We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gletschergarten(Grindelwald)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grindelwalderhof(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$381
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$711
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$508
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caprice(Grindelwald)
US$253
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveller rating
866
148
28
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
866
148
28
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshauser familyoutdoor salt waterpillow menuoutdoor jacuzzitrain stationwelcome drinkamazing viewscorner roomeiger view roomfamily runsoupwonderful hotelover christmashalf boardwellness areajunior suiteeiger mountain
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited Grindelwald for the second time in two years but this was our first stay at the Belvedere. It was excellent. Our room was wonderful with a small balcony and a nice view of the mountains and the rail line from Kleine Scheidegg. Staff members were excellent and service was great. Our room was clean and neat with many amenities.

We were invited to a free string recital in the lobby/dining area our first night. It was excellent and very informal. We had drinks from the bar during the performance.

We also enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the outdoor spa...very relaxing. Breakfast was outstanding in the main dining room with wonderful views of the mountains.

The hotel is a short walk from town center/train station but it also offers free van service to the station if needed. We took advantage of the van service when we departed.

A suggestion if walking from the train station - you can get to the hotel from both sides of the train station, but DO walk around the tracks and past the car park down toward the pedestrian only walk way and toward Spillstattstrasse. Once down this way, continue downhill and turn left to the walkway that goes under the railroad tracks through a large stone arch and you are on the grounds of the hotel. DO NOT go through the station and down Dorfstrasse. It is a long walk, down hill at first, but then back up a steep lane to the hotel - very strenuous.

Room Tip: Our room was on the railroad side but it was quiet. There was little street noise but the trains could keep light sleepers awake at night as long as they were running.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Belvedere guests,

Thank you so much for your very detailed comment. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we offer a shuttle service to the train station upon arrival and departure if requested and if you would like to walk from the station we agree that the route through the pedestrian walkway is the easier and shorter way. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable few days at the Belvedere. For us the hotel epitomises traditional Swiss and we would not necessarily agree with the criticism that the décor is "old" "dated". The lounge has large comfortable chairs with spectacular views to the Eiger, the patio terrace same, the large restaurant continues the immaculate décor (with fab orchids ) and they appear to have a discreet policy of seating groups in one section, families in another and people who like a quiet life in another!! Well worth booking an Eiger view room - the views are stunning and memorable. The staff are friendly and helpful and it will be a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: An Eiger view room with balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestlyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Belvedere guests,

Thank you so much for your nice comment. We're happy to read that you like our décor. and enjoyed the wonderful views from your Eiger view room. We hope you returned home safely hand hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a week at the Belvedere and have had one of our most enjoyable holidays ever. Situated very close to Grindelwald Railway Station this hotel is one of the very best. It is in the best Swiss tradition for cleanliness and comfort. Our Eiger view room was superb and the welcome outstanding with a complimentary drink immediately offered. The staff are so friendly and will do anything to ensure your stay is what you want. The food was top class with excellent attentive service. The breakfast buffet bar was one of the best with every taste catered for. It was a joy to sit out on our own balcony and admire the view of the Eiger, We thoroughly recommend this hotel and intend to return.

Room Tip: Ask for an Eiger view room for a fantastic view of one of the worlds most famous mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Belvedere guests,

Thank you very much for your wonderful description of your stay with us. We're glad to read that you enjoyed it. Did you know that our restaurant is also on tripadvisor and is rated the best restaurant in Grindelwald? If you have time we would very much appreciate a short comment on our restaurant page. We hope to welcome you back with us soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A truly wonderful stay, breathtaking views! Especially from the bedroom as the hotel looks straight out onto the North face of the Eiger. Hotel staff and service were second to none! The food and wine were a sensation. Outstanding facilities including a spa with an out door Japanese salt pool that looks out onto the beautiful snow tipped mountains. Will definitely be staying again at the Belvedere when I'm next in Switzerland absolutely no question!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan_Cassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Belvedere guests,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your wonderful words. Yes, the views from our hotel rooms are quite spectacular. To make sure to profit the most from these views we recommend booking Eiger view rooms, especially the executive rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Me and my friend stayed there lasy month and we only have great thing to say! The service was super! we were upgarded and received an amazing room with panoramic view to the mountain, it sure was a pleasent suprise and a nice way to strat our trip. The food was very good, the room and the pool was very clean. I'm sure that I'll go back and recommend all of my friends! Worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIKLA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Belvedere guest,

Thank you so much for the staying with us and for your nice comment on tripadvisor. We of course look forward to welcoming you and your friends with us soon.

Best regards,

Family Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews