We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent services, SPA and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed 1 night at Belvedere Hotel, and it has been a very good experience. The room was large and comfortable, and all the staff has been really friendly. The SPA is nice, with an external pool and a massage centre. The restaurant is excellent, we had dinner and breakfast and we can say everything was delicious. This hotel is an excellent place to relax on your weekend

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

Fifth time here, and consistently good. Lovely crisp clean linen, spotlessly clean rooms and pool area, food quality amongst the best [with the chef more than happy to provide alternatives if the menu is not to your liking]. Views over the soft slopes of Grindelwald, rising up to the Eiger and Monch are breath-taking. The staff are absolutely brilliant, taking time to chat to everyone, slipping from one language to another seamlessly, and ensuring all is well. Jessica, Ann-Lo, Sonya and Alina were great fun, Maria, Caroline and Katerine were professional and slick while the owners Urs and Sylvia made a fuss of us all. Some people suggest it is a little dear, but you certainly get great value for money. The outdoor saltwater jacuzzi was delicious after a day's hiking, easing muscles in a most enjoyable way.
The hotel is only minutes away from the town, but separate enough not to be part of the hurly-burly of it.
Tip - if your stay is long enough, make sure you have a Jungfraubahn 6-day ticket: it may seem expensive, but it gives you unlimited access to most of the trains, buses and cable cars that feed the tourist sites in the area, and is a boon to part-time hikers who want to only walk part of the way!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LemurLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Belvedere guest.
With us for the 5th time, that are great news. Thank you so much for your great loyalty and thank you also for the wonderful review. We should ask you to write our new hotel brochure, as you have a superb talent to write. May be you will write the next "Harry Potter" and become the next writing billionaire. We hope that you will come back for your 6th visit soon, how about in the winter time, as Grindelwald has some very attractive skiing areas, but also a winter hiking paradise and lots of tobbogan runs.
Wishing you all the best, we remain with best regards.
Silvia & Urs-B. Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our first visit to Switzerland and to Grindelwald. Not only was this a superb location from which to visit the fantastic sites in the Jungfrau region, the Belevedere Hotel was a perfect place to stay. With views of the Eiger and other nearby mountains the scenery was spectacular-especially whilst sipping a cold beer on the hotel Terrace each evening. The staff are fiendly, knowledgeable and professional. The facilities are ideal and the six course evening meal was a treat every night. The Thursday night "dessert" bufffet was an unforgettable experience. So much so that we're booking a winter trip so that my wife can experience what can only be described as "food heaven" for a second time. Jack Jacovou.

Room Tip: Eiger facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JJacovou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Dear Belvedere guest. Thank you so much for writing that wonderful review and thank you also for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. We are so happy to hear, that you fully enjoyed your stay and that you intend to come back next winter. Yes, the winter time in Grindelwald is just as beautiful and there is a lot to do, equally for skiers and non-skiers. Lots of winter hiking trails and toboggan runs make the non skiers happy, this besides all the wonderful possible excursions.
And good news for you. Our team in the kitchen, our chefs, will all also be with us next winter, they will therefore continue producing the same kind of food, which you enjoyed so much.
The view from the terrace, or our lobby, will be the same, just looking at a white, instead of a green valley. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, I remain with best regards.
Urs-B. Hauser and family (owners in 3rd generation).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is probably the nicest hotel I've stayed in abroad. Spotlessly clean rooms and public areas, exceptional staff, great food. We stayed for 4 nights as part of a tour.
I really liked the small things at this hotel like offering free cake with coffee / tea in the afternoons. Unfortunately I only got to try this twice as we were out exploring the area, but the cake was the nicest we had.
The wellness area was really lovely and welcome after a day out on our feet. The pool was a cool temperature, but nice for the summer. I don't normally like using a jacuzzi, but it was so spotlessly clean I couldn't resist! The outdoor area with the jacuzzi beds was equally great.
The room was a good size and had a large bathroom with bath and shower. Again - spotlessly clean. I liked that the hotel was doing their best for the environment and was more than happy with the soap and shower gel pumps and putting towels in the bath if I wanted them replaced. The robe and slippers were a nice touch.
The staff here are exceptional. Somehow managing to be very friendly and professional at the same time. An incident did occur with one of the waiters who unfortunately dropped a tray of orange juice on our arrival. I felt very sorry for the waiter involved who was apologetic and obviously very embarrased about it. I hope he didn't get into trouble as it was a very unfortunate accident!
This is an excellent hotel and I thoroughly reccommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC9079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Dear Belvedere guests from Great Britain. Thank you so much for having joined the Swiss Classic Tour, which brought you also to our hotel. We are very happy to hear, that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. Many guests, who visited us on that tour, afterwards returned and stayed for a week or two.
We therefore hope to soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back also.
Wishing you all the best, we remain
with best regards
Urs-B. Hauser and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This summer would be my third summer of visiting this hotel and I've stayed in rooms on all sides of the building - all comfortable. I even came out of my way off a trip to Paris to stay here for a few nights. It's true, the staff are very friendly. The food is varied and always enjoyable. The views are amazing.

It was the small touches, personal attention and consistent level of service that prompted me to write a review. I'd like to also thank Priska at the reception for all her help even after I left! I'm also sad to hear one server I've had every year will be moving away soon, I wish her well. It is the entire team that makes this place great though.

Next visit I hope will be in wintertime - and for a bit longer than just a few days!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Dear Belvedere guests.
What a pleasure to hear, that you have been staying with us 3 times already. Thank you very much for your loyalty, we highly appreciate it. Wonderful to hear, that you wish to come back already next winter. Grindelwald offers a lot in the winter time, as member of "Best of the Alps". Skiers and non skiers get all happy as slopes and winter hiking trails are really attractive. I will make sure that Priska gets to read your review and also Jessica, our head of the restaurant, who is moving to London with her new British boyfriend. We are sure, that Alina, who is working for us for several years already, will make our guests of the restaurant just as happy as Jessica did. The Hauser family would like to thank Jessica for the great effort she undertook, to keep the quality of service high. She was mentioned in almost every questionnaire as a wonderful host. However Alina, her assistant, was usually mentioned together with her. So what else could we ask for as hotels owners, isn't that just great.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, we remain
Silvia and Urs Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

From the minute we came to Belvedere we had a wonderful time. We had a nice Junior Suite looking at the Eiger and Männlichen. We came quite late and directly went to dinner. We had the 3-course option and the food was lovely and nicely presented. We really liked the idea that we could choose whatever three options we wanted. We could have two entrées and one main course, two main courses and a dessert or even three desserts if that would have been what we wanted. We had our welcome Prosecco after the meal sitting on the terrace.
The hotel is spotlessly clean as is the pool and jaccuzzis. I loved the outside saltwater jaccuzzi, perfect after a long hike. There are bathrobes in the room and fresh towels at the pool area. Every evening the bedspread was taken away, the bathtowels fixed and a small peace of candy on the pillow.
The staff are all friendly and personal and always have time for a chat. We also got invited to go with the hotel bus to see how cheese was made but we choose to go up in the mountains instead. All in all, a great stay and we hope to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcelandicFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2011

Dear Belvedere guests from Sweden. Thank you so much for your review and thank you for visiting our hotel in Grindelwald. Please spread the word in your country, in Sweden, as we would love to have more guests from Scandianavia. Grindelwald is unfortunately not yet well known in Sweden, why we don't know. What a pity that you did not come with us up to the mountain farmers, where you could have discovered, how they make the mountain cheese, where you could have tasted some of their cheese and also the fresh milk. Wow, the difference in taste of that fresh milk in comparaision to what you buy in shops, incredible. And you can buy some of their cheese and take it home, the perfect gift for family and friends, because really unique. We by the way visit the farmer also in the winter time, so if you would come back to enjoy great skiing or winter hiking, we could still go together.
Thanking you again for everything, we remain with best regards.
Silvia & Urs Hauser, owners in 3rd generation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We chose this hotel based on previous Tripadvisor reviews, and the fact that the owner had replied to each review which implied that the family were very involved in the running of the hotel. The warm impression this gave certainly continued, and then some, when we got there. Travelling with three children under 7, we're grateful if we're tolerated in nice hotels and tend to scuttle about shushing them a lot - but here they were so welcoming, so kind to the kids and they couldn't do enough for us. This made the experience so wonderful that we want to go back as soon as possible. We had a suite which was perfect in every way; from having two bathrooms and a pillow menu of 9 different types, down to the tubes of smarties for the kids in the welcome basket. We didn't plump for the Eiger view, and not sure this is necessary because you can't really miss it, wherever you go in Grindelwald! Members of staff were very informative and we based everything we did on recommendations from them. At the moment, the exchange rate certainly doesn't work in Sterling's favour so a lot of the tourist attractions (taking the train up to Jungfraujoch - unmissable) are surprisingly expensive (188 chf for one adult ticket = £150). However, we really felt we'd got great value for money for the hotel so it allowed us to swallow the rest. For example, we went half-board and dinner was an amazing three course meal. Sometimes it can be a bit of a risk going half-board but the food was simply stunning, including daily themes like tables and tables of the most exquisitely made patisseries or hors d'oeuvres. We really can't fault this hotel, it was lovely, simply lovely. When we returned, I found a long, chatty email from them in my inbox. The Hotel Belvedere gave us a huge warm hug from Switzerland and we're so pleased we chose it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collies39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2011

Dear family from the UK. Thank you so much for having chosen the Belvedere for your stay in Grindelwald and many thanks for the wonderful review. Yes, the people on the stock market pushed the Swiss Franc up like crazy, making us expensive and our lives difficult. It looks like they want to kill Swiss tourism and the Swiss export industry. Our costs are however that high (for example £ 3'500.- per month for a chambermaid) and £ 20.- for a pound of meat, that we are unable to lower our rates. We do however our utmost to make our clients happy and hope that many wonderful people like you will be ready to pay the extra.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back, how about in the winter time. Your children would love the snow, eventually skiing or for sure tobogganing.
Wishing your family all the best, we remain.
Silvia & Urs Hauser with children Carole and Philip (who worked also at the hotel during they summer break from university)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £205 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing