We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Our expectations were high for this 4.5 star, #1 rated hotel in Grindelwald, and were unfortunately not met. The room (an Eiger facing junior suite), was spacious and comfortable, but not overly so. As mentioned by others, getting a cool night's sleep during the unseasonally warm weather was a challenge; it was not possible to open the windows to allow sufficient of the cool night air in without compromising our security and allowing the neighbours to peer in from their adjacent balcony. It was also moderately noisy with the windows open and allowed cigarette smoke to drift in.

We were also disappointed with the restaurant. It was never possible for us to get a nice table by the window (reserved for the tour bus patrons apparently), and for the first time in many years I had to send my meal back. My fish was so tough I could barely cut it with the steak knife proffered by the waiter in place of my fish knife when I first complained. Eventually the kitchen took it back and the Chef apologised and sent a replacement piece of fish (which was acceptable) with the explanation that the quality of that shipment of fish was "variable" (!!). Given that the hotel makes some claim to culinary excellence, this was unacceptable quality control from the kitchen and a great disappointment.

Finally, the hotel lacks that alpine charm of many of the others in town, being a big square concrete box, the view of which from our mountain walks seemed to be a scar on the village scenery.

Next time we might return to a hotel with alpine charm instead of the over-hyped Belvedere which was unable to deliver consistently on its promises.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sangio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Belvedere guest from Australia.
we are really sorry, that we could not meet your expectations. You wrote yourself, they were very high, too high apparently. We are a 4* superior, not a 5 star and not a 5* star superior. You had a junior-suite with a fantastic view to the famous north face of the Eiger. Thank you for mentioning, that you did not feel good opening the balcony doors of your room for safety reasons. Nobody in 25 years has ever mentioned something like that. We are planning to change the hotel and to add a new wing. We will take that important point into consideration while planning.
You consider our hotel a scar in the scenery. Our hotel, that was built over 100 years ago. It was built like all hotels in that period. Go to Zermatt, to St. Moritz or elswhere, you find hotels like ours in all traditional resorts. Also Grindelwald has at least another 8 hotels, that look similar to ours, means no wodden Alpine style. To be very honest, I like our hotel, the way it looks and if love where it is located.
Regarding the fish, you are right, we had one evening a problem with a delivery of fresh fish.
The fish looked perfectly fine and the first piece which our chefs tasted, was very nice and tender. We soon found out however, that 9 out of 10 were not good, did not get tender. From the appearance one could however not see any difference. Would you have chosen the meat dish that evening, you would have been perfectly happy. We apologize that you got a bad piece.
You were also not happy to not get a window table. And you wrote something about bus patrons. We do not know any bus patrons and we do not have any in our hotel, at least not that I would know. We however have many regular guests and our seating policy in the restaurant is the following : The guests with the highest number of visits get the window table. This to thank them for their loyalty. It even happens, that guests who stayed with us 10x do not get a window table as they are all taken by guests who were with us over 10 times. You are complaining not getting a window table on your first visit. I would not like to hear your opinion if not getting a window table at your 10th visit.
We are happy to hear, that you are thinking of coming back to Grindelwald in the future. That you will not come back to the Belvedere,we of course regret, but fully understand.
Wishing you all the best, we remain with best regards.
Urs-B. Hauser & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    125
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
256
463
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay enjoying perfect service, a stunning room-view to the famous Eiger-Nordwand, enjoying the outside jacuzzi in the evening and delicous food - lovely!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Belvedere guest.
Lovely, yes, your review is lovely, thank you so much and thank you for staying at our family run hotel. My wife Silvia and I are celebrating the 25th year since take over from my parents. Please keep the fingers crossed, that the hotel will still be run by the Hauser family in 25 years.
We of course hope that you will return soon.
With best regards.
Urs-B. Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Our first visit was from a guide review many years ago. It was sutch a good review that we just had to try the hotel. Well it was every bit as good as the review and we have returned when ever we can. My wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary this year and when I asked her where did she want to go to celebrate, the instant reply was " Belvedere". The hotel is the best and most friendly in the many in Europe that we have tried. Great food . They even try to match your waitress to your language ability. It is the small things that make all the difference. The surrounding countryside and walks are fantastic. The pool after a good day out! We will return! I do not complete these ratings as a rule but I must confirm the findings of the majority of the reports. Excellent and consistent every visit.

Room Tip: The front rooms that overlook the Eiger are just sensational
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Belvedere guest.
Thank you so much for your loyalty. It is wonderful to hear, that you enjoyed your stay also this time. Congratulations to your 40th wedding anniversary. My wife Silvia and I are not quite there yet, we are celebrating our 25th this year. Please do come back again soon, as it is only thanks to wonderful people like you, that our small family run business could survive so far.
With best regards.
Silvia & Urs-B. Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramat-gan
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

we enjoyed so much a whole week , we will return , restaurant and personnel are the leaders

Room Tip: good mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Belvedere guest from Israel.
Many thanks for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. Thank you also for the review, which is short and clear. My wife Silvia and I have been invited by regular hotels guests to a wedding of their daughter in Israel and we had a wonderful time. Please return, how about for Chanukah, which this year falls together with Christmas.
Yours sincerely
Urs-B. Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The pink slab building looks a bit incongruous amongst the cuckoo clock chalets in the valley, but that is about the only thing out of place. It is close to the railway station, but not so close to suffer any real noise. Seven minutes sees you in the town itself.
The rooms generally face north or south, the south ones looking at the north face of the Eiger and the Grindelwald valley. The view from the latter rooms is spectacular. The place is kept very clean, with lovely crisp bed linen and with a turn-down facility in the evening if you so wish. The beds are typically continental being generally firmer than UK ones, but not so bad you feel you are lying on a board. They also have a pillow menu that is worth trying. Tea and coffee-making facilities are now provided, which is a bonus.
The staff are lovely, most of them treating you like an old friend and really eager to make your stay as good as it could be. If there is anything you want, they go out of their way to try to help provide it.
Meals are really special. Breakfast is buffet style, but with eggs cooked to order if you wish. Otherwise it tends to be typical continental fare, croissants, various breads and pastries, with meats, cheeses and confitures. Dinner is generally a six-course menu, including a salad buffet half way through: most of the courses are sized so you feel you can try them all, but without coming away feeling bloated and overfull. For those who do have small appetites, you can opt for three courses out of the six and pay a little less. The quality of the food is really good, and the menus are quite varied. Once a week they have a meat buffet and on another night there is a dessert buffet - sheer bliss! If there is anything you don't want, the staff will endeavour to supply alternatives. Some tables in the restaurant are sited by windows on the Eiger side, and it is enchanting to eat a meal watching the sun go down over the valley. The quality of the dining room staff is generally very high indeed, and most are multi-lingual: it is fascinating to hear them slip from English into French, German or Swedish as they negotiate the tables.
The pool is spacious with the room nice and light. The area has an indoor freshwater jacuzzi but the outdoor heated salt water jacuzzi is so delicious and hedonistic: after a day's hiking in the hills those complaining muscles soon succumb to the turbulence and warmth. A cold shower is there for the brave ones, but other than an accidental douche, I never plucked up enough courage to stay under for long.
It is really relaxing just sitting on the room's balcony or the hotel's verandah sipping a beer or wine and taking in the scenery, knowing that there is little you need to worry about, except leaving.
The Jungfraubahn 6-day ticket is a good buy, despite being pricey, as the mountain trains are generally very expensive on a trip-by-trip basis. The ticket covers trains, cable cars and buses in the Jungfrau area [Lauterbrunnen, Interlaken, Grindelwald, Murren and Wengen mainly] With one of these you can come and go as you please, so hiking easy, as you can pop on a train if you feel so inclined.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LemurLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We chose this hotel on the basis of the reports on trip advisor. Arriving at the hotel we were thinking can this hotel really live up to the reviews we had read. The answer - yes it does!!!

From start to finish we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Belvedere and are already planning to book again next year.

The food was very tasty and varied. When booking we were offered the choice of a three or a six course meal each night. We opted for three courses which was a good move as the servings were generous and we would never have done justice to six!

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and always available when required.

After lovely days exploring the Jungfrau region we looked forward to our relaxing evenings in the hotel; using the pool, enjoying the view from our bedroom and from the dining room and, of course, to the evening meals.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erniewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Belvedere guest from Great Britain.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot get much better at the moment, but we have some building plans and would like to improve many of our facilities, also renovate the entire hotel. This will however not happen before 2014, and until then, the planning will continue. Also a building permit must be received, something that can take years in Switzerland, therefore 2014 will only be possible if everything will go well.
Hoping to have the great pleasure of welcoming you back before that, I remain with best regards.
Urs-B Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was our second stay at the Belvedere. The location is fantastic - great views of the mountains and very close to the railway station for ready access to all the superb walks in the area.
The best thing about the hotel is the food. As we had booked half board we ate in the restaurant each evening but this was no hardship. We were allocated a corner table in the window (the same as we had 3 years ago) and could watch the sunset on the mountains as we ate. The menu, available in english, changes daily. There are usually a couple of choices for each course, plus salad buffet and cheese course. On some evenings one course is replaced by a buffet. We were there for the Grindelwald evening and also the dessert buffet which was superb. My only criticism food wise is that given the quality of the dessert buffet the desserts on the other evenings could have been more interesting. The waitresses were very friendly and all spoke excellent English. We appreciated the guidance we were given in chosing Swiss wines.
The pool area is much appreciated after a day walking as was the opportunity to have a massage. The open air saltwater jacuzzi is worth a particular mention.
The room could do with some updating. We had an Eiger view junior suite which was a reasonable size. (Last time we had a standard Eiger room which was pretty small). Whilst the room was very clean, the carpets and furniture were showing their age as was the bathroom. I would expect a better range of toiletries in a 4star + hotel.
The walking in the area is fantastic and with the efficient Swiss public transport system very easy to plan long days out. I would be happy to visit the region again and would stay at the Belvedere again.

Room Tip: Eiger view rooms essential to really appreciate the location of the hotel. Rooms on the other side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Belvedere guest. Thank you very much for having returned to our hotel. We are glad to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us also this time. You mentioned a few critics, please allow me to give you some details. Our pastry chef, a lady, who was working for us during the last 10 years, has left us, for family reasons. The new pastry chef, who just started, does not yet have her long experience and still needs to learn.
The Belvedere hotel has received as first Swiss hotel the "Golden Award" of Travelife, which is a sustainability awar of the mayor European Travel Agents. One reason why we did get that award was, that we do not have all these small bottles in the bathroom, which then need to be thrown away, hardly used. We save tons of unnecessary garbbage like that. On the other hand, in the info brochure in each room it is written, that all these gadgets are available at the reception free of charge.
Since 5 years already, we are fighting to get a building permit to renovate the entire hotel and to build an addition. Despite the fact, that we did not get the permit yet, we keep redecorating rooms, knowing that all these investments are only for 3-4 years.
We will keep you updated with our "News" and hope, that we will soon be able to inform you, that the complete renovation is planned for spring 2014.
Yours sincerely
Urs-B. Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing