We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real swiss experience ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Panvel, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A real swiss experience ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

We spent three nights at the Belvedere while touring Switzerland. This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed at. We felt that it certainly lived up to the reputation it enjoys on Trip Advisor. We had a lovely room with all the amenities one could ask for. Breakfast was wonderful with a good variety.
The staff was very attentive to our needs and also very helpful in advising us on how to plan our days.
The Houser family certainly make their guests feel welcome and add their personal touch to the hotel.
This hotel is certainly a gem in Grindelwald and I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.
A special thank you to the Houser family for making our stay so pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paresh1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    124
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
253
456
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We have been to the Hotel Belvedere for the 4th time now and it was wonderful as every time. Excellent food, very friendly atmosphere with competent service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eva_roth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Dear Belvedere guest. Thank you so much for having returned for the 4th time to our hotel. We are glad, that you enjoyed also this stay and of course hope, to soon have the pleasure to welcoming you for your 5th visit. Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review, we highly appreciate it. Looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Yours sincerely, Urs-B. Hauser & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We had a fantastic week at the Belvedere with our three children aged 9, 8 and 2. We had two adjoining junior suites, one of which had superb views of the Eiger from its terrace. The rooms were a decent size with sofas and desks, minibars and televisions with BBC 1 and 2 and ITV. Comfortably furnished - slightly old-fashioned perhaps but spotlessly clean and bright. Choice of a variety of pillows is a nice touch, though we could have done without a footboard on the bed as my husband is 6 foot 4.
Service from the moment we arrived was excellent - the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and professional. The biggest revelation was the food - I am always somewhat dubious of half-board in hotels with limited choice, but every meal we had at the hotel was truly superb. Delicious, innovative and varied - we really couldn't have hoped for more. The hotel is not the most modern, stylish or luxurious we have stayed in but has its own unique charm and is without doubt one of the warmest and most comfortable and the service is second to none. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there and would recommend it without hesitation - we will return!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horgen
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Excellent place to spend several relaxing days with you family and/or friends.

All the details are really 'fine tunned' in this Hotel .
The best id the personal attention of the whole staff , the food and the Wellnes center are very good..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javier_anaHorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Dear Belvedere guest. Many thanks for writing that great review. In a few words, you really mention all that is important. To be able to offer a good service, we need very well trained staff and we need to have enough staff. In Switzerland, the salaries for hotel staff is double to triple in comparaison with other European countries. All that means, that we cannot be cheap. The salary costs are in Swiss Hotels over 40% already, while in the USA for examplebelow 20%.
And now, since some European countries and the United States are in financial trouble, investors and speculators buy gold and Swiss Francs. Both now completely overvalued.
For us, this is terrible, but there is nothing we can do. Thanks God, we have a big regular clientele and most of them return despite their weak currency.
With best regards,
Urs-B. Hauser, family and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gayton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Usually we go to a new place each year for our skiing holiday, but the Belvedere in 2010 was so good that we decided to come back in 2011, and we were not disappointed.
Of course Swiss quality does not come cheap, but this is worth it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear Belvedere guest. Thank you so much for that great review. It is very short and gives some great information. First, that it is worth coming back. We actually have many guests, who are visiting us since 20 years and even longer and second, that the hotel is worth the price. You know, we are not cheap and we cannot be and that for two reasons. First because of the exchange rate. For non-Swiss people we got 20% to 30% more expensive since 2008 and that without raising our rates at all. Just because of speculation, just because of the financial problems of other countries the Swiss Franc got much too expensive. And second, also important, because of our staff costs. In the review " Wonderful hotel, great food and friendly staff, you can read, that our staff seems to like their job. Yes they do and that for two reasons. We, the owners, consider them as very valuable and important people and show it to them and second, Switzerland pays much higher salaries than other European countries; up to the double. Also there are no unpaid extra hours, like still absolutely normal and that even in neighbouring countries. Collegues in Asia or in the USA for example consider staff costs over 15% as high, in Switzerland 40% is absolutely normal. No surprise therefore that thousands of Swiss hotels have already disappeard and thousands will follow.
We, however, hope to survive, so far 103 years of ups and downs are behind us and if you and others decide to come back, the chances will raise and your review of course is also very important.
All the best and hopefully to a "Wiedersehen"
Silvia & Urs-B. Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We booked this hotel through Inghams and were delighted with our stay. The six course dinners were particularly good with great attention to detail and served by knowledgeable and attentive staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble. They were very good at dealing with my gluten-free diet to the extent of providing gluten-free bread, muesli and crackers.
The hotel has been owned by the same family since opening in the early part of the twentieth century by the current owner's grandfather. The owner would often come round and greet all the guests individually at meal times as well as holding an introductory "welcome evening" with drinks and nibbles once a week.
The "Wellness Centre" is especially good with large indoor pool, indoor and outdoor jacuzzis and saunas and massage available.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear Belvedere guests. Thank you so much for having chosen the Belvedere for your stay in Grindelwald and thank you very much for your great review. We will let our staff know of course, but there is also something you mentioned, which I consider as very important. More and more people suffer from allergies, are not supporting all the food anymore. Many do not support gluten, other don't support cow milk, many have a nut allergy and so on. Then there are of course vegetarians, different kind of them, as some eat fish, others don't, some eat eggs, other don't and so on. For those reading these lines, suffering from an allergy or wishing a special diet, please do not hesitate to visit us. But please if at all possible, let us know about your allergy or your diet already in advance, the best when confirming the booking. That allows us to buy fresh food for you at the right time. Thank you so much in advance.
To you, we wish only the very best and hope, that you will return soon.
With best regards, Silvia & Urs Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a short skiing break in Grindelwald. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, with idyllic views of the Eiger and Wetterhorn mountains.it is within a couple of minutes walking to the main banhof (railway station) for trains to Kleine Scheidegg, and the multitude of shops and restaurants within the village.
Our stay was first rate. We have travelled the world and stayed at some top rated hotels. The Belvedere is right up there with the best. I would describe it as a modern hotel with old fashioned values of customer care. The staff were superb and could not be faulted. There are many hotels who train their staff to be super-efficient, ensuring they are courteous and friendly. At the Belvedere the staff are the same, but it comes from the heart. They obviously enjoy their work!
As regards food, the restaurant prepared dishes which were both imaginative and varied. It was as good as everything else within this establishment.
Finally, the 'small touches', which made are stay very memorable, are too numerous to mention. Least to say, will will return!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivegoldstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear Belvedere guests. How great to read your review. We are always happy when we can show our staff members such great reviews. That is pure motivation. Thank you so much for having taken your time to write it. Since 1907, the Hauser family is trying to make all their guests happy. Thanks God, we almost always succeed, but of course a hotel is a matter of taste, just like cars or cloth. Whenever somebody choses, for what reason what so ever, the wrong hotel, then it is very stressful for everybody. For those having chosen wrong and for the staff who have to deal with unsatisfied guests. Our family business is small, might not offer everything big chain hotels can offer, but we also have something in our favor : The human factor. We do not see dollars, pound sterlings, euros and other currencies walk around the hotel, but humans, people with interests, people with certain needs, highly appreciated guests. We hope to have the great pleasure and honor of welcoming you back soon .
With best regards
Silvia & Urs Hauser, owner family now already for over 103 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 53, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald: Your holiday hotel in Grindelwald! Enjoy your holiday in Switzerland, in the Jungfrau region at the foot of the world-famous Eiger. Relax in the Spa with indoor pool and salt-water Jacuzzi in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Swiss Quality Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing