We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Belvedere and have had one of our most enjoyable holidays ever. Situated very close to Grindelwald Railway Station this hotel is one of the very best. It is in the best Swiss tradition for cleanliness and comfort. Our Eiger view room was superb and the welcome outstanding with a complimentary drink immediately offered. The staff are so friendly and will do anything to ensure your stay is what you want. The food was top class with excellent attentive service. The breakfast buffet bar was one of the best with every taste catered for. It was a joy to sit out on our own balcony and admire the view of the Eiger, We thoroughly recommend this hotel and intend to return.

Room Tip: Ask for an Eiger view room for a fantastic view of one of the worlds most famous mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Belvedere guests,

Thank you very much for your wonderful description of your stay with us. We're glad to read that you enjoyed it. Did you know that our restaurant is also on tripadvisor and is rated the best restaurant in Grindelwald? If you have time we would very much appreciate a short comment on our restaurant page. We hope to welcome you back with us soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    134
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
264
487
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A truly wonderful stay, breathtaking views! Especially from the bedroom as the hotel looks straight out onto the North face of the Eiger. Hotel staff and service were second to none! The food and wine were a sensation. Outstanding facilities including a spa with an out door Japanese salt pool that looks out onto the beautiful snow tipped mountains. Will definitely be staying again at the Belvedere when I'm next in Switzerland absolutely no question!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan_Cassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Belvedere guests,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your wonderful words. Yes, the views from our hotel rooms are quite spectacular. To make sure to profit the most from these views we recommend booking Eiger view rooms, especially the executive rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Me and my friend stayed there lasy month and we only have great thing to say! The service was super! we were upgarded and received an amazing room with panoramic view to the mountain, it sure was a pleasent suprise and a nice way to strat our trip. The food was very good, the room and the pool was very clean. I'm sure that I'll go back and recommend all of my friends! Worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIKLA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you so much for the staying with us and for your nice comment on tripadvisor. We of course look forward to welcoming you and your friends with us soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

It's better to stay in Hotel Belvedere in Gridelwad than stay in interlaken for a long time if you want to enjoy scenic view. The rooms are of decent size. My friends and I got sold out on the view it had to offer from your room just breath taking. It's a non smoking hotel.Heated pool and kids loved it.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Belvedere guest,
Thank you for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a good journey home. We look forward to welcoming you with us again.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Uk
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 5 night stay at what can only be described as a wonderful hotel. On arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and our baggage was efficiently taken to our rooms - the views from the hotel veranda can only be described as stunning - you feel absolutely dwarfed by the majestic Eiger. We then found that we had been upgraded to an Eiger Suite which had a view which I would never tire of!

We found the staff very friendly throughout our stay - I guess people only respond to how you treat them(thinking of some other reviews). Sonia sticks in my mind as being particularly helpful.

Breakfast was very good; I particularly enjoyed an omelette whilst discussing our plans for another day in the mountains.

Our room was very comfortable and the maid service was efficient and friendly

Leaving the Belvedere was a sad occasion and we will definitely be back!

Tip: I would recommend buying a travel pass that enables you to use cable cars , local trains and buses - it is expensive but gives you access to some amazing scenery. Also use the many webcams online to check on visibility before you plan your day.





We did eat once in the restaurant on one occasion and found it expensive but worthwhile.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank glawsteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you for your wonderful and helpful comment. Buying a travel pass of some sort is definitely a good idea if you stay in the area for long enough. Also checking the webcams is a very good idea. You can find them on the internet or also on the TV information channel in your room. Of course you may also check by the front desk so we can help you with suggestions for hikes and great views. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family at the end of May for two nights and we loved our stay. Location is brilliant its a few minutes walk to the train station from which you can travel to Jungfrau or Interlaken. We drove from Zurich and Interlaken and its easily accessible with free parking.
On arrival staff were very friendly we were upgraded to rooms with a view of Eiger. The rooms were lovely and clean. Breakfast and Dinner in the hotel were also lovely. Its a small town and I would say the restaurant had the most variety in food available in the area.
It was my mum's 60th birthday and staff went out of their way to make it special, especially Sonya.They decorated our table for dinner and even gave her a box of chocolates at breakfast.
The owner was also great we bumped into him when out for dinner one evening and he took time to talk to us and gave us some fab advise on where to go while on our stay.
I would definitely recommend staying here and would go back :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine57H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed comment. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. It was a pleasure meeting you and having you at our hotel. We hope to see you here again soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We have been to the Belvedere 5 times. Twice to ski, once in the summer and twice in the fall. We have spent two Christmas / New Years and the others were a few days while passing through.

The Christmas / New Year is time is spectacular, the hotel out does itself with food and entertainment with traditional Swiss traditions.

The family run hotel is excellent! The food, staff, views and rooms all exceed expectations. We have found the Hauser family to be most accommodating and have always gone the extra distance. We have taken our children who were made welcome including actives geared toward children.

The views and sounds of cow bells and the trains winding their way up the mountain combined with the excellent hotel make for a idyllic setting. Quite frankly, I am not sure how to improve on our experiences.



I can not

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoWolfgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereCH, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear returning guests from Chicago
Thank you very much for being such loyal customers. We enjoy hosting you very much. Thank you also for the wonderful comment on tripadvisor. We're happy to read that you loved every detail of your stay. Thank you very much and see you soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Green Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing