We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good week in Grindelwald”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Hotel Wolter
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good week in Grindelwald”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Well what can you say but thank you for a relaxing week at your hotel. The service and staff were impeccable, food on half board was plentiful and the room comfortable. Nothing was to much trouble even down to supplying extra pillows within 30 minutes of them being requested.

It was nice to see the owner of the hotel in evidence most nights ensuring that everything was right for us and other guests, you don't see that very often. Overall the ambience at this hotel was warm and welcoming, the views from the restaurant windows were to die for. The location is perfect, across the road and you're at the ski bus centre and 100 yds and your at the train station for the slopes which is important when you're a skier. Many thanks and we'd certainly visit again.

Lynn & John Bailey

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    106
    42
    4
    3
See reviews for
65
99
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

What can I say, I'm bowled over by the warmth and hospitality offered by the staff at Hotel Central Wolter. As we checked into the hotel just as it started to snow copiously, the apartment room we had booked was a bit too cold for us tropical gals. When this was feedback to the receptionist, she promptly presented us with an extra heater. It was still too cold for us and we asked if they could shift us to a room in the main building; they were happy to oblige, for which we were very grateful. They also helped us shift the mattress onto the floor so my heavy set partner could sleep better at night. There are many other instances where the hotel impressed us with the high standard of servicr. Hotel central Wolter is also located conveniently next to the Grindelwald train station - a definite plus so we didn't have to trudge in the ankle deep snow with luggage bags in tow. A definite must-stay at Grindelwald.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Azeztulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire, england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I treated my fiance to a holiday back to Grindelwald for his 40th Birthday and what an experience. We had been and stayed in Grindelwald before but this time decided to stay in the Hote Wolter. When we checked in it was quickly and we were given all the details regarding breakfast etc. Our room was lovely,large with a balcony overlooking the Eiger, it had 2 chairs and a table and in the room we had a tv with a couple of english speaking channels,not that we intended to spend a lot of time in it,a large bathroom,safe,minibar and a chair and a table,it was lovely. Breakfast was buffet style with both hot and cold food. We used the bar downstairs quite a lot and we ate in the restaurant once and it was exceptional food with great service. We had a lovely time and the staff,weather and the Eiger totally made it. We will definately return,a must go to bar is the Avacado bar about 300 yards up the road towards the center of Grindelwald by the crazy golf,Alex the Aussie owner made us feel so welcome and we sat on many days playing jenga and talking with both the locals and other visitors listening to great music, a must do whilst there along with a trip up the kleinne Scheideg

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room to make sure you get a view of the Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callywallywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was a good central to stay in and very convinient. The family connecting rooms were well set up and much cheaper than other options in the village. There were good views from our room. It was great when we arrived with luggage at the train station to be able to find our hotel very easily. I think there are probably other more atmospheric hotels in Grindelwald to stay, however I could not fault this one for convinience, staff friendliness and value.

Room Tip: Ask for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingsalSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We loved this hotel. It is small, friendly, informal and comfortable with an extremely convenient location close to the railway and bus stations and an uninterrupted view of the Eiger. Guests have free use of the sports centre just across the road, where there is a swimming pool, gym and everything else the fitness fan would want. Our room was generously sized and had everything you need - comfortable bed, good shower and bath, easy chairs, TV (if that's your thing on holiday) and, best of all, a balcony at the front overlooking the mountains. We were there for bed and breakfast only so I can't comment too much on all the food, but I can say that the breakfasts were very good - buffet style with a wide range of choice including cereals, bread, croissants, cheese, fruit salad and scrambled eggs and bacon. The staff were uniformly great: efficient, always willing to put themselves out to be helpful if needed, and friendly and fun. We had a wonderful time in Switzerland and the fortuitous choice of this hotel was a major contribution to our enjoyment. I'd go back there like a shot and recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Book a south-facing room, ideally at the east end of the hotel - you'll get an extra widnow and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Central Wolter. Its just 3 mins to the train station that takes travellers to Jungfraujoch, and 2 mins to the Coop market. Good location, as restaurants and shops are all over. The chalet rooms at the back of the hotel (separate building) look newer; we had an apartment with a loft (mind your head because the ceiling is rather low), and a kitchenette. But there are no pots and pans...you have to rent these. Sufficient for small meals. The staff are helpful and friendly. Parking is behind the hotel and limited bays.

Room Tip: Ask for the chalet rooms; its newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorRainaAbdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed the last week of august in Hotel Central Wolter. Due to last minute changes we didn't stay at the actual hotel but in a different building behind it. This was even better because the room was bigger and had a small kitchen which gave us a little more space and the ability to make some tea.
Most of the personal were very nice and helpful.The food was good and the location (nearby the train, buses and town-center) was excellent.
A beautiful environment with endless possibilities to walk.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are not facing the street (can be noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrtbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Wolter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Wolter

Property: Central Hotel Wolter
Address: Dorfstrasse 93 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Wolter 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Central Hotel Wolter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing