We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Hotel Wolter
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel was amazing! We arrived super late and had to phone ahead to advise that we would miss the check in but they said it was fine and just to phone when we arrived and someone would meet us. The poor guy who did got to freeze with us on the journey to the hotel and squeeze into our tiny car and then of course put up with our exhausted laughs which were frequent because we found everything largely amusing. He was great and the hotel was just amazing! I cannot recommend it highly enough, it was just what we wanted from Switzerland and they were very helpful and friendly. The location was beautiful and the room spectacular. We got a self contained cabin and the view was truly breathtaking. That combined with the heated flooring in the bathroom made it a trip well worth while and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwilmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Central Hotel Wolter
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel couldn't be more centrally located in Grindelwald--it is literally across the street from the central train station. All of Grindelwald is easily walkable, and the Central Hotel Wolter is close to everything in town. The hotel itself is nice--not extremely fancy, but fairly well maintained. Rooms are rather small (I did find myself ducking to clear the low shower ceiling) and simple, but also clean and functional. Many rooms have excellent views--ask for one facing the Eiger. The half-board breakfast is simple but quite good, with a good assortment of fresh breads, yogurt, fruit, and cheese. All in all, not a bad option if you're looking for a modestly expensive place in this Swiss Alpine village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesocyclone2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Three of us spent 2 nights at this hotel in the connecting room (2 bedrooms sharing a bathroom).

The location is great. When you exited the train station, look to the right, you will see it across the street.
The room is a little old and worn, but everything functions accordingly. Internet & breakfast were included in my package.

We have a balcony in the room with partial mountain view, it was all right.

The breakfast is all right. It includes cheeses, scramble eggs & bacon, yogurt, cereal, breads, fruits, juice and milk.


Grindelwald is a quiet small town, there's a COOP supermarket 5min away from the hotel, but it closes around 6:30pm, so make sure you get your food supplies before that, or you will leave with very few options (very few restaurant options).

One major complain I have about the room is the poor drainage both in the shower and in the sink. It didn't feel good to stand in the dirty shower water.

The C/P ratio is not high for this hotel. But if you are looking for a simple, convenient place to stay for a night, it's okay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel was booked for us as part of a planned hiking tour. An initial issue was that the entry off the main street was up a long flight of stairs with our heavy luggage. A nice woman checked us in and escorted us (two couples) to our rooms in a building behind the hotel (over a building partition) where the lift did not operate. It was operating the next day. The rooms themselves were large and reasonably clean with a kitchen which we didn't need, but furniture was minimal - no comfortable chairs. The quality of the room finishings (woodwork, furniture) was not good quality. The desk clerk did help manhandle the luggage. The restaurant was ok: service was good, food on the fixed menu was serviceable but not exceptional. If one was going to stay awhile and do your own cooking, this room would be a better bet.

Room Tip: I didn't see a room in the main building but the rooms in the back, though large, had no views a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ski4everx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Loved the bus transportation offered right across the street. This allowed us to hike in places we could not have reached on our own. Close to the rail station, shopping, and groceries.

We had a nice large room with a balcony, and we enjoyed eating and reading out there. Mountain views were lovely, but the construction mentioned by someone else was unfortunate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very nice and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was simply and perfect. Free wifi was good in the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel in Grindelwald to my friends. For the price and the customer service, I would definately go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Reasonable hotel in a good location, central to the town and close to the railway station. Good views out of the front of the front of the hotel, our room had a balcony. However, there is building work going on at the moment, with two cranes which obscure the view somewhat, and the building work will go on until 2015! This hotel does not have aircon, and while we were there it was very hot, and there were no fans available for the rooms... Rooms at the front are noisy, especially with the building work.... They need to supply fans!

Breakfast was very good, great selection of meats and cheese.

Of note was the food in the restaurant, we ate here two nights and it was VERY good.

I would stay here again, when the building work is complete!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzer1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
953 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Wolter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Wolter

Address: Dorfstrasse 93 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £102 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Wolter 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Hotel Wolter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing