding. Rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. Free wi-fi and hotel bus. Near train station but not noisy. Great view of Eiger. Pool, sauna, and excellent outdoor jacuzzi.
In my opinion, best place to stay in entire area!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCDinVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Dear Belvedere guest. Fantastic, that is what I call your review. Very many thanks for giving your opinion to the people interested and very many thanks for your visit. I will visit the Skifest in Houston in April and the Ohio Ski council in Indianpolis in June, hoping that I will be able to convince more US skiers to come and visit us in Grindelwald Switzerland and that despite the value of the dollar, which is unfortunately at the moment everthing but correct. It is not Switzerland that is expensive, it is the Swiss Franc and responsible for it are the people working on the stock markets. What a pity, for you and us and simply unfair.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day, may be in summer, as summer is simply wonderful in Grindelwald, I remain with best regards, Urs-B. Hauser, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

For our first ski holiday in twenty odd years without the kids, we opted for a little bit of luxury for this year and our hopes were more than met. The Hauser family and the team at the Belvedere offered very efficient yet discreet service. The bedroom comfort was terrific, the food was wonderful and the team works hard to ring the changes, via the fondue evening opportunity, the weekly local market specialities, buffet desserts evening etc. We loved the little cocktail bar. The view from the lounge window as you leave the elevator each morning just takes your breath away. On arrival, we were offered prosecco on the terrace and we enjoyed it so much we made it a ritual for most of our apres ski days. The outdoor hot tub and swimming pool both offer the perfect retreat after a hard day's ski ing. And the ski ing is varied and challenging in this area - we made sure to take time out though to appreciate the area on foot also. I think dusk is the most beautiful time as the sun sets over the mountain and the twinkly lights of the chalets become evident all around you. We can't wait to return. Thank you to the Hauser family and all the wonderful staff who seem genuinely to enjoy their work and their sense of fun is infectious to the guests.

Maureen and John Walker

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2011
Dear Belvedere guests. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I hope that it will be red by many people. The Hauser family is running this hotel since 1907, when grandfather John Hauser opened the hotel for the first time. Now the third generation is trying to make all their guests happy, supported by a very motivated team. Our USP is definitely the incredible view to the famous Eiger mountain (remember movies like Eiger sanction with Clint Eastwood, James Bond movies "Golden Eye" and "On Her Majesties Secret Service", Imax movie "The Alps" and the newest movie "The Northface". We offer incredible excursions, winter and summer, like Top of Europe, Jungfraujoch, the highest railway station in Europe or Schilthorn, Piz Gloria, where a James Bond movie was produced. Please come and see us again, we are very much looking forward to wecoming you back, be it in winter or summer.
With best regards
Urs-B. Hauser & family and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

A truley magical place to stay. Great food and superb service. The staff make you feel more like friends than just guests. Nothing is ever too much trouble. The views from the dining room and terrace of the mountains including the majestic Eiger are stunning. There is a good wellness centre great after a hard day ski ing or walking in the mountains. We felt totally relaxed and pampered at the end of our stay and can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday209939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear Belvedere guest. We are very happy to read, that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. We highly appreciate your wonderful review, we highly appreciate that you wish to return. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again. Especially in times like now, we are so grateful, that we have the honor of welcoming still such a good number of guests from Great Britain, from the USA and many European countries. Each time there is any kind of a problem in the world, be it of financial nature, be it a war or other problems, each time the Swiss franc is getting stronger and stronger, considered as "safe haven" by investors and people on the stock markets. For us, this is terrible, we are getting more and more expensive and that without raising our rates.
Thank you therefore for letting the world know, that it is still worth coming, that a visit to the Belvedere in Grindelwald is worth the amount spent.
With best regards.
Silvia & Urs-B. Hauser, owners in 3rd generation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We just returned from a stay in Grindelwald at the Belvedere. What a wonderful hotel and vacation. The things we liked about the hotel were the service and staff. The location is great. You can walk to the train station and keep boots and skis in lockers there, or they have 4 vans that run to the mannlichen gondola each day. The hotel also has a great ski locker area, with boot drying, etc.. They will drop you off and pick you up. We also loved the food. We did the 3 course and found that to be more than adequate. With 1 17 year old and two adults we did the junior suite. Room was very nice and lots of privacy with sliding doors between rooms. The spa area was nice with an outdoor salt water hot tub and indoor pool. The views were fantastic from the hotel. Overall you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I can't find fault with this wonderful resort. On arriving it's first the scenery that is spectacular. But during our stay, the rooms warmly welcomed us after a fantastic day skiing/hiking/tobogganing, and the twin beds side-by-side with individual duvets are truly luxurious. The food was incredible - a five-course menu every evening with an impressive variety of dishes on the menu. For apres-ski the infinity hot-tub soothed as did the steam bath and/or sauna. My kids also loved the pool. Another week would've allowed me the time to experience the massage and wellness offerings, explore the unique shops a bit more, and participate in a few more of the afternoon activities - we thoroughly enjoyed our introduction to curling one afternoon. This was an outstanding home for our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Dear Belvedere guest from Canada. Paradise in the Swiss Alps. Yes, definitely from the nature point of view, hard to be beaten, if at all. Very interesting though, that Grindelwald, despite its unique beauty is not as well known as other resorts. May be because all these famous movie stars go elsewhere. This because only the very best 5 star hotels are good enough for them, no surprise, and Grindelwald does unfortunately not offer a similar selection of famous 5 star hotels like other resorts. But you are right, the beauty is there, right here in Grindelwald and thanks to wonderful reviews like yours, more people will decide to come and visit us. And if the decision for Grindelwald is taken, then of course we really hope, that also a decision for the family run hotel Belvedere will be taken. As a small family business, we do not have the big marketing budget chain hotels have, cannot buy our products to such good conditions like chain hotelsand therefore we need the help of guests like you, especially if a 4th generation should get the opportunity to continue. By the way, I once was an immigrant to Canada, started to work in the Queen Elizabeth in Montreal. Important reasons made me however return to Switzerland and take over the business of my ancestors.
Very many thanks for your fantastic review, all the best. If you like to play Curling again, you now know where we are. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Urs-B. Hauser (his grandfather, son of a big, poor farmer family, managed somehow to start the business in 1907)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Lovely hotel: excellent service, friendly personnel; clean, spacious and comfortable rooms; great restaurant - dessert buffet on Thursdays is to die for!; convenient location, close to train to Kleine Scheidegg and center of village; nice wellness area (2 whirlpools, swimming pool, sauna etc.)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caubergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Dear Belvedere guest from the Netherlands. Very many thanks for your great review. Hopefully many people in the Netherlands will read your review. We have wonderful guests from the Netherlands, just like you, some are coming for 20 years already, but..... there is a big but ..... unfortunately the numbers are still quite small. I myself love the Netherlands, I feel there always just like at home, therefore basically the Dutch should feel just alike at the Belvedere in Grindelwald. Lets keep the fingers crossed, that your review will boost the number of Dutch guests coming to our hotel. All the best, thanks again and hopefully we will have the pleasure and honor of welcoming you back soon.
With best regards
Silvia & Urs Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing