We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We met a staff very professionnal and very kind in every area of the hotel : reception, room service, housekeeping and restaurant. We recommand the restaurant for the high quality of the menu. This is a hotel where we feel at home !

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Eiger North Wand
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your rating on tripadvisor. We always try our best to make everybody feel at home. Thank you also for the nice comment on our restaurant. Did you know our restaurant can be found on tripadvisor as well? If you have time we would be very happy if you rate separately.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
There are newer reviews for Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We chose this hotel based on TA advice and thanks to contributors - your recommendations helped us make a very happy choice. Everything about this hotel was superb. Our 4th floor room facing the Eiger Mountain, with huge picture windows, meant that when we opened our eyes each morning - we could see snow capped mountains and green alpine meadows. Our room also had a private balcony - perfect for an early morning cup of tea or a beer after a long hike. The bed for us was most comfortable - more firm than many hotels offer which suited us perfectly. Lots of room to put two suitcases. The contemporary design of the room was very attractive. Each morning breakfast was bliss - the range and quality of the buffet one of the best we have experienced and enjoyed looking out to the mountains. The hotel also organises interesting trips on a daily basis. If you stay - check these out because they are not your average tour. One of the best aspects of the hotel is their friendly helpful staff. The most friendly of any hotel we have ever stayed in. Made us feel at home continually. We'll be back.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the 4th floor facing the Eiger.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Belvedere guests,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for this lovely comment. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We're also glad to hear you enjoyed the variety of our breakfast buffet. Did you know that our restaurant is also open in the evening? We offer a nice little A-la-carte menu with a big salad buffet an a cheese buffet with local specialties as well as variety of other cheeses. Thank you also for mentioning our employees. We try our best to make everyone feel just like home.
We look forward to welcoming you with us again soon.

Best regards

The Hauser family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

hotel was facing Eiger and the view from the dining room and the lobby area was stunning. (my room was facing the other side)
best breakfast in a lovely dining room. staff was very friendly. within 5 min walk from the station.
rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatginger29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice comment. The view from our south facing rooms is quite spectacular. When booking with us you must make sure to book EIGERVIEW rooms to make sure you can enjoy this beautiful view.
We hope to welcome you with us again soon.

Best regards

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

As expected our stay athe Hotel Belvedere was wonderful. The setting is to die for. The staff are very helpful and friendly.The food is of a very high quality with a good range/selection. The accommodation very clean and providing all necessary items. Overall, the Hotel again met all our very high expectations. This was our seventh year in succession and we have already decided to go again next year. The inclusion of the free six day Jungfrau Pass with the room is very useful as the normal price is around CHF250 each.

Room Tip: We like the Eiger view rooms, and it now helps that all rooms are smoker free.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you for returning to our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us again. We're very glad to hear we could once again meet your expectations and are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Best regards ans a wonderful summer back home

The Hauser family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our family of four stayed at the Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel from July 5th through 12th. We felt welcomed from the moment we stepped through the doors! Ines greeted us at reception and showed us to our suite personally. We had a family suite Mettenberg with views of the Eiger. To say we were blown away would be an understatement. Our balcony was huge and the view was spectacular, even on the 2nd floor (Rm. 225). The kids loved having a room of their own with bunk beds, closet, desk and a TV. They even had their own bathroom and shower (although they preferred to bathe in the huge tub of our bathroom)! Ines arranged for reservations for dinner that first evening at their restaurant and we loved it so much we ate there all seven nights! Sonya, Alina, Caroline and Maria were exceptionally attentive at all our meals (breakfast and dinner), the food was outstanding and the views could not be beaten. Our children especially appreciated the ice cold milk they got after having spent a week in Germany drinking warm milk. The room was kept spotlessly clean and we all enjoyed the pillow menu! The hotel is located a quick walk away from the train station and the main street. We walked to various locations through our stay (the First gondola, the train station to go up to the Jungfraujoch, and several trips to the Pfinstegg gondola for the kids to ride the rodelbahn, an alpine slide). Each late afternoon was spent in their pristine pool and indoor and outdoor hottubs. The kids appreciated having the time to just relax and unwind after a day of activity outside. One of the highlights of our trip was a tour to a local artisanal, two-person cheese making operation. Philip Hauser drove us half way up the mountain and we got to meet the cheesemakers, see them work, sample their products (even some fresh milk) and ask lots of questions. Thank you, Philip! We had a fantastic time! We hope to return to Grindelwald someday and you can be sure we'll stay here again. Also at reception was another extremely helpful young woman who's name escapes me. She helped us with planning activities for the kids on a couple of occasions. My apologies for not being able to recall her name, but she (and every other staff person we met) was extremely helpful and friendly. Also, I know some reviewers have mentioned the high costs. Given how expensive _everything_ was in Grindelwald (100 CHF for a simple pizza lunch at a local restaurant, for example), we felt the Belvedere was more than worth the cost. Thank you, Family Hauser, for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Eiger are spectacular! Even our 2nd floor suite (Rm. 225) was up high enough...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

The Hauser family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had an executive twin room and it was really nice, amazing views out to the mountains and the village with a huge balcony looking out. It was pretty cold still when we were there but the outdoor Jacuzzi and indoor spa were still toasty warm and a great way to spent the afternoon! Good central location, easy walk to the train station and some very pretty walk trails nearby as well.

The only feedback I can give the hotel is to perhaps leave some normal pillows (not the feather ones!) in the room as well. I know there is a 'pillow menu' but you had to order it before 7pm and I kept forgetting about it until I went to bed and then it was too late!

We had a wonderful stay and could spend hours just looking out at the view! :)

Room Tip: The Executive twin room was very nice
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertieBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for the wonderful comment. Our executive rooms offer a most spectacular view of the surrounding mountains. The balconies offer a 270° view which is unique. Of course we also have other amazing views from the regular Eiger view rooms.
We're sorry we couldn't provide you with a satisfying pillow solution, but unfortunately we can't put different kinds of pillows in every room as a standard option as this would just require too many pillows. We nevertheless hope to welcome you with us again soon and you can let us know in advance what kind of pillow you would like and we'll prepare them for you.

best regards

The Hauser family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We made Hotel Belvedere the base of our hiking vacation in Grindelwald. Our room had a full-on view of Eiger. The hotel is centrally located, 5 minutes or less from the train station. All of the amenities are up to date; the pool and spa are great (and not crowded).

What really sets this hotel apart is their staff. They are supremely efficient and professional, but they manage to be also very warm and friendly. We were 3 generations - grandparents through 2 children (7 and 9). They catered to us without being fussy.

This hotel appears (from my experience) not to be a target of the busload-full, 8 cities in 6 days type of tour groups; the stay was quiet and peaceful. The hotel is totally non-smoking (even for the French guests :)).

All in all, we can't wait to go back. And the manager, as I was leaving, left me with this great message: "please come back. We will be here." Definitive. Professional, yet warm.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Eiger - the valley view is spectacular
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TK94127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. It was a pleasure having you with us this summer. As you mentioned correctly our hotel is non smoking (apart from one smoking room next to the lobby). Also all rooms are non smoking which means, that you'll never have to worry about the smell of smoke in your room. Thank you also for mentioning our employees. We always try to make our guest feel pampered in every way possible. We look forward to welcoming you with us again soon.

best regards,

The Hauser family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £184 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing