We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best to Avoid!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Hotel Wolter
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best to Avoid!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week for 3 days and the location is excellent, 2mins from the train station and a view of the Eiger. However I wouldn't stay at this hotel again because of the following: 1. VERY noisy, can hear the door closing from other rooms, the floorboards creaking from upstairs and let me point out that there is construction currently opposite the hotel which adds to the already noisy hotel and obscures the views now.. 2. Breakfast, the 2 ladies serving there have very poor attitude, we asked one whether another space could be opened beside us as we had a family of 7, however was told 'can do it yourself'. The other lady we asked for tea, which took over 10mins, she was busy chatting to her colleague.
Receptionist, the dayshift one is rude, asked about the sites but she wasn't helpful at all. We also asked for umbrellas but she half halfheartedly lent us 2 for a party of 7, we asked for another and was told 'you will bring it back right'?
Honestly I have travelled so much in Europe, Asia and lived in various hotels from 2 to 6 stars and this has been the most disappointing, in terms of personnel the rudeness.. We saw it with another Asian family too... Anyways, goodluck if you decide to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    106
    43
    4
    3
See reviews for
65
100
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed early August 2014 for 2 nights in this hotel. Enjoyed excellent and reasonably priced meal in the restaurant but were a bit disappointed regarding the room which was cramped as well as the bathroom - ok for a single room but not for a double occupancy. Breakfast had an excellent choice of bread, fresh fruit salad, cheese and cold cuts. The location of the hotel is fine, close to the railway station and the village.

Room Tip: I would choose a service appartment, apparently same price, just behind the hotel - no view - but b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed there from 14-17Jun 2014 in a triple room at the annex building. The location is great, less than 100 metres from Grindelwald train station, infront of the bus terminal (free bus to many locations within Grindelwald). It's in the heart of twon and near many restaurants. The breakfast was good. Staff was helpful & friendly. Room was satisfactory. getting around Grindelwald was easy. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilvesterChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is near the station (one minute walking distance).This is an important factor indeed.
We stayed in the standard room overlooking Mountain Eiger and the green meadows. The whole landscape is amazing and is treat to your eyes.
The room was cosy and it was big given the European standards. It had everything you wanted except a water kettle which is a must according to me. It had a small balcony with 2 chairs overlooking the great Mt. Eiger. Having a cup of tea and overlooking the beautiful landscape and the people walking around the street is simple pleasures in life, which cannot be evaluated in terms of money.
When we reached at the hotel, we were told to take the lift and go through in between the restaurant. Reception was at the first floor. The staff attending us was charming and our check in to the room was super quick. We were given information on things we could do over the 3 days and that was very important indeed. We started our day with a vist to Grindelwald first which was ten minutes walk from the hotel. We were given the tourist brochures which helped in terms of directions and necessary knowabouts. We even bought our tickets at the reception for visiting Jungfrau. Always check on the weather and then buy the tickets. The hotel staff would help in updating the information.
We had breakfast included in the room rate and the spread was good. We enjoyed it although we vegetarians. You get plenty of fruits, corn flakes of different varieties, bread and butter, crossiants!
I would urge the hotel management to introduce more veg.options as that would attract lot of Indian guests for sure. The restaurant is in the ground floor and has a great view of the mountain. I did not try any food as not much options for us.
Coop supermarket was near our hotel and that is a great advantage. You can get water, soup, bread, chips, juices which are very handy when you go out for sightseeing.
Only indian restaurant in Grindelwald is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
I would sum up saying that the hotel has a great location and opt for a room with the view of the mountain. And you feel homely as the staffs are very good. I would strongly recommend this hotel. Go for it.

Room Tip: Standard room with the mount view. Room number 460!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shubhrarahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel located ideally just across the railway station and has a guest house building behind the main building. The apartments in the guest house have well equipped kitchens to cook!! Great for foreign guests who have gotten bored of the Swiss food which by the way is not bad!! The hotel has a very good restaurant which is buzzing with activity all day around. The front desk is very helpful and the team ensures you have a good stay. They have a porter for luggage which is rare in Suisse. The breakfast was amazing. The views from the balcony in the apart hotel were too good!! We had a nice 2 day stay there!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thisisankit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights the first week of October. Still warm and sunny, fewer tourists around.
Booked this because of the price and location. Literally 2 mins walk from the train, excellent.

We booked an apartment. It was ok, very clean, could have had a couch but we made do. Balcony directly overlooked other hotels, then the mountains towered above that. Our days were so tiring from hikes, of an evening we would share a bottle of wine or two, eat whatever overpriced but basic dinner we'd somehow managed to find in the not-so-super supermarket, and inevitably, as the wine went down, we'd chuckle at what our Chinese neighbours were up to while sitting on our balcony (it was pretty close).

The charge for hiring pots and pans etc slightly excessive, so much so that we made do without. Food in Switzerland is not cheap!!! Breakfast buffet was really lovely (we may have secretly extended it into also being our packed lunch...!). We had one evening meal here, must say neither myself or my husband were impressed. We certainly wont be going back to Switzerland for the food.

Despite not being aesthetically pleasing, this apartment had the best shower I think I've ever used anywhere in the world, including 5 star hotels. The shower pressure was amazing, no limit on temperature, just what you need after a day of hiking.

We would stay here again but probably load our suitcases with pot noodles. And take a pillow... i hate Swiss pillows they're extremely odd.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in an apartment overlooking the mountains. As we stayed here in Spring time it was a very quiet time to come to this area. The hotel was very clean and tidy. Just need to be careful going up the stairs to the loft bed as this area is very narrow and the ceiling is so low you almost need to crawl to bed. We ate in the restaurant downstairs for dinner and the food was very nice. Service in the restaurant and hotel was average.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Wolter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Wolter

Property: Central Hotel Wolter
Address: Dorfstrasse 93 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel Wolter 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Central Hotel Wolter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing