We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a view !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Hotel Wolter
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I treated my fiance to a holiday back to Grindelwald for his 40th Birthday and what an experience. We had been and stayed in Grindelwald before but this time decided to stay in the Hote Wolter. When we checked in it was quickly and we were given all the details regarding breakfast etc. Our room was lovely,large with a balcony overlooking the Eiger, it had 2 chairs and a table and in the room we had a tv with a couple of english speaking channels,not that we intended to spend a lot of time in it,a large bathroom,safe,minibar and a chair and a table,it was lovely. Breakfast was buffet style with both hot and cold food. We used the bar downstairs quite a lot and we ate in the restaurant once and it was exceptional food with great service. We had a lovely time and the staff,weather and the Eiger totally made it. We will definately return,a must go to bar is the Avacado bar about 300 yards up the road towards the center of Grindelwald by the crazy golf,Alex the Aussie owner made us feel so welcome and we sat on many days playing jenga and talking with both the locals and other visitors listening to great music, a must do whilst there along with a trip up the kleinne Scheideg

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room to make sure you get a view of the Eiger
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank callywallywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Central Hotel Wolter
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was a good central to stay in and very convinient. The family connecting rooms were well set up and much cheaper than other options in the village. There were good views from our room. It was great when we arrived with luggage at the train station to be able to find our hotel very easily. I think there are probably other more atmospheric hotels in Grindelwald to stay, however I could not fault this one for convinience, staff friendliness and value.

Room Tip: Ask for view!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingsalSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We loved this hotel. It is small, friendly, informal and comfortable with an extremely convenient location close to the railway and bus stations and an uninterrupted view of the Eiger. Guests have free use of the sports centre just across the road, where there is a swimming pool, gym and everything else the fitness fan would want. Our room was generously sized and had everything you need - comfortable bed, good shower and bath, easy chairs, TV (if that's your thing on holiday) and, best of all, a balcony at the front overlooking the mountains. We were there for bed and breakfast only so I can't comment too much on all the food, but I can say that the breakfasts were very good - buffet style with a wide range of choice including cereals, bread, croissants, cheese, fruit salad and scrambled eggs and bacon. The staff were uniformly great: efficient, always willing to put themselves out to be helpful if needed, and friendly and fun. We had a wonderful time in Switzerland and the fortuitous choice of this hotel was a major contribution to our enjoyment. I'd go back there like a shot and recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Book a south-facing room, ideally at the east end of the hotel - you'll get an extra widnow and...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Central Wolter. Its just 3 mins to the train station that takes travellers to Jungfraujoch, and 2 mins to the Coop market. Good location, as restaurants and shops are all over. The chalet rooms at the back of the hotel (separate building) look newer; we had an apartment with a loft (mind your head because the ceiling is rather low), and a kitchenette. But there are no pots and pans...you have to rent these. Sufficient for small meals. The staff are helpful and friendly. Parking is behind the hotel and limited bays.

Room Tip: Ask for the chalet rooms; its newer.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NorRainaAbdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed the last week of august in Hotel Central Wolter. Due to last minute changes we didn't stay at the actual hotel but in a different building behind it. This was even better because the room was bigger and had a small kitchen which gave us a little more space and the ability to make some tea.
Most of the personal were very nice and helpful.The food was good and the location (nearby the train, buses and town-center) was excellent.
A beautiful environment with endless possibilities to walk.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are not facing the street (can be noisy)
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rbrtbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Central Hotel Wolter is truly centrally located. We arrived at night by train and could easily spot the hotel. We stayed in the apartment which is just behind the hotel. It is close to a lot of hiking paths in Grindelwald.

When we woke up in the morning, we were surprised to see the awesome snow mountain view from our balcony. We could thoroughly enjoy our rich breakfast buffet as well as immersed in the beautiful greenery grassland and mountain scenery outside the hotel.

We stayed in the apartment for 4 nights. All the staff we met in the front desk were super friendly and helpful. They smiled from their heart.

Towels were changed and room was cleaned daily in our apartment. There were welcome fruits offered and such small detailed seldom provided by the other apartments. One additional small detailed is that we received an information sheet at the door of our room every morning (except the last day!). It contained information about the weather and what's on in Grindelwald.

My favourite bonus from the hotel is that it offers a free entry card for going to the nearby sports centre for swimming. It also allows its guest to have free entrance to the spa of its sister hotel, Hotel Spinne.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor and room for best of mountain view
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nemo_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A nice hotel in the centre of Grindelwald, very close to the railway station. Room with balcony, nice dinner, sumptuous breakfast buffet (amidst 75% Japanese guests..). Free wifi, friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Wolter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Wolter

Address: Dorfstrasse 93 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £103 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Wolter 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Hotel Wolter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing