We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Hotel Wolter
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

As a family we have been going to this hotel for eight years now in the summer and in the winter. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff are superb. They clearly all enjoy their job and nothing is too much effort for them. The location is excellent with both bus and rail station minutes from the front door. There is also a car park at the rear if you travel by car. The terrace is just a great place to sit and unwind at the end of a day walking or skiing in this beautiful village.

Room Tip: If going as a family( or friends that dont mind sharing a bathroom) the interconnecting room offer g...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijkk_1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Central Hotel Wolter
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great location. While I would not ordinarily recommend staying across the street from a parking lot, this was ideal as it is were all the ski busses stop. The entire skiing/hiking region is serviced by both bus and rail. This hotel had ideal access to both the train and bus transportation systems. As such there is a nice little gathering for apres ski at the hotel's exterior terrace to watch the sunset. Stunning scenery throughout the entire Jungfrau region.
Hotel was simple, clean and convenient. Half board meals were average, breakfast standard European fare.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Post765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights for ski weekend. Great location in centre, by ski-buses, train. shops, restaurants. Presumably a wonderful view from the front rooms when not misty. Standard Swiss mid-market hotel - i.e. clean, well fitted compact room, good breakfast, efficient staff, etc. Nice terrace to sit for coffee, ice-creams at front.

Room Tip: rooms at front have view but are noiser; rooms at back v. peaceful. Some bad reports of annexe rooms...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbgraham0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Well what can you say but thank you for a relaxing week at your hotel. The service and staff were impeccable, food on half board was plentiful and the room comfortable. Nothing was to much trouble even down to supplying extra pillows within 30 minutes of them being requested.

It was nice to see the owner of the hotel in evidence most nights ensuring that everything was right for us and other guests, you don't see that very often. Overall the ambience at this hotel was warm and welcoming, the views from the restaurant windows were to die for. The location is perfect, across the road and you're at the ski bus centre and 100 yds and your at the train station for the slopes which is important when you're a skier. Many thanks and we'd certainly visit again.

Lynn & John Bailey

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

What can I say, I'm bowled over by the warmth and hospitality offered by the staff at Hotel Central Wolter. As we checked into the hotel just as it started to snow copiously, the apartment room we had booked was a bit too cold for us tropical gals. When this was feedback to the receptionist, she promptly presented us with an extra heater. It was still too cold for us and we asked if they could shift us to a room in the main building; they were happy to oblige, for which we were very grateful. They also helped us shift the mattress onto the floor so my heavy set partner could sleep better at night. There are many other instances where the hotel impressed us with the high standard of servicr. Hotel central Wolter is also located conveniently next to the Grindelwald train station - a definite plus so we didn't have to trudge in the ankle deep snow with luggage bags in tow. A definite must-stay at Grindelwald.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Azeztulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I treated my fiance to a holiday back to Grindelwald for his 40th Birthday and what an experience. We had been and stayed in Grindelwald before but this time decided to stay in the Hote Wolter. When we checked in it was quickly and we were given all the details regarding breakfast etc. Our room was lovely,large with a balcony overlooking the Eiger, it had 2 chairs and a table and in the room we had a tv with a couple of english speaking channels,not that we intended to spend a lot of time in it,a large bathroom,safe,minibar and a chair and a table,it was lovely. Breakfast was buffet style with both hot and cold food. We used the bar downstairs quite a lot and we ate in the restaurant once and it was exceptional food with great service. We had a lovely time and the staff,weather and the Eiger totally made it. We will definately return,a must go to bar is the Avacado bar about 300 yards up the road towards the center of Grindelwald by the crazy golf,Alex the Aussie owner made us feel so welcome and we sat on many days playing jenga and talking with both the locals and other visitors listening to great music, a must do whilst there along with a trip up the kleinne Scheideg

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room to make sure you get a view of the Eiger
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank callywallywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was a good central to stay in and very convinient. The family connecting rooms were well set up and much cheaper than other options in the village. There were good views from our room. It was great when we arrived with luggage at the train station to be able to find our hotel very easily. I think there are probably other more atmospheric hotels in Grindelwald to stay, however I could not fault this one for convinience, staff friendliness and value.

Room Tip: Ask for view!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingsalSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Wolter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Wolter

Address: Dorfstrasse 93 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £102 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Wolter 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Hotel Wolter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing