We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Nearby Hotels
Residence Hotel & Apartments(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$478
US$428
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tschuggen(Grindelwald)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bel Air Eden(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gasthof Panorama(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,042 results
Traveller rating
849
148
28
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
148
28
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshauser familyoutdoor salt waterpillow menuoutdoor jacuzzitrain stationwelcome drinkamazing viewscorner roomeiger view roomfamily runsoupwonderful hotelover christmashalf boardwellness areajunior suiteeiger mountain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 1,042 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Lovely hotel: excellent service, friendly personnel; clean, spacious and comfortable rooms; great restaurant - dessert buffet on Thursdays is to die for!; convenient location, close to train to Kleine Scheidegg and center of village; nice wellness area (2 whirlpools, swimming pool, sauna etc.)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caubergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Dear Belvedere guest from the Netherlands. Very many thanks for your great review. Hopefully many people in the Netherlands will read your review. We have wonderful guests from the Netherlands, just like you, some are coming for 20 years already, but..... there is a big but ..... unfortunately the numbers are still quite small. I myself love the Netherlands, I feel there always just like at home, therefore basically the Dutch should feel just alike at the Belvedere in Grindelwald. Lets keep the fingers crossed, that your review will boost the number of Dutch guests coming to our hotel. All the best, thanks again and hopefully we will have the pleasure and honor of welcoming you back soon.
With best regards
Silvia & Urs Hauser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We spent three nights at the Belvedere while touring Switzerland. This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed at. We felt that it certainly lived up to the reputation it enjoys on Trip Advisor. We had a lovely room with all the amenities one could ask for. Breakfast was wonderful with a good variety.
The staff was very attentive to our needs and also very helpful in advising us on how to plan our days.
The Houser family certainly make their guests feel welcome and add their personal touch to the hotel.
This hotel is certainly a gem in Grindelwald and I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.
A special thank you to the Houser family for making our stay so pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paresh1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We have been to the Hotel Belvedere for the 4th time now and it was wonderful as every time. Excellent food, very friendly atmosphere with competent service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva_roth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Dear Belvedere guest. Thank you so much for having returned for the 4th time to our hotel. We are glad, that you enjoyed also this stay and of course hope, to soon have the pleasure to welcoming you for your 5th visit. Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review, we highly appreciate it. Looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Yours sincerely, Urs-B. Hauser & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We had a fantastic week at the Belvedere with our three children aged 9, 8 and 2. We had two adjoining junior suites, one of which had superb views of the Eiger from its terrace. The rooms were a decent size with sofas and desks, minibars and televisions with BBC 1 and 2 and ITV. Comfortably furnished - slightly old-fashioned perhaps but spotlessly clean and bright. Choice of a variety of pillows is a nice touch, though we could have done without a footboard on the bed as my husband is 6 foot 4.
Service from the moment we arrived was excellent - the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and professional. The biggest revelation was the food - I am always somewhat dubious of half-board in hotels with limited choice, but every meal we had at the hotel was truly superb. Delicious, innovative and varied - we really couldn't have hoped for more. The hotel is not the most modern, stylish or luxurious we have stayed in but has its own unique charm and is without doubt one of the warmest and most comfortable and the service is second to none. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there and would recommend it without hesitation - we will return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Excellent place to spend several relaxing days with you family and/or friends.

All the details are really 'fine tunned' in this Hotel .
The best id the personal attention of the whole staff , the food and the Wellnes center are very good..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javier_anaHorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception01, Owner at Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Dear Belvedere guest. Many thanks for writing that great review. In a few words, you really mention all that is important. To be able to offer a good service, we need very well trained staff and we need to have enough staff. In Switzerland, the salaries for hotel staff is double to triple in comparaison with other European countries. All that means, that we cannot be cheap. The salary costs are in Swiss Hotels over 40% already, while in the USA for examplebelow 20%.
And now, since some European countries and the United States are in financial trouble, investors and speculators buy gold and Swiss Francs. Both now completely overvalued.
For us, this is terrible, but there is nothing we can do. Thanks God, we have a big regular clientele and most of them return despite their weak currency.
With best regards,
Urs-B. Hauser, family and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews