We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Hotel Wolter
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is centrally located in Grindelwald's main district and a very short walk to the train station. We had one of the studio apartment rooms behind the hotel which was ok but overlooked a parking lot. However, the staff was friendly and breakfast was solid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here three nights to tour this area. Right across from train station for the Jungfra, Top of The World train ride. Nice hotel a bit pricy for the area but this is a heavy tourist area. The hotel restaurant served very good food and there are many other places for food also. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: There was a lot of construction going on in the village at the time, so it was very noisy at the tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldWingHuntleyIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Lovey hotel only 1 minute walk from the train station. Nice king size room, not modern but adequate for a quick visit. Yummy breakfast. Great central location for trips to Jungfraujoch and Schilthorn.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBMARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is in the centre of Grindelwald, busstation across the street, Railway station Grindelwald at about 150 meters (no noise), shops next to the hotel.
Friendly staff. Good, clean, not very spacious room, but good enough for five days. Balcony with view on the mountains on the east-side, no street beneath it (no street noise) Small, clean, bathroom. Shower in the bathtub with lots of warm water!
Restaurant on the ground floor, good menu, covered terrace on the streetside for outside dining, coffee and a beer with beautiful view on the Eiger.
Breakfast in buffet-style: excellent. Lots of choice for bread, meat, cheeses, fresh fruit salad, etc. Groups do have breakfast in a separate large room, so you can have a quiet breakfast.
Reservation of a (covered) parkingplace is recommended and not expensive. Parking right behind the hotel, back entrance with keycard.
Highly recommended. Excellent hotel with high value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east-side are quiet and have a little morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCdeJonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is in centre of Grindelwald right next to the train and bus station. Our room was small and clean with Alpine décor and had small bath in the bathroom. Our balcony had mountain views but was on the side of the building so also looked over a carpark. Breakfast was taken in room with lovely views over the Alps.

We were greeted by a friendly, helpful receptionist who gave us hiking tips which we followed and were very pleased that we did. Your guest card gives you free entry into the swimming baths and free use of local buses and few other discounts. Parking is available behind the hotel, but limited. We got a space OK.

Grindelwald is great for hiking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel is very central to the village and the train station. We stayed in the self catering apartments which are in the chalet behind the hotel. We were only on the first floor but the view was still amazing and staff were friendly. The apartment was lovely but could be so much better equipped. For a deposit, you can borrow a small box of pots and pans, which are fine for basic meals. What really lets them down is that the cupboards in our room did not contain any plates or glasses and only 2 forks. There was some other cutlery. There was also no plug for the sink. We also found out that the stove was wired incorrectly so you turned on one plate but another one got hot. All that said the unit was very comfortable and we really did enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The hotel is located about a minute's walk from the train station and across the street from the bus stand. The city information centre is coming up close to the hotel as well. Still the street is quiet by the evening. The views of the Eiger and other peaks is breathtaking from the hotel room balconies or coffee shop. The view itself more than makes up for the room rent. The restaurant is excellent, staff very efficient and accommodating. Breakfast is wholesome and sufficient.

The room we had was HUGE. We were upgraded on check in to a superior room with a mountain view and balcony. The bathroom was also very big and the shower was excellent. The recption staff were welcoming and helpful at suggesting itineraries for the day. All in all and excellent choice!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a balcony and view of the Eiger. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Wolter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Wolter

Address: Dorfstrasse 93 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £105 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Wolter 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Central Hotel Wolter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing