We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Quite Worth It” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Istabul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Quite Worth It”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

There's nothing wrong with Hotel Belvedere as such, it just didn't quite live up to the price tag. At around CHF 520 per night with half-board, my wife and I were expecting something special. While the food and service were spectacular (I definitely recommend the half-board if you plan to stay here), the facilities were so-so. Our room was somewhat drab, the shower was cramped and uncomfortable even by European standards, and the hallways, which were small, dark, and mostly undecorated, felt more like a Motel 6 than a four star hotel. The building itself is a hideous concrete slab with a modernist swoosh on the top that would fit better in a Soviet-era Balkan city than a Swiss mountain town.

One of the reasons we chose the Hotel Belvedere was for the spa facilities, but they were also a bit of a disappointment. The "bio sauna" was really just a regular sauna set on low heat with some funny colored light bulbs. The outdoor saltwater hot tub was pretty nice, although the water was a bit too cold to really relax the muscles after a long day of skiing. Everything else in the spa area had a worn-around-the-edges feel to it. The hotel seemed very kid friendly, which I guess is a good thing for people with kids, but having a bunch of ten year-olds bouncing around the hot tub with you is not what I would call relaxing.

The internet situation was confusing and unacceptable. In this day and age, there is no reason for any hotel not to have free wifi available to all its guests. However, I don't even know whether Hotel Belvedere charged for wifi because all of their "keycards," which one needs to connect one's own laptop to the wifi network, were always in use by other guests, despite the fact that the hotel was far from full capacity. The only alternatives were a desktop in the smoking lounge -- unpleasant if you don't smoke, and the computer could not connect to the internet when I tried to use it anyway -- and a hotel laptop that the receptionist will set up for you in the main lounge.

So, to sum up, Hotel Belvedere is not a bad place, but ultimately not worth the price.

Pros: Food, service, amazing views
Cons: Generally feels a bit shabby, difficult to use the internet, rather pricey

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2010
Dear Sir
we are sorry to hear, that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the Belvedere. Our hotel was built in 1904 and the extension in 1909.
The hotel was built like most of the hotels at that time. Concrecte, because wood would have been too dangerous. Every single famous hotel in the Alps has been built like ours. There is no possibility to make a Chalet style building out of it. The head architect of the Canton of Bern, in charge of castles and all kind of old buildings and their preservation, has himself designed our hotel the way it is standing there now..
Our bio-sauna is a special sauna, costing twice the price of a normal sauna. From the special wood used, to the colour therapy, to the higher humidity and lower temperatures, there are many things, many guests appreciate, especially also those who do not support the very hot Finnish sauna. Thanks to the bio sauna they can still enjoy a sauna. Our outdoor Jacuzzi usually has body temperatures, only when used a lot and with very low temperatures outside, it goes sometimes down to 35°C.
We have an internet station in the smokers room, especially for the smokers. We have a laptop for those guests, who did not bring their own computer, for free use in our lobby. And we have two places in our lobby, where by cable, our guests can go into internet with their own computer, also free of charge. In addition we have WiFi in the entire hotel, however owned by Swisscom (until end of 2010) and they charge whatever they want, we have no influence there. Only from 2011, once our own system installed, it will be free of charge everywhere.
We have different kind of rooms, with completely different kind of decor, to please guests with all different kind of taste, all
shown on internet. Our guests, when making a booking of course can chose and give their preferance.
Thank you very much for having given a compliment to our service and cuisine. We will pass that on with great pleasure to our staff of the restaurant and cuisine.
I also wanted to send you an answer regarding the rate. However I just realized, that another guest of ours, who sent a review to Traveladvisor just after you, has explained it to you so well, that I do not need to anymore.
With best regards
Urs-B. Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    124
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
253
456
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

This was our 2nd year at the Belvedere and once again we were amazed at how fantastic our stay was. We did not believe it could be better than last year, but it actually surpassed all expectations. Mr Mrs Hauser and their fabulous team could not have been more accomodating and our Eiger view room was the icing on the cake, there is simply not a better way to start or end the day than gazing at the magnitude of the Eiger. As before the food was sensational and imaginative (the diet starts today!), and the out door hot tub is extremely welcome at the end of a very busy day skiing and sledging. We will definately be back next year and the next.............

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeebLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2010
Very many thanks for your wonderful review. We are especially happy to hear, that you will return ......yes hopefully many times. You know we have lots of guests, who have been coming on a very regular basis since 20 years and longer. There are even families, where already the 3rd generation is visiting.
As you can read in a review, written one day after yours, unfortunately not everybody is happy and believe me, unhappy guests (may be 1-2%) always write reviews, but from the big majority of happy guests, unfortunately not many do. That's why we are so thankful, that there are wonderful people like you and thanks God also some others, who take some of their precious time to also share their opinion on our hotel.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back. We promise, we are doing our utmost to keep our hotel up to date, every single penny left is reinvested. Since 1986, when I took over, we invested about 20 millions. For a family business it is however not so easy, like for some famous hotels belonging to billionaires, where 100 of millions are invested (saves them taxes) without the need of return of investement.
All the best to you and see you soon.

Silvia & Urs-B.Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed in the hotel with two children 8 and 4 for a week in January 2010. Chose it solely because of excellent feedback here on the website and the attention the hotel owners give to the reviews.
We were stunned with the personal approach and the attention Mr. Hauser (the owner) and his staff give to the guests. Each evening we had a very informal chat with Mr. Hauser at the dinner. Almost each day there was something interesting and special happening and everybody was welcome to join. We were particularly happy that our children were always welcome and there was no language barrier (although they do not speak any local language). Everyone in the staff was always very forthcoming to their little needs, etc. The cherry on the pie was little Christmas party for kids with X-mas tree Santa, donkey, and gifts in front of the hotel.
The hotel is situated in a very good location just outside of the very center of Grindelwald with the outstanding view on the mountains (Eiger is beautiful!) and the settlement. Very quiet and convenient place. Our suite was very cozy and well designed.
We would like to specially mention the cuisine. It was simply impossible to resist each day the new variety of very nicely cooked dishes with the stile and excellent taste.
The service is very well thought through and is exactly where and when you need it. However, not only this is making this hotel so special. We travel a lot and have seen many other places and hotels. The real differentiating factor is that the owners really take personal interest in what the guest need, strive to accommodate differences and always seek to improve their offering. This is invaluable and really rare. The review may seem too good but this is really what we experienced and we would like to thank Mr. Hauser and his team for our wonderful vacation and a excellent start of the year!

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank A_plus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Dear guests from Moscow
thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.
We are happy, that we have the pleasure of welcoming guests from Russia and Ukraine since about 4 years. Before only 5 star hotels were visited. Since then, several Russian and Ukrain families and of course also couples, have visited us already 3 times. I hope that these guests will soon discover our wonderful nature also in the summer time.
Thank you so much and please recommend us also to other wonderful people like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

My fiancee and I came to the BSQH for a romantic weekend - and the stay started quite well, with the amazing drive up to Grindelwald, the cute little village and the amazing view already from the elevator to the top floor. Inside the room, little hearts had been sprinkled all over. The view indeed is as amazing as many of the reviews here say - especially from the penthouse.

However, the hotel is also quite expensive - and even in this category, the price vs quality factor is relevant. In our opinion, the room is not cozy and slightly contrary to the exceptional view it has; anonymous furniture, weirdly decorated and with a with to the rooftop chimney as well as the amazing mountainsides.
Furthermore, when asking for a iron to prepare our clothes for the dinner at night, the reception lady did not seem able, nor interested, in helping - we simply couldn't muster an iron ! Later at night, despite having noticed with the hearts that we were on a romantic vacation, our bed still consisted of two separate beds put together, although we had specifically asked for a king size bed when booking. No late check-out was allowed either.

Now this might all seem like small things. And admittedly, the host family gives enormous attention to their hotel through everything from answers here at Tripadvisor, over personalized xmas cards sent by snail mail to marketing material sent out.

But comparing price to quality and service, I unfortunately cannot give the BSQH more than three stars overall.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Dear Sir/Madam
we are very sorry, that you did not like the room, which is one of our most popular ones.
But yes, a decor is a matter of taste, and hard to please everybody. We however also have rooms in completely different styles, as you can see on internet.
It is correct, that we did not bring you an iron board to the room, but you have been offered, that the ironing is done by our staff. Irons and iron board were not brought to the rooms, because of an fire insurance problem. That problem has been solved in the mean time and now irons and iron boards are available to our guests on request..
The majority of our summer guests used to come from Japan. As they do not accept any Queen or Kind Size Beds, all our rooms have twins beds. As recently more and more people request King Size beds, we have now bought a system, with an additional top mattress, that is allowing us to make a King Size Bed out of the twins. As you see, we try to do our very best and to both of your complaints, we already found a good solution.
You wrote yourself how fantastic the view was. This is also a reason, why our rooms on the top floor, with Jacuzzi bath tub, shower, shower-WC cost more. In Grindelwald and every resort in the Alps, you can buy exactly identical appartments in two locations in the same resort. One appartment with a top location, the other one with not such a good location. With every guarantee, the appartment with the top location will cost you at least twice as much as the other one. Even in Dubai this it is not any different.
For us, it is of course very hard to get only 3 points from you, but yes, even if we really try very hard to make everybody happy, we unfortunately not always succeed. But here my promise, we continue trying.
Urs-B. Hauser, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

The Belvedere is # 1 on Trip Advisor for a reason....this is a fantastic hotel! We are already planning a return visit to Switzerland next September. We will again visit Grindelwald, and can't imagine staying elsewhere...the Belvedere has won our hearts!

We had a wonderful, gracious greeting at reception and were shown to our room, an Executive Junior Suite on the 5th floor with an absolutely stunning view looking right at the Eiger. Welcome cocktails were graciously provided...a beer for my husband, while I enjoyed a glass of Prosecco, and we sat on the lovely, large balcony gazing at the Eiger content in the fact that we had made the perfect choice.

The room was spacious and well appointed and the bed extremely comfortable. The large balcony with table and chairs we made good use of, and the view was breathtaking. There is a mini-bar, safe(key) and wireless internet accessible in the room. Good wardrobe/storage space, and bathrobes/slippers provided as well. The bathroom was wonderful...large jacuzzi tub, separate (FABULOUS!) roomy shower, toilet separated from bath area, great, spacious sink area. Toiletries (other than liquid soap in dispensers) are not provided but available on request at reception.
The toilet here deserves it's own special mention. It can be used as a regular commode, however it also has a paper-free option in which you are hygenically washed with clean water and then you are air dryed via some system from below....no, I am not kidding. This is a new, environmental friendly commode system that is pretty amazing. I didn't realize this until our 3rd day when I spotted the brochure on the back of the commode. Now there's a high tech bathroom! Special mention also goes to the Belvedere for their "Pillow bar"....a catalogue of pillows one may choose from to enhance the nights sleep! My husband and I both decided to try out the "wood pillow" which, if I remember correctly, is supposed to reduce your heart rate during sleep and leave one more rested. I don't know the science behind this, but my husband and I both had 3 wonderful nights sleep at this hotel. Major kudos to the Belvedere for some different amenities from what one finds at "cookie cutter" hotels!
We had the half-board plan, which included a wonderful breakfast, and oh my, 6 course dinners. "Our" table was right by a window looking directly at the Eiger and the view, again, was astounding. The service here is completely, 100% efficient, friendly,and professional....just impeccable service. I cannot say enough good things about this staff, to a person they are wonderful.
Breakfast was wide in variety including meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, granola, fresh fruits, about 7-8 different fresh juices.....just wonderful. Also every day there were warm eggs, sunny side up twice, scrambled once, with ham or bacon, perfectly cooked. A special note here again as regards attention to details: There is a large plate warmer keeping plates warmed for the hot food. Oh how my Dad would have loved that touch...he always said it was such a shame to put warm food on a cold plate! Just another example of how the Belvedere does the little things that are much appreciated.

Dinners were astounding. This was not by any means your average half-board food....this food was worthy of any 5 star restaurant. A 6 course menu is offered. There was an appetizer...then a choice of soups (cream or consomme) or juices, an absolutely wonderful salad buffet (try the French dressing) a choice of 3 entrees including one meat dish, one vegetarian and one fish, a large selection of cheeses for the cheese course, and a choice of several desserts (amazing house made sorbets). Everything we had, without exception, was fabulous. We had a Parsley root cream soup with mountain cheese that was absolutely incredible. We had grilled wild hare wrapped in bacon that was divine. Whatever you choose I can pretty much guarantee it will be fabulous...the food was THAT good. One night was a buffet night, and this was also done beautifully, with a wide assortment of food to please anybodys palate. I truly cannot imagine anyone dining here and not being happy. The food is SO good and the staff tries so hard to accomodate and please. I must also mention that there is a fabulous piano player providing music during dinner which we really enjoyed. One night there was an accordian player and he was also excellent. It's such a nice touch to have music during ones meal and it was never intrusive...just added to the great atmosphere. We enjoyed our dinners so much. Do try the Belvedere's 100 year old anniversary wine, it's excellent. My husband loved this wine. I tried an italian red by the glass, recommended by one of the servers, that was also very good. There is an extensive wine list and suggestions each night to accompany thats night dishes. I am sure they were right on target though we opted for by the glass. On a side note, the carafes of spring water provided are excellent and there is no need to purchase bottled water! Anyway, I can't praise the food here enough...I know it is highly recommended by Frommer's as the best in Grindelwald and I can certainly see why.
The next days menu is posted in the elevators the night before. If you choose not to eat and have the half-board opton, and you notify the desk, they will credit 20 CHF pp to your account...you can also opt to eat a la carte, and you can eat off the a la carte menu for 1/2 price. For either of these options you need to inform the front desk by, I believe, 2 pm that day.....more than fair....but, just my opinion, just stick with the 1/2 board menu and you won't regret it! And be adventuresome...I had never had wild hare before, but I am sure glad I tried it!
On to the spa. We made use of the spa every day and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had good long walks/hikes each day so the spa was very welcome upon our return to the hotel and prior to dinner. There is a wonderful pool, an indoor hot tub, an outdoor heated whirlpool overlooking the Eiger, a Bio-Sauna, Turkish Bath, Finish Sauna, Experience Shower with Warm Rainfall or Cold mist, and an chilling plunge bath that is GREAT after the Sauna/turkish bath. This also came in handy for "icing" my husbands knee....it was COLD. It was invigorating and very refreshing! Be advised the spa area is "clothing optional" as is the norm in Switzerland, we were aware of this, but most guests will have discreet use of a towel...just be forewarned you may encounter a textile free spa person!
The Belvedere is well situated, a short 5 minute walk from the train station. The uncompromised views of the Eiger are spectacular. Though close to the train station, we found it very quiet. From Grindelwald one can access an amazing lift system to get just about anywhere for fabulous hiking. My father, who has passed, absolutely loved Grindelwald and hiking in this area. I know he was smiling down at us while we explored the area and enjoyed some of the best hiking and scenery Switzerland has to offer. We were here 3 short days and it wasn't nearly long enough...we can't wait to return to the Belvedere, and are aiming to be back again in September 2010! We felt this hotel was, with the half-board, our best stay AND best value of our entire trip. A warm "Thank You" to the entire staff for a fabulous 3 days at the Belvedere!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcjhNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2009
What else can I say than : THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. I will show it to all members of our staff and I hope that this will not only make them happy but motivate them to try to get even better. We, the Hauser family. owner family of the Belvedere since 1907, when ohn Hauser built the hotel, are very proud of our staff and know, that we can offer such a service only thanks to them.
To have the great pleasure and honour to welcome that many regular guests is a wonderful recompensation for what we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Great hotel, great location, great staff, great food. Having said that, and this seems to be a Swiss thing, but the "double twin" bed arrangment is not great. The idea of seperate matresses with seperate comforters for each side kind of defeats the purpose of a cozy be for two.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canyonbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Wonderful review, thank you so much. The reason why our rooms have two mattresses is simple. For years, the majority of our summer guests have been Japanese. They did not accept any Queen or Kind Size beds. However we are changing that now. Some rooms will get new Queen or King Size beds. We have also bought some very small pieces of mattresses that are now allowing us to let the gap between the two mattresses disappear. It is not yet 100% King Size like that, but almost.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you all the best
Silvia and Urs Hauser, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

This was the 3rd time we had been back to this hotel (in summer), so you can guess it is one of our favourites as we picked it for our 30th wedding anniversary.
Grindelwald is a great place for relaxed hiking as there are several cable cars etc out of the town, to get you easily to places you want to walk minimal effort.
The hotel has been revamped since we were there last and the rooms look more interesting than before (bit stark before). They have a good bathroom and cleanliness is great.

We picked an Eiger facing room, a wonderful view to wake up to in the morning.
The hotel has one of the best aspects in the village as it is at the Eiger end of the village and faces it. It is always worth having the Eiger facing rooms for the little extra.

The lounge terrace where you can have afternoon/after dinner drinks looks directly at the Eiger and Kleine Scheidegg area, great for a sunny afternoon after hiking.

One of the great things about the hotel is the food. Included in the normal package is a 6 course evening meal, good if you’ve been hiking as you have a chance of fininshing it.
Starter, soup, salad (buffet, quite varied), main course, desert and cheese (buffet, very good selection) and all really good quality. This is NOT the “fill your boots” alpine/hiking catering. All courses at the hotel are worthy of a good restaurant anywhere. The dishes are interesting and some inventive Never had a dinner I was not really pleased with. Most days we couldn’t manage all courses. On two days in the week they hold special events with an added starter and desert buffet and on another day a complete buffet selection on most courses. Wine prices are OK, a varied selection at normal UK restaurant prices.

The staff are lovely, friendly of mixed ages and chatty and many seem to have been there for some time (some 25yrs?), so you get the feeling of a happy well run establishment. The hotel is family run and they will send you newsletters for years after your visit, just so you remember to return (and we do).

I found the prices pretty fair (esp. compared with the Eurozone this year) and they even included a local railpass in the package (normally 200CHF).

We will defiantly go back – again and again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeoCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2009
Thank you very much for your detailled review. We are very happy to hear that you intend coming back. We did get a "very good" from you this time and we promise we will do our utmost, that also you will be able to give us an "excellent" in the future. We are planning an addition with 48 junior-suites and suites, new additional sky restaurant and bar, new lobby (5x bigger than the one we have now), triple the size of the wellness area and more. To get such a building permit does take quite some time in Switzerland, therefore do not worry, there will be no building site the next year or two and once we start, we will close anyhow.
Some rooms will also be renovated this year, in November, like every year.
Yes, some members of staff are working with (not for) us for years. Knowing that there is no unemployment in Switzerland and they all have a big choice, that's not a bad sign, isn't it ?
We have by the way kept our rates the same for years, despite the fact that the costs keep going up. If you have to pay more,this is only due to your lower currency.
Thanks so much. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Urs-B. Hauser & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing