We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, room and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel Wolter
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were very happy with the Central Wolter Hotel. It was very easy to find since it was so close to the train station. We also took advantage of the bus passes and that was very convenient that the station is across the street. The staff were very friendly and they made us feel welcomed. We were very happy with our room. It had plenty of space including a small table and a desk. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony facing the Eiger. The breakfast was very good.
We also ate dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent. First time for kangaroo!
There was major construction all around Grindelwald (mid April) but I think because we were there in-between seasons. We would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed for two days in an appartment belonging to this hotel. The appartments are located in a separate building at the back. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The appartment was roomy and tidy, although the kitchen was quite old and should be renovated. For cooking, you can get a small kitchen set at the front desk for a 20 CHF bail. Beds were comfortable, although personally I didn't like the overly soft pillows.
The best thing about this hotel (apart from the reasonable price) is that it is located directly near the train and bus station, which is especially convenient after an exhausting daytrip. There's a supermarket about 5 minutes away and ofcourse there are many outdoor shops where you get anything that is needed for hiking of skiing. All in all we very much liked our stay and can recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had appartment nr 11, which had a small balcony and a direct view on the "triplet" Eige...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM_Botter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

a wonderful weeks stay. ideal location opposite bus station, 100m to rail station for the slopes,, town centre. all of these but still quiet ! a group of 10 men sometimes daunts staff, but they were great, especially the two waitresses they were smashing. food all wonderful and served all together , all hot and varied, not the usual 3 star food..rooms are spotlessly clean, towels plentiful and soft, with good speed free wifi.would recommend this hotel to anyone , dont be fooled by the 3 star rating i`ve stayed in worse 4 star , especially skiing. down sides.............none

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no1durhamtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have just returned from a holiday here. We only booked the week previous to travelling so did not have choice of rooms. Even though our rooms did not have the view of the superior front rooms we found them perfectly satisfactory. They were spacious enough, quiet and clean. The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice and only the drinks were brought by the waitress. The guest restaurant was full for dinner and we sat near the reception on the first night but were moved downstairs to the public restaurant for the remainder of the week, which was more comfortable and had more atmosphere. We were very pleased with the service and the food. Although there was a set menu we were always asked if it was suitable and if not were offered an alternative. The owners were friendly and often around, stopping to to speak to the guests and they held a drinks reception for guests and also hosted a Curling evening at the Sports Centre which was fun. We found the Reception staff very friendly and helpful also.

The location of this hotel cannot be beaten. It is opposite the bus station and the railway station is only 100m away - both these transport links are important in Grindelwald

Overall, for a 3 star hotel in this resort we were very happy with the hotel and service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Just had a great holiday in snowy and beautiful Grindelwald. We stayed at the Wolter which is ideal because its across the quiet road from the Bus pickup and less than 100 metres to the picturesque train station. These two transport hubs cannot be heard from the hotel which is great. The buses and trains take you to all the main areas you could wish to go to, allowing ski access to the mountains or a great place to start walking.

These are free with your ski pass.

The hotel is traditional, very clean and well presented. We had half board and all the meals were of excellent quality. Four courses each evening and a good breakfast self service, with the usual bread, cheese, ham, cooked bacon and eggs, cake etc. We had the best table which looked out onto the Eiger which was a great start to the day.

The staff were great and helpful and the free WIFI was a bonus and it worked without any technical hitches. Skis stored in a dry room downstatirs and this was adequate with hot pegs to dry your boots. A bit small for a full hotel of skiers but a second room was available if required.

The rooms were nicely appointed, although a little small. TV with English, Swiss, French and German channels. No problem at all with this accommodation.

I guess because of the quality of the hotel, the location, the food and in particular the staff it would be hard to find a better hotel in the 3/4 star bracket and my wife and I highly recommend it.

Love Grindelwald as well, its a gem.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room that has its balcony facing the North face of the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It's the second time we've stayed at the Wolter and it just gets better.

The staff are so friendly and always seem to be happy.

The rooms are warm, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast is great, dinner is lovely and what can I say about the heated outdoor terrace other than I can't think of a better place for a cold beer and people watching :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Training the waitresses, especially for breakfast service, could easily move this experience from v. good to excellent.

Overall, this is an excellently located hotel with very good facilities and excellent reception services. A particularly nice touch is that the owner, Monic Kaufmann, visited the breakfast tables most mornings and made conversation with the guests. Rooms are a pleasant mix of modern/traditional and those on the street facing side of the hotel have a great view of the Eiger (well worth the extra cost). There are a number of 'budget' apartments and, although the view from these is nothing to write home about, they provide an economical, clean and comfortable way to visit this premium location.

The breakfast is good but let down by slow and disinterested service - it took an age to get coffee and tea - and this was a very quiet, low season week. The waitresses dIdn't notice when things ran out or were missing and slow to fix things when asked.

Service in the restaurant and on the terrace seemed altogether sharper - very good value lunch menu. The hotel's street terrace (heated!) is a treasure and the best place in town for watching all the comings and goings of an international resort.

Room Tip: If you choose an apartment, throw a j-cloth and a pan cleaner into your luggage to save buying a meg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim-In-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Wolter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Wolter

Address: Dorfstrasse 93 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £113 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Wolter 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Central Hotel Wolter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing